Wubin Progress Incorporated © August 2005
There are two versions of the book on the site.
This is the html version, a regular webpage.
The other is a pdf version (24Mb large file). Many thanks to David Kilpatrick who created the pdf file, having laboriously scanned the whole book more than once.
This has been a labour of love for several people over many years.
In the beginning two people began the compilation - Glenda Donnes, who grew up in the Wubin area and now resides at Dalwallinu, and saw the need for recording Wubin’s beginnings. Together with Susan Surman who commenced the research necessary for such a project and which gave her the opportunity to indulge her love of social history and to understand country life, to which she was a newcomer.
Further research was then undertaken by Wubin Progress, and many hours were spent in an endeavour to include all known identities of the early years and editing of the manuscripts.
Wubin may be a quiet little place on the surface, but it hasn’t always been that way. Approaching the second decade of the 20th century, the first settlers were beginning to move in, to remove the bush and scrub, to clear the first tracks and roads, to plant the first crops. It was a hard life with few rewards. For the first women, it was a lonely life, miles from the nearest neighbours and from the local store. There was little help during childbirth, and homes were often white washed hessian huts, cold in winter, hot in summer. For the men it was a life of unremitting hard toil on the land.
Who were these people who opened up the land? They came from all walks of life, from all parts of Australia, Britain and Europe. For some it was the opportunity to own land that brought them to the Wubin district, for others it was a opportunity to work away from the cities. It was a chance to hide away, to forget the problems of the past, and for others it was pure adventure. Whatever their reasons, wherever they came from, all contributed in some way to the development of this area.
Time passes, people move away, new faces arrive, but the contributions of those early settlers should not be forgotten. There are many many people in the district today who are descended from those pioneers, who can pass on the stories of those early days.
This book came about by a desire to know more about the area and its people, to preserve the memories, to educate the young people of the district in their own history and to pay homage to the first settlers of Wubin, Miamoon and Jibberding. Much of the information has been collated from family members, and where possible, dates of birth, death and marriage have been checked.
The time line set for this publication was from the earliest years of settlement up until the start of World War II in 1939. This was a purely arbitrary date, and does not lessen the importance of those who arrived after 1939. As a general indication the requirements for inclusion were adults who have resided in the area for a two year or more period.
Thanks must go to all those who have in some way contributed information, photos, stories and verbal recollections. Without your help this book would not have come to fruition.
Bert Cail, Judith Reudavey, Joy Womes
Wubin Progress Incorporated © August 2005.
Wubin is a small town on the Great Northern Highway 275 kms from Perth in Western Australia. The area has farmed wheat and sheep since the earliest days of settlement. It is part of the Shire of Dalwallinu and the areas of Jibberding, Miamoon and Wubin were surveyed and open for selection in 1907. The first settlers took up their holdings in January of 1908, two years before the town of Dalwallinu was settled.
Although Wubin town was in existence for many years it was not until the mid 1920s that the town was actually gazetted. The name was to have been spelt WOOBIN which was the name of the well situated just east of Woobin Rocks, however due a typographical error at the time of being officially gazetted, the name was spelt WUBIN.
It was December 1909 when Elizabeth Klein returned to Wubin, three weeks after giving birth to her second child in Perth. She traveled by train to Gunyidi where she was met by her husband and driven the 45 miles by horse and cart, over a bush track to her home at Wubin. The task that lay ahead of caring for a toddler and new baby, cooking for the family and the workman in temperatures over the century was no doubt quite daunting. However, we find in Elizabeth’s diary that on her return she wrote the following - “We settled down and were prepared to put up with the hard pioneering work”. What better title for our book than just that - “Prepared to Pioneer”.
The authors have endeavoured to accurately record the historical facts. People have recalled their memories and we feel confident that these have been done with reasonable accuracy. Any further information and photos would be welcomed for our records, on any who have been part of the history of the Wubin area from its settlement up to the present time.
North Eastern Districts Courier November 1924 excerpt states a send off was held for Mr W Alexander, a good footballer, at the home of Mr & Mrs Chamberlin of Jibberding.
P O Directory Jibberding 1925, stockman
John b. 1881 and married Mary Jane PETTIT b. 1884 in 1901. They had ten children; George b 1902 d. 1937, Edna b. 1905 d. 1991, Hazel (COUNSEL Roy) b. 1909 d. 1977, Stan b. 1910 d. 1987, Bill, Hilda, Harold, Cecil, Doug and Jack. John arrived in the district in 1914 to manager Dr Dermer’s farm 9 miles north west of Wubin. John and his eldest son George, walked out to the farm. They built a shed consisting of four uprights and sheets of tin, then erected two tents under the shed. They returned to Fremantle and bought a tip dray and horse, returning by train with other family members. Later a four-roomed weatherboard house was built. About 1919 John bought a block out towards Jibberding. His father-in-law Edward Pettit sold his farm in York and came to Jibberding and ran the farm. In 1920 John took up another block 9 miles east of Buntine and a bush track was made to connect the two farms, traversing Wandanna Hill. In 1923 the Jibberding farm was sold to George Woolf and the Anderton family moved to East Buntine. Stan Anderton went to school at Jibberding and was presented with a certificate to say he attended for three months in 1921 without any absences. He stayed with his grandparents and went home to Dr Dermer’s farm about once a fortnight, by either riding an old mare or driving a cart. There were sometimes camel teams on the road and the horses were terrified of them. In 1935, Cecil, Harold, Jack and Stan all played football for Wubin. In 1938 Stan was Captain of the Wubin Football club. Mary died 24.3.1937 and John 3.6.1966.
ARTHUR, James (Jim)
James and Mary Arthur, 1927 >
Jim was born 25.9.1896, in Port Germain S.A. the second son of Matthew and Jean, and arrived in the district with his family in 1908. In the early 1920s, he took up farming on "Coonanar Farm", east of Wubin. There he met Mary HOWIE; they married 15.3.1926 at Jibberding. They had three children: Anne Esther (CRAWFORD) b. 16.11.1927 d. 17.8.1984, Jean Grey (INNES) b. 4.4.1929 and Mary Isobel (PERRY) b. 2.6.1931. Daughter Jean and husband Mac farmed “Coonanar Farm” on the retirement of Jim. Jim died in Perth 18.5.1974 and is buried in Dalwallinu.
ARTHUR, Jean (nee GREY)
Jean Arthur - a pioneer woman of the Wubin district >
Jean was born 1856 in Scotland and married Matthew Cameron ARTHUR 15.5.1880 at Blairmore Farm, County of Argyle, Scotland. They arrived in South Australia on the sailing ship Stirlingshire in 1881, and lived there for some time. Matthew died there sometime between 1896 and 1905. The couple had six children: William; James b. 25.9.1896; Cameron "Scottie"; Tom; Elizabeth (BOYCE) and Margaret (WELLS). Jean and her children came to the Wubin district, from Port Germain, SA, on the 2.8.1908. They travelled by train to Gunyidi and then by horse and cart to the property, and lived at Miamoon Farm, West Wubin, approximately 36 miles from Gunyidi, (near Nugadong rocks). Life was hard in those years. The only fresh water available had to be carted 18 miles by horse and cart from Meelya Well and all food came out of tins. As well as farming, Jean and her sons were the first mail contractors in the region, picking up letters, parcels and stores from the trains at Gunyidi and keeping them at their homestead until they could be collected by distant neighbours. Many travellers were welcomed at the Arthur home, including Elizabeth Klein and her daughter Edna, as at first it was the only house for many miles. Jean retired to Perth to live with her daughter Margaret. Jean died age 88 in 1944.
Thomas was born 1893 in Scotland and came to Australia with his parents, Matthew and Jean. He was granted Nugadong Agricultural area Lot 3 on 22.1.1908. Tom served with the Australian Army in WW1, as a private in the 11th Battalion of the Australian Infantry. He was killed in action 25.2.1917 aged 27. He is buried in Flers Cemetery, Somme, France, in Grave IV. F. 1/10.
ARTHUR, William (Bill)
Son of Matthew and Jean, he was granted Nugadong Agricultural area Lot 10 on the 2.1.1908. Bill planted his first grain in 1909 and cut his first hay that same year. He also purchased an oil-powered engine and was able to produce chaff, wheat and oats to travellers. Bill was a pioneer member of the Dalwallinu Road Board. He married a widow, Leila Maude BUDGE, (nee BRUMBY) mother of Gladys who married Mafeking Sanders. One of Mrs Arthur’s jobs was to always kill the sheep for their meat rations. Leila died 2.1.1950 age 71 and is buried in Dalwallinu. William died 14.9.1959 in Applecross, aged 78.
P O Directory Wubin 1918-21, contractor. Later moved to Buntine.
AYRES, Fred (Bunny)
Fred arrived in the Wubin district from the Murchison in 1924. He was the first blacksmith in the area. An advertisement in the North Eastern Courier of February 1924: F. Ayres & Son - General Blacksmith and Wheelwrights, Wubin. His wife and their two daughters, Ruby (BUCK) and Christina Ruth (PARROT) served meals to the public. In 1931, the family left to go to the Wiluna Goldfields where Bunny intended to either work in the engineering trade or in extracting the ore at the rock face.
BAILEY, Edward George (Ted)
Ted, also sometimes known as George, arrived from England to the district in 1927-28. He was married with one son Bob, and farmed at West Wubin. Edward Bailey died 22.7. 1950, aged 67 and is buried at Dalwallinu.
BARKER, Thomas Nicholas
Tom was born 12.2.1891 in London England. His mother died when he was three years old. His father later remarried and young Tom led an unhappy life with his stepmother. This culminated in him running away from home at the age of 12, and going to work on farms. When he was 18 he bought a ticket to Fremantle and arrived there on the 10.1.1910, from Cambridge, England. On arrival in Australia, Tom worked in Moora for a well sinking group, using bullocks. Following this he moved on to Jibberding station as a road teamster.
Thomas Nicholas Barker 1912 >
Tom returned to England to marry Elizabeth PRYOR 20.7.1914. Whilst there, war broke out and he was commissioned to work on the railways. The couple had two children: Thomas Ernest b. 21.8.1918 (in England) and Jack b. 28.8.1927. The Barker family returned to Australia in 1921. They moved into the Wubin boarding house, where Elizabeth worked and Tom went labouring on local farms. In 1922, the family moved out to their own property on the Maya East Road living in a white-washed hessian bag home. Tom farmed until his death on the 14.2.1962. Elizabeth died on the 14.1.1981 and they are both buried in Dalwallinu Cemetry. The farm stayed in the family until it was sold in 1998.
BARNES, Cecily (Cissie)
Cissie helped to run the Smith boarding house from 1930 -1933 at a time when Mrs. Smith couldn’t afford to pay full wages. She also taught sewing at the local school.
Percy was a returned soldier from World War 1, and he is thought to have arrived in the district around 1923, leaving in the 1930s. He lived in a bag shelter on his partly cleared property at West Wubin. He did not own a car, driving everywhere in a horse and cart.
BARRATT, Frank Arthur
Frank married Annie FLINT in Perth in 1906. They arrived in Wubin in 1922, and owned the shop later to become Birch & King store. The couple had an only daughter Dorothy Frances (WALKER). A new store was built in 1925 after the old shop burnt down. The Barratts also owned a building which was a billiard saloon on the corner of Arthur and Glowery Street and a block of land on the Wubin East road, past the Rabbit Proof fence. Frank Barratt died in Perth in 1963 aged 80.
Eric Reudavey, Ken Bartle and Alan Reudavey 1930 >
Ken worked on the Wasley property at Jibberding. He was a member of the Wubin football club in 1935 and a member of Jibberding tennis club in 1937. He was in the Air force in World War 11 and was in Darwin when it was bombed. He later became a welder for the Shell Oil Co. On one occasion Ken and Arthur Wasley were driving a horse and cart on the main road when a car driven by Charlie Russell hit them. The horse was killed and one of the shafts penetrated the windscreen and knocked Charlie’s hat off! No one was hurt. Ken died September 1904, aged 93.
Harold was a Fairbridge Farm child migrant and came to the Wubin district in his teens to work on the Toesland property, “Misery” during the 1930’s. “Misery” was next door to the property owned by the Woolf family and Harold later married Fay WOOLF. He was at one time secretary of the Jibberding Cricket Club. Harold died on 11.2.1973.
Werner was born c. 1884 in Switzerland, and arrived in Australia on the ship Yorck on the 21.7.1907. Travelling third class from Naples, his occupation given as waiter and his age 23 years. He had worked in several European hotels and as a result could speak many languages. He arrived in the Wubin district in 1909. Wemer married Edith FULLER on the 19.11.1924. They were divorced and Werner married again, to Gertrude Mary DELLAR (b. 13.8.1896). Local history tells us that his drays became bogged on the Wubin East road (where the dams are on the property of O. Schulze in 2004, known as Greystones); he tied his horses to a tree and whilst so doing, Wilhelm Klein came past and suggested that he apply for the block on which he was bogged. And that he did. He took up residence on Lot 5416 Victoria Location, known as “Greystones” and farmed there until the family moved to Sandstone in 1920. Werner had one son from his second marriage, Clifford Wemer b. 4.12.1929. Werner died in Maddington, Perth 7 6.1936 and is buried in Kenwick Pioneer Cemetery. Clifford moved to Perth.
BECK, John William (Jack)
From Left to right: Elizabeth Klein, Wilhelm Klein, Alice Beck and Jack Beck >
Jack was in South Africa at the beginning of the 1900s and enlisted from there in the Kings African Rifles and served in World War I. He came to Western Australia about 1920, arriving in Wubin in the early 1930s with his wife Alice. He worked for Gus Liebe; contract carting wheat and super and was farming at Buntine until after World War II. Jack then went farming at Gabbin. In 1957 he retired to Perth and Bill Schulze Jnr bought the Gabbin property. Jack died in Perth 15.5.1971 aged 81.
Rudolph, a German by birth, was a builder. He was known around Wubin as Robert or Bob, and was sent to Wubin by Gustav Liebe to build the Klein’s new home. After finishing this, he began on the construction of the hay, machinery and shearing sheds. All the sheds were built using wood from the property; this was cut and dressed by Bob himself. Land leases 6112/66 and 6160/56 both of 1,000 acres were held in Behrenbeck’s name and transferred after his death to F.W.G. Liebe. Bob died on the 23.6.1917 age 64 and was laid to rest in the Wubin Cemetery. This marked the official opening of the cemetery. He had been resident in Western Australia for around 40 years.
Florence was the first school teacher at West Wubin school - from 1924 to 1929. A sister of Arthur, Robin and Anthony Bell from west Dalwallinu. Florence married Alfred DEALING in 1929 and they farmed at West Wubin.
BENSON, Edward John
Edward was a farmworker on Victor Peter’s property, and died of injuries as a result of a car crash, December 1931.
Ron was the manager of Wubin Co-Op. He had three sons and left in the late 1930s.
BIRCH, Samuel Theodore (Sam)
Sam was born 1880 and married May Martha SCOTT in 1910 and they had seven children: Evlyn known as Evie (HOLLARD); Adeline (Addie) (married John WHITE who sold and repaired wirelesses); Stan; Dulcie (worked in the PO during the war and married Tommy BENTON of Maya); Hilda Doreen b. 1921, d. 2003; Beryl; and Tommy (later lived in Bunbury). Sam and his wife May took over the Wubin store from Mr and Mrs Barrett in 1928, and lived in accommodation at the rear of the store. They were in partnership with King for a while - King not staying in Wubin for long. Sam was a large man with a large stomach and a very keen card player. The Post Office was in the General Store, however around the mid 1930s a separate cement brick post office was built next door. (In 2004 it houses Wubin Trading and the Post Office.) It is thought the original store closed in the late 1930s and around the 1960s was demolished to build the first Hotel-motel units. Sam was a Wubin Football Club supporter from 1931-36, President in 1932 and Vice President in 1936. They were an active family in the community and Evie was a bridesmaid for Amy Cail when she was married in 1931, and a member of Wubin country week tennis team 1935. Stan, Dulcie and Evie played pennant tennis for Miamoon in 1932/33. Addie played for Buntine 1932/33. Sam died in 1937 aged 57. After his death Mrs Birch moved to 35 Arthur Street until leaving the district in the 1940s. Mrs May Birch died 12.9.1962 aged 77
BIRCH, Stanley Vernon
Stan was born 1914 and married Ethel Ruth ANNETTS (b. 1908 at Mount Magnet) in 1936 at St George’s Cathedral, Perth.
Ethel Ruth Birch, wife of Stanley Vernon Birch >
Ethel was the daughter of Walter William Annetts and the Annetts family moved to Dalwallinu the year she was bom, becoming one of the town’s pioneers. After their marriage, both Stan and Ethel ran the Wubin Post Office and the West Wubin School Bus run. Stan served in the Army during WWII. He was a member of the Wubin Football Club from 1928-38 and Secretary in 1932. The couple had two children: Vernon Bruce b. 6.2.1938 and Marilyn May b. 30.3.1945 who died when she was only 28 years old in 1972. Stan and Ethel moved to Geraldton in 1965. Stan died in Geraldton in 1978 and Ethel in Perth in 1996.
James built the first building at the Wubin rail siding. He took the mail from Wubin to Jibberding and his name appears in the Wubin Post Office Directory from 1916-20. We read from Mrs Elizabeth Klein’s diary that the Post Office, which also had limited essentials for sale, was situated in a bush shed. His wife served refreshments to “passers-by”. Education records December 1913 indicate that Mrs Black was an ex-state school teacher and available as a teacher should a school be established in the Wubin/Miamoon area. Mrs Klein’s diary states that in 1922 Mr and Mrs Cullinane took over Mr and Mrs Black’s house in Wubin.
BLAKE, Rodger Derrick Campbell (Major)
Major was a member of the British air force in WWI. He was a pilot on the London to Paris route. A very tall man, he arrived in Fremantle mid January 1923 on P&O Ship Ballarat, with Bill Fitzsimons. Together they went to Kulin to do some clearing. In September 1923 they came to Jibberding to work for the Wasley brothers. After two years Major returned to Perth and became a pilot on the North west run. During the 1930s he worked for the Mitchells for a few years and then for Bill Draffin. While at Draffin's he had an accident when he was in front of a plough and the horses took off and the plough ran over him. In 1946 he purchased a Miamoon property in partenership with Jim Harris, from Cliff Munday. Major died in 1960 aged 65 and is buried at Karrakatta.
Eric was born 1902 in England and came to Australia on the maiden voyage of the Hobson Bay, arriving in Sydney in 1922. With his brother Laurie he started farming in the Jibberding district in 1927. He left the farm and went to the Retaliation Mine in the Paynes Find area, about 1938. Eric married Jane FINNIS and they had two children, Bettina and Peter. Eric later went to Lower Kalgan (Albany) and died in 1987.
Laurie was bom in England in 1904. He arrived in Sydney in March 1922 and in the Jibberding district in 1927 with his brother Eric. Laurie married Thelma JONES in 1937 and the couple had two children, Dawn (WILLIAMS) 1938 and Ian. 1939.
Thelma and Hazel Jones >
Laurie farmed a property east of the Rabbit Proof Fence. He left the district for Albany around 1959. The Albany Advertiser Sept. 1971 reports in an article that “Eric and Laurie Bocquet were reunited with their sister Valerie after 50 years when she visited Lower Kalgan”. Laurie died in 1975 in Albany, Thelma died Perth 1998.
BOLTON, W. He was a local shearer.
Amos ran the first blacksmith's shop in Dalwallinu before moving to Wubin and starting a blacksmith shop. Advertisement in the North Eastern Districts Courier of November 1926 - A. Bradshaw, Blacksmith and Wheelwright, Wubin. He was married to May who ran a boarding house in the town. They had three children: Ena, Mary and Les. Mary played Pennant Tennis for Wubin in 1932-33 and was also a member of the Wubin Country Week Tennis Team 1935 After leaving Wubin, Amos went to work at the Retaliation Gold Mine in the Payne’s Find area.
Gordon was a farmer at Miamoon. PO Directory Miamoon 1927/28.
Eric was a teacher at Wubin East School in 1938 to 1941 at a salary of four pounds twelve shillings a week, rising to five pounds one shillings a week.
BROWN, Ernest James
Ernest b. 10.3.1891, Ballarat, Victoria, arrived in the Wubin district in 1923. He had previousely lived near Wanamal for two years. Ernest married Mabel Jean ASPLIN (b. 19.8.1896 at Coolgardie) on 24.3.1920 at Cottesloe. The couple had five children: Arthur Thomas b. 20.4.1921; Lillian Elizabeth (JOHNSON) b. 31.3.1924; George Ernest b.5.12.1925; Harold James b. 22.4.1927; and Raymond Allan b. 1.8.1934. Lilian, their daughter states in a letter that her father bought a farming property “just out of Wubin which he later sold to Mr Ralph Harris and he then bought a property approximately 16 miles west of Wubin. We had a distance of 10 miles to drive in horse and cart to school and in later years the school was moved another 5 miles closer, which put it in the Miamoon area. At most times there were only seven or eight children attending the school. The local Miamoon tennis courts were a short distance from the school and the tennis ‘club house’ was built of bush timber, the roof, back and sides were thatched with broom bush. Visiting the district some years ago there was nothing left of the school, except some large trees planted by us as children, the tennis courts no longer visible.” Ernest was instrumental in having the West Wubin School moved to the Miamoon reserve. In a letter to the education department, he stated “ because of the distance to the West Wubin school my children get up at 5am and leave before sunrise. A returned soldier by the name of Davies, two miles from here has a child of nine who has never been to school” George joined the RAAF and stayed in the airforce until 1947. Last information received in 2001 stated Arthur was living in Gingin; George in Lesmurdie; Harold in Cue and Lillian in Balcatta; Ray was deceased. Ernest Brown died on the 7.2.1984 at Guildford and Jean on the 20.9.1981 aged 85. Both are buried at Pinaroo Cemetery.
BRUMBY, Bert Thornlow and Denton
The Brumby family was originally from South Australia. They had been the contract meat suppliers along the Trans-Australian railway line, driving the sheep and cattle as they moved along the line. Bert and Denton were brothers who farmed the property next to Bill Arthur. Their sister Leila Maude Budge, a widow, married Bill Arthur. Bert died in 1949 at Perth; aged 75. Denton died 27.11.1937 aged 68 and is buried in Dalwallinu.
Frank had an Oil and Fuel shop and was at one time a mail contractor for the Paynes Find run. When Smith and Parrott’s shop burnt down, trading was carried on for a while in Frank’s shop. Frank married Ruby AYRES (daughter of Bunny Ayres) and they had two children - Billy and Richard. Frank was a member of the Wubin Football Club 1928/32. Ruby played Pennant Tennis for Wubin in 1932/33. She was also part of the Wubin Country Week team 1935.
Mr Buckley took over the farm of Hamling’s in 1936, and several years later moved to Buntine.
BUDERUS von CARLSHAUSEN, Albert Karl (Baron)
Albert was born 7.9.1861 in Ulm, Germany, into an aristocratic family living in a palatial home at Gelnhausen. He married Josephine Caroline Frederike REVEL. From this marriage, three children were bom: Friederich Ernest Adolf b. 5.3.1885; Margot Ernestine Josephine Ida Augusta b. 6.7.1888; and Helmuth Robert Ferdinand b. 10.12.1891. Josephine died 11.5.1893. It is not known why Albert gave up his privileged upper class life and home to travel to Australia and become a farmer, but it is known that he arrived in Western Australia c. 1900/1901.
Wilhemina and Albert Karl Buderus von Carlshausen
From 1902-1903, he was the licensee of the two-year-old Bayswater Hotel. Following this he ran the Star Hotel in Essex Street Fremantle for four years. In 1908, the Post Office Commercial Directory lists him as a gardener out at Jandakot. This obviously did not work out as from 1908 he ran the Duke of York Hotel in Fremantle. Albert married again in Fremantle on 1.7.1909 to Wilhelmina Augustine HEDSTROM, (b. 24.5.1867) Westmanland, Sweden. She was said to have had a close relationship with a member of the Swedish Royal Family, which resulted in the birth of her son Carl Gustav in 1887. Carl was later known as Gus Hallman. It is also reputed she sang with a famous choir in Germany. It is not known why or when she arrived in Australia.
House of Albert and Wilhelmina Buderus von Carlshausen >
The couple managed hotels in Fremantle for some years and in 1914 Albert is listed as being a farmer at Jibberding, although his wife may not have been with him, as from 1917 she is listed as being the proprietor of a Wine Saloon and Restaurant at 46 Beaufort Street, Perth. The saloon was a popular meeting place for the German community and so came under the scrutiny of Military Intelligence, who believed it to be full of spies. Despite the fact she was Swedish and had become a naturalized Australian, in 1911 Military Intelligence referred to her as a German. Letters to Augusta were intercepted and raids made on the Wine Bar. One letter was translated to discover the secrets that were surely being passed on. It read: “Please find two pounds. Please send me one white pudding, one black pudding for it. Please give my greetings to Dick Rothkel and to the other Germans. With greetings, Augustus Lucanus, Wiluna 27.10.1917”. Albert spoke very good English and was always very smartly dressed on formal occasions. Wilhelmina gained a reputation in Jibberding for being a very good cook and hostess. The couple moved from the farm to Wubin in 1925. A farewell dance was held in their honour, at which they were presented with gifts. Albert died 5.1.1941 at his Wubin home. Wilhelmina died 22.11.1963 at Mount Henry Hospital. Both are buried in Dalwallinu cemetery.
BUDERUS von CARLSHAUSEN, Helmuth Robert Ferdinand (Fred)
Fred was born 10.12.1891 in Frankfurt, Germany, youngest child of Albert Karl and his wife Josephine. His mother and one of his brothers died when he was only two years old. It is not known who looked after him when his father left for Australia, possibly it was his grandparents. He attended a Military College in Germany, one of his classmates being Hermann Goering. Arriving in WA. in December 1910 on board the Zeiten, travelling second class from Bremen, he was first employed at a timber mill at Jarrahdale. Here he was known as Harry Hansen and at the start of the war a report on him was made by the military police. This stated that he was a typical German in manner and appearance and that he had been a German Army reservist. Fred first visited the Wubin area around 1914 and Frank Reudavey remembered the day he arrived. Despite the hot dusty day, he alighted from the train wearing a cream suit, cream hat and cream shoes. He came to Jibberding around 1920, after having worked in Dudinin and Lake Grace and purchased land eight miles east of Wubin soon after, the property becoming known as “Pinewood”.
Mona and Fred Buderus von Carlshausen >
He married Mona Beatrice PERFECT (b. 13.6.1900 at Surrey Hills NSW) on Mona's family farm at Wubin on the 1.7.1926. Before her marriage she spent some time as a housemaid with a family in Rokeby Road Subiaco. The couple had five children: Walter Norman b. 8.2.1927, Ernest George b. 5.7.1928, Elsie Mary (ANDREWS) b. 3.10.1930, Isobel Mona (FLETCHER) b. 22.4.1933 and John Eric b. 21.10.1937. Mona was a very practical person; she was a marvelous cook even though she did not enjoy cooking. She was a good businesswoman and farmer. After her husband died she was always out working on the farm. She was very fond of her chickens and took particular care of them in the heat of summer. Her daughter Isobel remembered her as a very hardworking woman. Mona was President of Jibberding CWA in 1942 but in later years was reluctant to hold positions as she was rather deaf and her eyesight was poor. Although a quiet person Mona had a good sense of humour with a gentle laugh and loved a good political discussion (or argument) with her brother-in-law Bill Cook. One of her other attributes was her violin playing. When she was young she developed alopecia (hair loss). The only time she had a lovely head of thick light brown hair was when she was pregnant. Fred died in the Dalwallinu hospital on 4.12.1941 and Mona died on the 7.4.1970 and both are buried in Dalwallinu cemetry.
Fred worked on the Gardiner family property.
BURGESS, William Thomas
William was born 21.11189 was the eldest son of Thomas and Ellen Burgess of Westbourne Park, South Australia. He lived in Wongan Hills and Latham before moving to Wubin. William’s wife’s name was Violet. He was a member of the Dalwallinu Masonic Lodge, and died in 1943 at the age of 53 after a road accident, and is buried in Dalwallinu.
CABLE, Freddy (Harry)
Freddy was a very good sportsman and was a member of Wubin Football Club from 1934 to 1937. He may have worked for Collins, and later worked for the City of Stirling.
Walter owned a property in West Wubin living in a house opposite the West Wubin school. Ray Young worked for him for a few years, on and off. The land was originally part of the Glowery Estate. Walter married Agnes BROWN and the couple had three children, Jack, Rhonda and Ray. Jack attended West Wubin school in 1927 and 1928. Rhonda was enrolled for 1929, but didn’t actually attend school. Ray went to Wubin school about 1934. Mrs Cadwallader played Pennant Tennis for Miamoon in 1932-33. Football records mention a social evening for Mr & Mrs Cadwallader in 1933. The property was then bought by Harry and Nancy Myers.
Wedding photo Evie Birch, Amy Cail, Jack Carter and Frank Treasure >
Amy was born at White Hills Bendigo Victoria on the 30.4.1900. She lived at Sea Lake from 1910 to 1918 and then went to Melbourne. In 1929 she came with her mother Grace Cail, sister Sadie and future brother-in-law Bert and sister-in-law Hilda Retallick, to visit her brothers at Cailbro. Amy stayed on at Cailbro and in 1931 married Jack CARTER (see Carter). Jack used to ride a wild horse out to Cailbro when courting Amy (no one else could ride it). Amy was an accomplished pianist and singer and was the pianist at the church services at Jibberding for many years. She was a member of Wubin CWA prior to Jibberding CWA being formed, where she was a long time active member.
George b.2.9.1906 in Bendigo, Victoria. He was the youngest of four brothers who started farming at Cailbro East Wubin in 1927. His early schooling was in Sea Lake and two years of high school in Melbourne. George’s first job on leaving school was messenger boy for the Colosseum store in Melbourne. He later worked for the Cyclone Wire factory making metal scrolls for gates. Following his brothers to Western Australia he travelled on the ship Jervise Bay in August 1927. He arrived at Cailbro a week before his 21st birthday and celebrated it with a Mills & Wares plum pudding, with only his three brothers.
Dorris and George Cail in 1966 >
On the 8.1.1938 he married Dorris May PETTIT (b. 17.3.1910 at Jennacubbine) at Maylands, Perth. Her family at one time ran the Post Office at Balkuling and Dorris when 18 did the mail run around the district by car. Dorris first came to the district to work for Cailbo in 1933/34. She spent three years in New Zealand and also worked for Mrs Wasley (mother of Jibberding Wasley’s) in Walcott Street. North Perth. In 1937 she worked for the Simonsens at Jibberding. George and Dorris had four children - Dorris (HARVEY) 1939, Bert 1940, Alice (LENGHAUS) 1941 and Lucy (FISHER) 1945. Dorris was a foundation member of Jibberding CWA. George held various offices in the Jibberding branch of the Farmers’ Union. They had their first electric light plant - 32 volt - in 1953, and the phone was not connected until 1960. George was a very keen tennis player and played at Jibberding until he was over 70. When the club closed he took up lawn bowls playing at Buntine until after he was 90.
After 74 years on Caibro farm, George together with son Bert moved to Dalwallinu to live in January 2002. Dorris died 19.5.1982 and George 1.6.2004 aged 97. Both are buried in Dalwallinu Cemetery.
Grace Cail b.5.11.1869 (nee DENNIS) at Warralamba, Victoria), married Robert Nelson CAIL at Drummartin, Victoria on the 28.8.1889. Robert (b. 26.4.1866, d. 1913 Victoria). The couple had ten children: - Henry b. 19.7.1890, Trixie (WILLOUGHBY) b.23.2.1892; Reuben b. 9.5.1894, Mary (DOBBIN) b. 15.8.1895; Cora (JENKIN) b.6.6.1898; Amy (CARTER) b.30.4.1900; Alice b. 17.6.1902; Thomas b. 21.1.1905, George b. 2.9.1906 and Sarah (RETALLICK) b. 25.12.1908. Grace followed her sons to the Wubin district in 1929, but returned to Victoria three or four times. By 1938 there were eight adult Cails living at Cailbro. Grace settled permanently at Cailbro farm from 1946. She died at Royal Perth Hospital 14.6. 1961 aged 91 years and 7 months and is buried in Dalwallinu.
Cail family photo 1927 >
Back - Henry, Tom, George and Reuben
Centre - Mary, Grace, Trixie
Front - Sadie, Amy, Alice, Cora
Henry b. 19.7.1890 at Huntley, Victoria, was the eldest child of Grace and Robert Cail and he too settled at Cailbro farm in 1927. He worked in a butcher’s shop and ice works at Sea Lake 1911-12 and had an irrigation fruit block at Nyah West (on the Murray River) 1918-1923. He then moved to Chinkapook (Mallee district of Victoria) in 1924 and farmed a dry land grain block with his brother Reuben until 1926. The block was too small, so when a neighbour offered to buy it, they sold and came to Western Australia. They first looked at land at Salmon Gums. When Bill Farrell, whom they had known in Victoria informed them there was land available east of Wubin, on the edge of Lake Goorly, they came to have a look. Bill Farrell showed them the way, driving a dray pulled by horses using no reins, just verbal commands. They travelled for 8 miles through virgin scrub from the Rabbit Proof Fence. Here Bill left them with the instructions that there was a rock hole just over the hill on the edge of timber country. They were relieved to find the rock hole was indeed there! In later years Henry mainly looked after the sheep and had several good sheep dogs. He was a very keen cricket follower and umpired for the local Jibberding cricket team. He was also a good dancer and taught many of the young girls of the district to dance. Henry was a small man only 5 foot 1 inch (153 cm) tall. He never married and died 23.5.1961 and is buried in Dalwallinu.
Henry Cail with hat standing by the front of his Singer Car in 1950. Grace Cail is on extreme right of the photo. >
Reuben b.9.5.1894 in Huntley, Victoria, was the second of the Cail brothers, who farmed Cailbro. He went to school in Bagshot and then did a variety of jobs including working for his uncles on the original Cail farm at Kamarooka (North Bendigo). This farm was taken up by his grandfather John Cail in 1873 and is still owned and farmed by his descendents in 2004. There is the story of how whilst using a binder Reuben cut off the head of one of his grandma’s turkeys! Two other jobs he had included, the salt works at Lake Tyrell near Sea Lake and shovelling sand from the railway line cutting’s in the Mallee. In 1924-26 he farmed with his brother Henry at Chinkapook. He returned to Victoria to marry Dorothy (Dolly) Emily FIEDLER (b.24.9.1891, Huntley, Vic.) in Bendigo 1927. They had two children Leslie Reuben b. 20.11.1928 and Thelma Dorothy (CARLSHAUSEN) b. 6.8.1931 Reuben farmed with his brothers at Cailbro until 1945 and moved to farm “Honnerview” farm. This property was formally owned by Clem Honner and situated on the Rabbit Proof Fence. Dolly suffered an accident when a child, getting into a buggy which resulted in her left leg being shorter and for the rest of her life had to use an extension on her shoe. She played the violin on many occasions at various Jibberding functions. Reuben was a very enthusiastic footballer and played for Wubin around the 1930’s.
Dolly and Reuben Cail with daughter Thelma and son Les >
Reuben and Dolly were both keen supporters of the football club. Reuben and his brothers donated the land for the first school in the district. This was built by the community from mud brick. It became known as Cailbro school and served other families in the area as well as their own. The family has continued to maintain the school as a tourist attraction. Dorothy died on 22.9.1963 and Reuben died in Dalwallinu on the 18.7.1967. Both are buried in Dalwallinu Cemetery.
Tom, born 21.1.1905 at Bagshot, Victoria, was the third of the Cail brothers. His early schooling was at Sea Lake and the family moved to Melbourne when he was 13. He worked in the office of a shipping bond store and learnt book-keeping by correspondence. He was the bookeeper and farm recorder at Cailbro. In 1932 he went back to Melbourne and married Hilda RETALLICK (b. 1.9.1907 in Perth). When she was only three or four years old Hilda’s family moved to Melbourne and at 14 she commenced work as a tailoress. For the first few years of their marriage they lived with the other Cails in the bag house at Cailbro. Then they built their own mud-brick house nearby.
Tom and Hilda Cail >
They had five children: Robert Thomas b.15.1.1933, Elsie Lilian (FITZSIMONS) b.14.3.1935, Ormond Victor b. 19.9.1937, Walter Morton (Hilda's mother's maiden name) b. 11.5.1941 and Noel David b. 24.4.1945. Both Hilda and Tom were keen gardeners and sports people. They played tennis at Jibberding for many years, then bowls at Buntine in later years. They were keen supporters of the Jibberding cricket club and Tom played till nearly 50 and then umpired for many years. They also supported the Wubin football club and for many years Hilda washed the jumpers every week during the football season.
Hilda Cail and son Robert in pram >
Hilda was a foundation member of Jibberding CWA and in 1998 received her 60 years loyal service certificate. She helped run the Jibberding Sunday school and the annual Jibberding Christmas tree. Tom and Hilda were foundation members of Dalwallinu Senior Citizens Club and Tom was president from the formation in 1975 until his death. He died 24.6.1983 and is buried in Dalwallinu. After Tom died Hilda lived on the farm for another five years and then moved to Dalwallinu. She died aged 93 6.9.2000 and is buried in Dalwallinu Cemetery.
David was a sandalwood cutter working on outback stations. He would call in at Jibberding every three or four weeks to collect his mail. He lived in the district for some years, finally leaving in the early 1930s. See district photo taken at Reudaveys' in 1925.
CALDER, John F.
John farmed Vic loc 5561 of 2000 acres in 1911. In 1917 he was clearing on Klein’s property. He is not mentioned in the Post Office Directory after 1920.
CARLSHAUSEN see BUDERUS VON
CARLSON, Charles John (Charlie)
Charlie farmed a property just out of Wubin along the West Wubin Road for ten years. He was a widower with two daughters, Ena and Muriel. His eldest daughter attended school in Wubin. During WWI Charlie served in the 10th Light Horse and fought in Gallipoli and Palestine. He was an active member of the Wubin R.S.L. Charlie was a staunch supporter of his Catholic faith and died aged 46 15.11.1933 and is buried in Dalwallinu Cemetery.
Vic was a blacksmith’s assistant at Wubin as listed in the PO Directory for Wubin 1927-28. He often drove Dick Clover’s Humbermobille car for him because Dick was purported to be a very bad driver. Vic also worked in Dalwallinu as a blacksmith for Sawyers.
Agnes was the mother of Jack Carter. Agnes (DRAFFIN) came to Jibberding in 1927 to assist her son Jack when he started as manager on her brother Bill’s farm. She lived in a house on Carter Road for about three years with Jack and her daughter Lucy. She died in Geraldton in 1944 and is buried in the Northam cemetery with husband Ernest.
CARTER, John (Jack) Leslie
Jack was born 1.4.1904 in Northam WA where his father was a grain merchant. Jack’s first job, as a 14-year-old, was in a Jarrahdale sawmill followed by a stint sewing flour bags at a Fremantle flourmill. He arrived in the Wubin area around 1926 to manage his uncle Bill Draffin’s farm, which he did until the Second World War. On 26.3.1931, he married Amy CAIL at Cailbro Farm, Jibberding. The couple had three children: - William Robert b. 9.11.1932; Harry John b. 7.3.1934 and Dennis George b. 1.7.1935. After the war Jack bought his own property (between Jibberding Hall Road and the Rabbit Proof Fence) and farmed it himself. He was a Road Board Member from 1952 until he was killed in a car accident on the 20.1.1956. Amy died on 22.6.1990 in a Como nursing home. Both are buried in Dalwallinu.
Jack Carter with his Morris Cowley car in 1933 >
Geoff farmed at West Wubin amd married Betty NELSON
Hector was a shearer with Harry Eatts.
CHAMBERLIN, Brooklyn Gordon Stanley (Old Joe)
Joe was born 1888 in Nurmurkah, Victoria, the son of Charles Chamberlin, an Englishman, and Mary Jane BERRY. He took up blocks 4062 and 4882 in 1910, but he left from there to join the WWI army. In 1920 when in England, he married Nellie, who was a widow. She left her daughter (Queenie) and travelled to Australia with her husband to the farm known as “Golden Valley”. This was east of the rabbit proof fence and adjoining Jibberding Station. Shortly after the arrival of her daughter from England Nellie became seriously ill and was in Dalwallinu hospital for some time. She was subsequently transferred to Royal Perth Hospital and died there 20.11.1932 and is buried in Karrakatta Cemetery. Joe was forced off the farm by the bank after Nellie died, and it was taken over by Frank Reudavey. Frank also bought a parcel of land which had been owned by Nellie. Joe went to work for the Board of Agriculture as a boundary rider on the No 2 rabbit proof fence, from Maya East to Cunderdin. He later managed farms in that area. Joe died in Dalwallinu hospital in 1966.
Brooklyn Gordon Stanley Chamberlin with grandson Stanley Holsworth
Queenie was born 23.6.1913 and her father was lost at sea during WW1. She went at a very young age to the Princess Mary Boarding School in Addlestone, Surrey, England. In 1929 at the age of 16, she travelled to Australia to join her mother and stepfather, Brooklyn Chamberlin, on his farm at Jibberding. Sometime after the death of her mother, she left to work in Perth where she was a nanny housekeeper for various families, amongst them, the Benskeys and the Sabots. In 1942 Queenie married Ron HOLDSWORTH, a Sergeant Major, army cook at the Northam Army Camp. The couple had five children, Stanley, Bobby, Frank, John and Gwen. Queenie was a member of the Jibberding Pennant Tennis Team in 1932-33 and is listed as a registered Jibberding Tennis player in 1937.
‘Old Joe” Chamberlin with Stepdaughter Queenie Holdsworth and her sons Bobby, Stanley and Frank >
Eileen was a teacher at Miamoon School from 1932-1935. During this time, her salary rose from 208 pounds 14 shillings per year to 210 pounds 17 shillings. She boarded with Gladys Sanders.
CHENEY, Samuel (Sam)
Sam farmed at Cunderdin but went broke in the 1914 drought. Sam was a partner with Tom Corteen on a farm at West Wubin. His first visit to the farm was in his Overland Whippet car with Tom Corteen and his son Jack. Sam continued the partnership with Tom, but worked the farm with Tom’s son Jack and this continued until late 1932 when the partnership ended as Sam’s wife wanted to return to Perth. Corteen’s kept two blocks and Sam got the north block lot 8919. In Jack Corteen’s book 76 Active Years is a photo of Sam Cheney his wife and several grandchildren in front of the original West Wubin farm house built in 1931. Sam’s daughter married Bill Noble. Samuel Cheney died in Perth in 1956 aged 80.
Ben came from Edinburgh, Scotland, and arrived in Fremantle with Chris Seton aboard the ship Borda 13.7.1922, as a 21 year old farmhand. Together Ben and Chris did local clearing work and in about 1925 became partners in farming a property situated on the east side of the rabbit proof fence; the farm was originally taken up by Andy Howie. He was a member of the Jibberding Tennis team in 1932/33. Ben joined the 2/24th Battalion of the Australian Infantry in WW2. He was killed in action on the 31.10.1942, during the battle of El Alamein in North Africa. Ben was buried at the El Alamein War Cemetery, Egypt in Grave XVI G. 15 aged 42.
CHISHOLM, David (Dave)
Dave was a brother of Ben and arrived from Edinburgh, Scotland about 1925. He first worked for Gus Liebe and then on his brother’s property. In about 1929 he took up property at East Buntine. In 1931 he married Dorothy (Dorrie) REUDAVEY (see Henry Reudavey), at Jibberding. In 1951 they moved to Maya. The couple had three children: Betty, (FRANKLIN)), 21.2.1933, Andrew 23.6.1936, and Terrance 14.7.1949. Dorothy died 23.3.1981 at Perth, and Dave died 21.7.1996 aged 92, also at Perth.
David and Dorothy Chisholm 1961 >
CLARKE, Aloysius Brian (Abie)
Abie was the first teacher at the new Wubin School from when it opened on 23.11.1932 until the end of 1935. He was one of the local “boys” who boarded with Mrs Smith. The school was opened by the Minister for Education who was later entertained to tea at Mrs Smith’s boarding house. The new teacher earned 266 pounds per year.
Abie Clarke >
CLARK, Arthur William (Nobby)
Nobby was bom in Devon, England, and married Margaret CAMPBELL who was bom in Scotland. Their daughter Margaret attended North Dalwallinu School when the family farmed five miles east of Nugadong. In a letter written by Margaret, she states that some of their neighbours were Collins, Schultz, Treasure, Flynn and Peterson. "We went to school, my sister and myself, on a pony, for 5 1/2 miles. I can remember riding this pony through Collins property, which was on the east side of ours and went right through to Wubin. We had to take him to be shod by the blacksmith at Wubin, Mr. Bradshaw. Dad was a Gallipoli veteran and I used to go to the Wubin Anzac Service with him. One nice outing we looked forward to all year was the Wubin Picnic run by the R.S.L. This took place near some rocks east of Wubin and there were games and races for all. I can remember a 100 yard stepping race for ladies, also an 'old Buffers Race' for older men and Dad used to go in that and they'd put him so far out in front he couldn't lose ... If we had a dry summer I can remember Dad carting water from a stand-pipe on the road east of Wubin ... Another picnic spot was at some lakes west of Nugadong, near Gunyidi; the former owner walked off the property because of lack of water and some springs suddenly came out of the ground ... a good swimming area ..." Nobby died in Perth 3.8.1954 age 71.
Gunyidi “swimming” pool 1948. Photo R. McLevie. >
CLOVER, Richard J. (Dick)
Dick worked as a dam sinker in the Wubin district for some years, especially on the Klein’s property. He lived next door to the Richards property, which was later taken over by Mr Carlshausen senior. In May 1924, Dick married Miss Ellen J. WINTLE at Mr and Mrs A.B. Carlshausen’s residence, the bride being given away by Mrs Augusta Carlshausen. The bridesmaids were Misses Dorrie Reudavey and Majorie Reudavey and the best man John Dowie and groomsman Frank Beaton. The North Eastern Districts Courier of 26.2.1926 reports Dick was involved in a car accident with George Brown, who was injured. Dick died in Dalwallinu Hospital from his injuries. At his funeral in Dalwallinu his pall-bearers were Messrs Liebe, Klein, M Flynn, E.A. Barrett, Stewart and C. Kitchen.
J. Clune possibly worked for Mr Toesland and was easily distinguished by his curly ginger-red hair. He had a sister, Cathy J Clune, who is listed as a Jibberding tennis club member in 1932.
COLLINS, Albert Henry
Albert was born 14.3.1912 in Leonora as the eldest child of Sidney and Amalia Collins. He married Gisella Maria Hepp in 1960 in Perth and they had two children, Gabrielle b. 30.9.1961, and Herbert b. 1.8.1963. Albert farmed the family farm into his 80s and then retired to the city. Gisella d. 8.1.1979, aged 52 and Albert d. 25.9.2002, aged 90.
COLLINS, Harold Klein
Harold was born 28.10.1914 in Maylands, second son of Sidney and Amalia Collins. He married Louise Joyce 6.10.1917 from Mentone, Victoria, on the 14.10.1939 at St. Albans Church, Highgate, Perth. The couple had three children: Joyce Louise b. 17.9.1940, John Harold b. 22.10.1942 (died 8.3.1958) and Ross Sydney b. 25.4.1946. Harold attended the North Dalwallinu school travelling there by horse and sulky. Miss Mary Flynn was one of his teachers. He later farmed on part of the property owned by F.W.G. Liebe. Harold moved to Palmyra, Perth in 1959 and died 14.3.1998.
COLLINS, Sidney Arthur
Sidney was born 2.8.1917 in Maylands the youngest son of Sidney and Amalia Collins. He married Eugene (Jean) SYME 1.2.1934 on 9.4.1955 in Dalwallinu. They had three children, Bruce Guildford b. 16.10.1957, Lyall Sidney b.17.10.60 and Loma Cyd b. 11.10.1966. He farmed adjacent to the Klein and Collins properties. Sidney died 11.10.1972 and is buried in the Dalwallinu cemetry. His grave is one of those mentioned in the book Five Graves in Dalwallinu. Jean and the family left the farm after his death.
COLLINS, Sidney Guildford and Amalia Hedwig (nee KLEIN)
Sidney married Amalia Hedwig Klein b. 1889 in Victoria who was the sister of Wilhelm and Albert Klein. The couple had three sons: Albert, Harold and Sidney. The family came from Kalgoorlie, where Sidney was a mining engineer, to Wubin 1918, their homestead being six miles from the Klein’s property. Their original home was made from hessian with a dirt floor. In 1926 (completed in 1930), the third house to be built by Gus Liebe was to become their permanent home on the farm called “Sunshine”. This was the first re-inforced concrete house to be built in W.A. and was 75 squares in size. One of its features was the magnificent leadlight windows which were specially commissioned and featured farming scenes.
Hedwig (as she was always known) was an active CWA member and after she moved to Dalkeith, she loaned the Wubin-Jibberding CWA 600 pounds interest free to build a rest room. Sidney died 8.8.1949 aged 70, and Amalia died 12.2.1960 and both are buried in Dalwallinu. These graves are mentioned in the book Five Graves in Dalwallinu.
Amalia Hedwig Collins >
Oswald worked locally on the farms of Richards and Kennys.
Mr Conroy worked for Mr. W. Farrell at Jibberding. He had his own farm at West Wubin, which in 2004 was owned by Des Counsel. His wife was Doreen YOUNG. They were later divorced. Conroy served in World War II.
COOK, Cecil William (Bill)
Bill was born 8.6.1900 in Brighton, Sussex, arrived at Fremantle on the ship Kenilworth Castle in 1923. He had been a member of the Flying Corps in Britain. On arrival in WA, Bill was made to sign an agreement that he would go out into the country to look for work. At a tent camp on what is now Fremantle Oval he saw a sign on a stick stating that fencers were wanted in Buntine. He afterwards said that the only fencing he was familiar with was the sport where you lunged at each other with swords. Bill boarded a train for Buntine and worked for a time erecting fences for Ernie Nelson, a farmer. On arrival, he found he would need his own transport. He was loaned a horse and he and two others rode over to Jurien Bay where they caught and broke in brumbies. Bill also did clearing of land using an axe, again for Ernie Nelson. On moving to Wubin, Bill went into partnership with Dan Norton running the Wubin garage, in Arthur St. Bill also did the mail run to Paynes Find.in Sam Birch’s Reo truck. He married Myrtle Elizabeth PERFECT sister to Mona, (Mrs. Carlshausen) in Wubin on the 9.5.1935. Bill and Myrtle had three sons - Norman William b 3.8.1937, Barry Ronald b 21.2.1939 and Chris who lived only a short time. Bill was in army from 1941—45, only serving in Western Australia and during this time the garage was closed. After the war Bill and his family lived in a house at the back of the business. This had a floor made of crushed termite mounds. Bill would travel out towards Mt. Gibson to break down and gather the mounds which would then be crushed and dampened down flat to make a very hard floor. Bill was secretary of the Miamoon Tennis Club in 1932 and Myrtle played pennant tennis for Miamoon in 1932-33. During the late 1930s a chap came from Perth with a Tiger Moth aeroplane and gave joyrides over Wubin using Fred Myers' paddock as a landing ground. Bill used his truck to ferry the passengers to and from Wubin to the plane. Myrtle died 22.11.1991 aged 80 and Bill died 13.1.1996, and both are buried in Karrakatta Cemetery.
Bob farmed at West Wubin and was married with a daughter Rachael.
CORTEEN, Johnstone Herbert Ramsey (Jack)
Jack, born 21.10.1911, was the only son of Thomas and Ethel Corteen. He went to Kalamunda school, then was a boarder at Guildford Grammar 1926/27; prior to attending Muresk College 1928/30. Having spent his holidays in 1930 on the farm “Mt. Hawke”, Jack completed his Diploma and in 1931 became a full time farmer on the West Wubin property. Jack had a surprise visit from his family of mother, sisters Betty and Barbara for his 21st birthday. He first lived in a camp and later moved into the house when Sam Cheney left. Farming in the early days was using horses, and the first tractor - a Hungarian “Steelhorse”, was bought in October 1937. Sheep were introduced to the property in 1935 and a new cement brick house was built in 1939. On the 22.10.1940 he married Joy Arundel DICKENS and they adopted a son Stephen. In 1943 Jack bought an adjoining block from Robert MacDonald. Great social occasions were held in the 1950s and 1960s when Jack would show films at Gunyidi Pool to which the locals were always invited. He established a Hereford stud at Mt Hawke and in 1960 purchased a property at Bullsbrook to where he moved the stud. In 1962 he sold Mt Hawke to John Hooper and in 1963 he sold the Bullsbrook property. It was in 1965 he built a block of three storey, 2 bedroom flats in Fremantle, and named them “Miamoon”. He was the author of an excellent book entitled 76 Active Years. Jack died 25.5.1992 and was cremated, his ashes interred at Karrakatta.
CORTEEN, Thomas James (Tom)
Tom, born 5.10.1880, was the fourth child of Thomas Kneale and Mary RAMSAY. He served with Victorian Rifles in The Boer War and was discharged in Western Australia. Tom married Ethel Grace BOURNE in 1908. The partnership of Corteen & Cheney was formed and Vic loc 8653 and 9642 were taken up in 1928. The farm, named “Mt Hawke” was situated on the Wubin-Gunyidi Road and Tom’s share was purchased for his son Jack. Tom was described as “a gentleman farmer” because he often visited the farm but never lived there.
Arthur was working in the Wubin district on Dr. Dermer’s property in 1910, having previously worked in Jarradale, cutting wood for railway sleepers. In 1920, he bought his own land, 1000 acres near Buntine with a WW1 service loan. He married Jane PAYNE in North Fremantle and the couple had eight children: - Ivy, Mabel, Phillip, Roy, Jean, Arthur, Bertram and Walter. Arthur and Jane put in their first crop by hand and then went over it with a horse and cultivator. Sadly their fortunes, like so many others, suffered during the depression and they left their land. At one time Arthur worked for the West Australian newspaper, having his own column.
CROZIER, Armand (Arthur)
Arthur worked locally in the district for Simonsen’s, and often rode a push bike to Wubin. He also worked as a wheat bin attendant. He died at Wubin on the 24.9.1960, aged 52.
CULLINANE, Michael (Mick)
Mick born c. 1851 in Cornwall, England was of Irish Catholic descent, one of the sons of Michael Cullinane and his wife Mary (MOORE) who were originally from County Cork, Ireland. He is thought to have arrived in Western Australia in 1880. Mick was one of the very earliest arrivals in the Wubin district and soon gained a reputation for being one of the best teamsters in the area. Mick and his wife Annie Maria (MARSH) were married in 1902 in Northam and had no children of their own but adopted a daughter Elise M. who married Frederick OSBORNE. Mrs Cullinane ran the first boarding house in Wubin. It was called the “Ritz” and in 1914 consisted of a bush shed! Mick’s brother Patrick was a successful farmer at “Fairfield” Meckering and Mick is thought to have worked in that town before arriving in Wubin. After being worried about his health for some time, at the age of 79, he committed suicide at Wubin on 31.12.1930. Mick was buried in the Dalwallinu cemetry. Annie Maria who was always known in the district as “Old Ma”, died on the 19.2.1937 aged 77 years and is buried in the Roman Catholic portion of the Dalwallinu Cemetery.
George was sent by his family in England to his uncle Henry Reudavey, who farmed at Jibberding. He worked around the district including Jibberding station and Cailbro (1934), where he leamt to milk cows. In later years George went to South Australia at various times looking for work and returned to stay with Reudavey’s for a while up until WW11. George is listed at a meeting in May 1931 to reform Jibberding tennis club, and he played in the pennant team in 1932/33.
George Davey and Doris Pettit (CAIL) 1934 >
DAVEY, William Edward
William arrived in the district in 1920 with his wife May and children Henry, Norman and Edwina (Win), and took over a general store in Wubin until approximately 1924. Win has vivid memories of the camel trains coming in from the outlying stations, loaded with sandalwood which was then transferred to rail at Wubin siding. William died on the 24.1.1949 age 61, and is buried in Karrakatta.
David was a school teacher at Wubin Siding school from 18.8.1919 to 24.4.1921, when the school closed due to insufficient numbers which had fallen to six. He commenced on a salary of three pound two shillings per week and finished at four pounds eight shillings. Pupils listed during those years were Edna, Hazel, Hilda and Stan Anderton, Ethel McQueen, Addie Lee, Les, Bert and Phyllis West, Harry and Win Davey.
DAVIES, John (Jack)
Jack came to Wubin from Dalwallinu and worked as a butcher at the Toesland’s shop in Wubin and spent a short time working for Jack Green at Paynes Find. He married Elsie SMITH, eldest daughter of Harold Eaton Smith. Jack helped cart sand to establish the first nine hole golf course in Wubin in the late 1930s. He joined the PMG (Australia Post) in 1940 and was in the AIF from 1941-46. During the war, Elsie taught at the Cailbro school when there was a teacher shortage, boarding at Mitchell’s with her son Keith. After the war the family moved to Perth.
Jack and Elsie Davies with son Keith in 1942 >
Max came to West Nugadong and bought land in 1925. In 1927 he bought out Ron Sinclair who was in financial difficulties. The farm was called “Kooroo”, Melbourne Iocs. 1899 and 3006. His father, mother, brother Jack and sister Ollie and Phyl joined him there and they built a new house. Max married Esther b.1903 (CLARK) at Moyston in Victoria, in 1927. After she left school was a teacher in country Victoria. She couldn’t get a transfer to the city so she resigned and trained as a nurse at Prince Henry Hospital in Melbourne. By the time she graduated she was in her thirties and with a friend traveled over to Western Australia where she met Max, married him, and they had two children, Peter b.1937 and Jennifer (VAN DRIEL) b.1939. Max and Esther left the farm and retired to Perth in 1961. Max died on the 11.12.1987. Esther came back to Dalwallinu in 1993 and died there on the 19.1.2003 aged 99 and both are buried in Fremantle cemetery.
Max and Esther Davies >
DAVIES, Tom “Gunner”
Tom’s wife was Winifred and children Madge, Nigrie, Tommy and Dick, who attended Miamoon school between 1934-1936. “Gunner” received his nickname because he always had one eye shut as though aiming a rifle.
Albert was born 17.6.1890 in England the second son of Charles and Sarah Day. On completion of his schooldays, he worked as a farm labourer in Cambridgeshire. Albert migrated to Australia on the “Osterley” arriving in Fremantle on the 12.11.1912. His brother Jack also came to Australia and together they took up uncleared land about eight miles east of Wubin. This land was bought from Baird Bros., owners of a large general store business in Perth. His step-son Tom later wrote. ’’Their sole possessions being saws, axes, a tent and shovels. Their first job was to make a small dam by hand which was still visible until just recently. Although they cleared the land together, the blocks were on separate titles and stayed that way for some time. Ultimately they joined the blocks together to be one property. Times were very hard and when money ran out Albert went to work for Mr. Leibe, the money he eamt being used to continue the clearing of his block. Once cleared he planted wheat and thus the farm began to develop. All supplies at this time came from Bairds in Perth and were sent up by rail to the nearest rail stop, this entailed a long journey just to collect the goods by horses and wagon, generally two days there and two days back”. In 1937, Albert married a widow, Jessie Sarah GOUGH, b.25.3.1900. Jessie was the youngest daughter of Frederick and Matilda ROBERTS. She was a tailoress and worked for R.B. Henkel a tailor in Leederville and later in Perth city. In 1922 she married James Harold Gough, a milkman and had a son Thomas. James died in 1924 after a short but happy marriage and Jessie devoted the next thirteen years of her life to raising her son and caring for her parents. Upon her marriage to Albert Day she went to live on the Wubin farm. Her sister Dorothy had married Bill Heath a farmer in East Buntine. During the war she cared for her niece and nephews, June, Alan and Neil Roberts who traveled daily to Jibberding hall school. Tom has very happy memories of his stepfather ... ”He was a great storyteller and leg puller. I remember his story of his first Christmas in Australia when he ate boiled emu, he said the secret was to put rocks in the pot, when the rocks were soft, the emu was ready to eat!!” Albert’s brother Jim had by now also arrived in Australia and was joined by his sister Elizabeth Day, and her husband Harold Wilkins, and they all settled near Buntine. As before when times were hard, wheat prices were low. Bags had to be filled with wheat, (using a funnel and rammer) sewn and carted to the nearest rail siding. Many farmers like Albert developed sidelines such as pigs.
Albert Day at left
Albert Day blade shearing >
Tom continues.. ”On 21.5.1949, Albert and his wife left their farm having sold it to his brother Jack. It was with great regret, as Albert had loved the farming life. He was a great lover of horses and cared for them like children, he never owned a car. He drove his sulky to Wubin each Saturday during the war years and raised money for the Red Cross by cutting hair during his weekly visits.” Albert and Jessie settled in Leederville and for the rest of his working life Albert worked at Foy and Gibsons store. Jessie died in 1977 and Albert in 1980 and both are buried in Karrakatta Cemetery.
James b.25.2.1898 the youngest son of Charles and Sarah Day, and brother of John and Albert. His wife wrote “At 17 he enlisted in the army and was sent to train at Aldershot. He was then sent to India where he served for three years in the 14th Hussars and 21st Lancers in Beluchistan and Afghanistan. After WW1 he followed his brothers to WA and celebrated his 21st birthday aboard ship He worked on his brothers’ property at east Wubin for a short time before purchasing his own land out towards East Buntine”. Jim met his future wife Trixie, in Perth when he was a country agent for the Victoria Insurance Company and she worked in the Perth office of the company. They married in Perth on 16.2.1935. Trixie still remembers her first visit to Wubin. She had caught a train from Perth at 4.00pm and it arrived at Wubin shortly before 6am next morning. Trixie was travelling onto Buntine and as the train pulled out of Wubin she wondered where the town was - and then she saw it - a couple of stores, a garage, a hall in the distance and half a dozen houses. She soon learnt to love the area, the wildflowers in spring, the jam trees (wattles) and salmon gums. Jim was at one time President of the Wubin/Buntine/Jibberding R.S.L. When he married, the RSL presented him with a clock, which is now in the possession of his son Colin.
He was President of the local Progress Association and Primary Producers association for a number of years. Just prior to his marriage he nominated for the Dalwallinu Road Boarc and was a member for 17 years, (1928-1944) and Vice-Chairman for some of them. Jim’: health started to deteriorate after the war period and the farm was sold in 1959. The family moved to Subiaco where Trixie had grown up. James died in 1960.
DAY, John (Jack)
John b.21.10.1888 in England the eldest son of Charles and Sarah Day, and arrived ii Australia via the port of Fremantle, from Newton near Harston, Cambridgeshire, England on the 11.11.1912 aboard the “Osterley”. He arrived in the Wubin district in December of that year, joining his brother Albert. His daughter Grace was to write... "He began working at various places along the rabbit proof fence, clearing, fencing, dam sinking. He had his first Christmas dinner in WA. with Mr and Mrs Henry Reudavey at Jibberding The poultry dish was a special treat for the Christmas season - Emu!....Jack used to walk down the rabbit proof fence to Mrs. Reudavey every five or six months to collect his mail and papers. She looked after him and acted like a second mother, as she did to quite a lot of the early migrant workers who came from ‘The Old Country’. The First World War had been going for six months before Jack and his mates heard about it. He walked the eight miles back to give notice to his boss that he was leaving to join up. Then onto Perth to join the army, only to be rejected ... a great disappointment. He then took a position with Bairds Brothers managing their farm “Arrowsmith” situated eight miles out of Wubin or the Paynes Find Road and he eventually bought the property. Jack’s brother Albert joined him and they later bought another block, naming it all 'Daysdale Farms'. The nearest centre for mail, papers and stores was at Gunyidi where he went periodically to pick them up. On the way home he would fill a 200-gallon tank of water from the dam just west of the Wubin townsite. This was a long two day trip by horse and cart." John married Grace Mary PEARSON on the 10.4.1924 at Middle Swan. The couple had five children: - Grace Ivy (SCHULZE) b.5.2.1925; Frederick John b.24.12.1927 now deceased; Dorothy Heler (BIBBY) b 30.9.1930; Harold Charles b.4.1.1933 and Beryl Joan (LAWLER) b.22.2.1935
John worked the Daysdale property until his dead: on the 30.11.1954; Grace died on 28.3.1967, anc both are buried in the Dalwallinu cemetery.
Grace Mary Day and husband John Day with daughter Grace >
Alfred had a block on Thomson Road and married Florence BELL, in 1929. He played cricket for Miamoon against Dalwallinu 7.3.1931 and left the district soon afterwards.
DERRICK, George William.
George was born 4.11.1860 at Fiddlers Creek, Victoria and married Alma Mary COOPER b. 1855 at Specimen Hill, Sandhurst, Victoria, in Yallock on 4.6.1879. The couple and five of their six children arrived in Dalwallinu in 1910 and moved to Jibberding in 1912, where they were farmers for 15 years. When he left Perth he drove a team of bullocks across the Horseshoe Bridge from the north side and came straight up to Dalwallinu. Their children were: Clara Grace, b. 1880; Alma Mary b. 1881; George Ernest b. 1884; Harriet Amelia (RAYNER) b. 1886. d. 8.11.1972; Beatrice b.1894 (married Arthur BROWN) and Henry b. 1898. George and Alma were friendly to everyone in the district, but their friendship with Wilhelm Klein and Gus Liebe led to allegations of disloyalty during WWI. George d. 25.12.1939 aged 79 and Alma d. 21.10.1948 aged 93. They are both buried in Dalwallinu cemetery. At the time of Alma's death, she was survived by five children, eighteen grandchildren and nineteen great-grandchildren.
George Derrick and Jim Rayner dam sinking >
Alma Derrick >
DERRICK, Henry (Harry) Leith
Harry b.3.2.1898 at Neilborrough Victoria youngest child of George and Alma. He worked with his father for some time, and laid salmon gum logs as base for part of the Great Northern Highway, through the salt pans from the Rabbit Proof Fence road, which was reportedly in excellent condition many years later. (2000). Harry was a very versatile person who could turn his hand to anything. From Mrs Elizabeth Klein’s diary we read he helped put down a dam in April 1919. which took three months with a horse, scoop and plough. Harry worked on Jibberding station and later became a cartage contractor. Harry died 2.7.1984.
Harry Derrick wool carting from Jibberding Station in 1917 >
A Ceylon tea planter C H Dixon worked with Reudavey’s. He had blocks Ninghan Location 4452 and 4453 that were later owned by Ted Moran. He returned to Ceylon and sent bulk tea back to Reudavey’s.
DOWIE, John Muir (Jock)
Jock was bom in Ayrshire, Scotland, and came to Western Australia in 1922, with his brother Robert. He had served with a Scottish Regiment in WW1. For some time Jock lived with relatives in Dalwallinu before settling in Wubin. His farm west of Wubin , which he named ‘Ashfield’, was 936 acres and had a four room weatherboard house, typical farmhouse of the day. He later purchased an adjoining 200 acres. As well as a farmer, he was also an agent for AWA Radios (Nicholson’s). Jock was one of the first in the area to purchase a tractor and once worked up 114 acres in 36 hours non-stop with a Twin City tractor and scarifier. Jock was married to Christine CAIRNS who travelled out from Dunblain, Scotland to marry him. They did not have any children. Jock was a member of the V.D.C. during WW2; Chris was a great singer and loved a joke. They moved to Perth in 1956 and Jock died in 1958 and was buried at Karrakatta with a Miliatry Funeral. Chris returned to her family in Scotland.
EAST, William Rayner (Bill)
Bill East and his Mother with his first tractor. >
Bill b.29.5.1904 in Partick, Glasgow, Scotland. He arrived in Sydney Australia in 1928 on a vessel belonging to the Clan Shipping line. Bill arrived in the Wubin district in 1936 after living in Salmon Gums and farmed the property "Dalgene" on Thompson Rd, West Wubin. His mother on her only visit to Australia bought Bill his first tractor. He married Joyce Mary McKINNON in Dalwallinu and the couple had ten children: -Allan John b. 13.5.1939; Leslie b.29.5.1941; William Arthur and Harry Graham b.12.9.1942; Robert Joseph b. 17.1.1945; Anthony James b. 17.1.1948; Margaret Joyce b.6.6.1950; Valerie Jean b.25.10.1951; Daphne Myrtle b.8.4.1953 and Peter George b. 3.9.1954. The East family left the district in 1961. William died in Perth on 28.3.1962, Joyce on 8.2.1988. Both are buried in Karrakatta cemetery.
Photo taken in 1957 of the William Rayner East Family >
Back - Bill East Snr, Joyce East, Alan, Harry, Bill jnr.
Centre - Robert, Lesley Front - Peter, Daphne, Valerie, Anthony
EATTS, Charles Henry (Harry)
Harry b. 19.12.1899 in Williamstown, SA, the son of John Henry Eatt (note the change of spelling) and Mary Ann JOHNSTON. It is not known when he arrived in WA but he was living in Woodanilling before moving to the Wubin district in the late 1920’s. Harry worked as a shearer and charcoal burner and lived in a shed on the Perfect’s property. At this time shearing was carried out in the open and a tarpaulin was spread on the ground. All shearing was done using blade shears. In the early 1930’s Harry carried out the first shearing on Cailbro property. At one time he had a block of land, a triangle between East Wubin Road and Carter Road. He had 300 rabbit traps and was known for his skills as a kangaroo and emu shooter. In later years he carried out galah and emu shooting, mainly on Cailbro and Carters. There was a bonus paid at that time for galah and emu beaks. On the 17.1.1938 in Northam he married Grace Alice BUCHAN, b.9.5.1917 in Kellerberin. The couple had six children: - Rita Mary b. 18.2.1939; Thelma Alice b. 5.5.1941; Graham Henry b.27.6.1943; Charles Albert b. 25.3.1946; Alexander Robert b. 23. 8. 1948 and Pearl Lillian b. 10.8.1951. In 1947 the family moved to live on Cailbro farm, and the children attended Cailbro school, enabling the school to stay operating. Harry died 18.10.1951 and is buried in the Anglican portion of Karrakatta Cemetery. Grace and children stayed at Cailbro for five years after his death, moving to Perth in 1956 when the Cailbro school closed. Grace later remarried (HILL), and lived in Bodallin until her death.
ELLISON, Albert Charles (Jim)
Jim b 22.11.1873 in Glen Osmond, South Australia to James and Georgina Ellison (TOWNSEND), the fourth child in a large family of eleven children. His daughter Mrs. K.
Young wrote "his father James was also born in Glen Osmond in 1841 to English parents who had migrated to South Australia in 1840. James was employed on the original telegraph line from Adelaide to Darwin. All seven sons had a pioneering spirit and a yearning to own land, so five came to Western Australia and two went to New Zealand. Jim and his brothers, Fred, Frank, Gilbert and William spent a few years contracting in the York - Beverley areas, timber clearing, well sinking.... Jim headed north and obtained work at Moolyalla Tin Mine in an effort to save money, and thus purchased a farm. He took up Nugadong Agricultural Lot No. 17 on the 9.7.1908 It took him weeks to travel south again by horse and dray, having endured flooded rivers and creeks, he finally reached his destination - land east of Gunyidi in the old Camamah Road Board, later to become the Dalwallinu Road Board, four miles from Wubin. He named the property Moolyalla. His brothers followed. Jim married a widow, Kathleen JAMES (nee Quill), (b. 22.10.1892 in Redfem, Sydney) who had two children - Loreta (Rita) and Thomas. They married in 1926 at Northam. The couple had five children: - Betty b. 14.1.1927; James b. 14.10.1928; Shirley b.8.9.1930; Kathleen (YOUNG) b.18.2.1933 and Andrew b.1.2.1935. All seven children attended Wubin school. Mrs Kath Ellison was a great pianist. She played by ear all types of music, modem and classical and was in great demand for dances and for silent movies, where she played in the dark, changing the mood of music to the action on screen. Horses were a farmers valued asset and Jim became known for his breeding of Clydesdale draught horses, importing stud sires from New Zealand. He was one of the first people in the district to own a harvester. He purchased his first car in 1932 and his first tractor in 1938, both of these vehicles are still in their original condition on his property, now owned by his son James (2004). Jim died in Perth on 22.4.1941 and Kathleen on 22.1.1977. Both were buried in Karrakatta cemetery. Jim’s remains were relocated to Dalwallinu cemetery in 2004.
Jim Ellison’s first car. A 1932 four door Chevrolet Tourer. Son James is behind the car. >
ELLISON, Frank Stewart
Frank b.24.7.1883 in Glen Osmond, SA, the seventh son and ninth child in his family, and followed four of his brothers to Western Australia During WW1 , Frank swapped his property for a horse and cart so he could travel to Perth to enlist. He joined ‘D’ company of the 44th Battalion on 9.5.1916 and sailed to England in October 1916 as a bomber. Whilst in England he met up with his brother Gilbert who had been wounded. Frank proceeded to France shortly after, where on his 33rd birthday he gained his corporal’s stripes. On The 4.10.1917, Corporal Frank Stewart Ellison was killed in action in Belgium. He has no known grave and his death is commemorated on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Panel 7. He was at the time of his death engaged to Irene SPICER of Gunyidi, who later married his brother Gilbert.
ELLISON, Gilbert Townsend
Gilbert b. 14.10.1881 Glen Osmond S.A. was the eighth child and sixth son in his family. Gilbert also enlisted, serving overseas with the 10th Battalion where he was severely wounded, and after recovering in he returned to Australia. After the war, Gilbert was granted a War Service farm east of Gunyidi. Gilbert married Irene SPICER of Moora. He died on the 9.8.1962 and was buried at Karrakatta.
ELLISON, James Frederick (Fred)
Fred b. 15.5.1870 Glen Osmond, SA , the third child and first son in his family. He followed his brother Jim to the Wubin area after working in York. Fred undertook cartage contracting with horses, from Gunyidi to various settlers throughout the district, (Gunyidi being the nearest trading post then.) He later returned to South Australia to go prospecting. Tom James has vivid memories of Fred.. .”he was a very independent person and looked after himself in his tent. He was a good cook and made a champion damper and fruitcake in a camp oven.” He was said to have a bad heart but he still did axe clearing and burning, and team horse work. Fred died in South Australia on the 28.7.1943.
ELLISON, William (Bill)
Bill b.2.12.1875 Glen Osmond, SA, fifth child and third son in his family. He followed his brothers to the Wubin district, gardening, clearing and dam boring before farming Lot 18 at Nugadong. After being part of a government boring party near Mingenew, he travelled to Coorow with Charles H. Spargo. He later went on holiday in Perth, leaving most of his belongings with the Coorow storekeeper to await his return. He was last seen in the company of Spargo in Perth. He never returned to Coorow and all written communication with his family stopped. Bill’s body was eventually found in Guildford. Spargo was hung for a murder committed in Broome in 1913, and was also suspected of being involved in the disappearances of other men he had known. The Ellison family felt that he was probably responsible for William’s murder too, but this was never proven. William was buried in Karrakatta Cemetery on the 6.12.1915.
Mick was labourer, who had only one arm. He lived in a shed near the Bradshaw blacksmith’s shop. Mention was made of him in the North Eastern Districts Courier June 1938.
FARRELL, William James.
William was bom in Victoria and married Catherine Ann MAGGITI in 1898. They moved to Western Australia and had three sons: George, b 1899, William Vincent (Bill Jnr.) b 1903, and Albert Charles. Catherine died in Kalgoorlie in 1907. He married again to Juanita Constance DAVISON in 1913, and they had a daughter Winifred Anne (Winnie) in 1915. From Mrs. Elizabeth Klein’s diary we see that the Farrells took up land at Jibberding in 1918 arriving about May 1919. They built a stone house on the farm. Son Albert had a block on Cail Road between Cailbro and Frank Reudavey’s. Albert went back to Victoria in the 1930s and was working on the docks in Melbourne. Frank Reudavey acquired this block. Albert died in Victoria in 1984 aged 78.
Bill Jnr shot himself getting through a fence in 1930 and is buried at Dalwallinu. George also returned to Victoria. William died 5.1.1952 and Juanita in 1964; both are buried in Dalwallinu.
FARRELL, Winfred Ann (Winnie)
Winnie b. 1915 married Clarence Stanley VINCENT in 1937 in Perth. They ran the Wubin farm, including a piggery for some years. Many itinerant travellers found short term work available on their property over the years. Winnie was a member of Jibberding C.W.A and often transported ladies to Divisional Meetings on the back of her truck which had a lounge suite for their comfort. Winnie and Clarrie adopted a daughter Julie. The family moved to Perth in the late 1960’s where they owned a boarding house in Bagot Road, Subiaco, named Jibberding Lodge and became known for their kindness in taking in homeless people. Later they moved to Maida Vale. Winnie kept district contacts travelling regularly to Koorigee Station which was still owned by her and adjoined Jibberding Station. Clarrie died on the 3.11.1982 and Winnie died on the 29.1.1994 and is buried in Karrakatta.
Clarrie and Winnie Vincent >
FERRARI, Joe (Dick)
Joe farmed a property on the North Dalwallinu Road, adjoining Frank Treasure’s farm.
Eric Field was the school teacher at Buntine School from 1933 to 1935 and then moved to be the Headmaster at Wubin school from 1936 to 1938. His productions of Dick Whittington in 1937 and Cinderella in 1938 are still remembered by some! He was a member of the Wubin Football Club 1936-38. His wife, Elsie Lillian Ethel, ran tearooms and a hostel. The couple had three children - Iris, Freda and Geoffrey Harry Barrett. North Eastern Districts Courier 29.7.1938 refers to Miss Iris Field’s Hostel at Wubin. Eric transferred to Kelmscott in 1938. Their son Geoff was a private in the 2/16 Battalion of the Australian Infantry during WW2 and was killed in New Guinea on the 9.12.1942. He was just 18. His name is inscribed on the Wubin sports ground gate. Geoffrey was buried in the Bomana (Port Moresby) War Cemetery in Grave B6. F.6
Memorial Gates at the Wubin Sportsground Commerating local residents who gave their lives during WWI and WWII. >
Name of Geoff Field is listed third from the top.
FIMISTER, Jack Arthur
Jack b.l 1.10.1901 in Kalgoorlie was the son of J.W.Fimister. He married Ruth Mary JOHNSON b. 11.8.1904 at Claremont, in St. John's Church Fremantle on 12.10.1936. The couple moved to Wubin in 1936 where Jack had purchased a property adjoining the townsite, near to land owned by his brother Norman. The brothers traded as Fimister Bros. They grew wheat, oats and barley and also kept sheep for wool. Jack and Ruth had three children: - Marie Jeanette (SIMPSON) b.l. 1.1940, John William b.l 1.5.1941 and Robin Ruth (BISHOP) b. 14.4.1944, and they all attended the Wubin state school. Jack was a member of the Dalwallinu Road Board in 1946-47. Jack and his family left Wubin in 1951 and purchased a property at Kojonup. Jack died in Fremantle Hospital on 20.3.1985 and is buried in Karrakatta Cemetery. Ruth died in July 1999, aged 94.
Norman and Jack Fimister alongside a harvester >
FIMISTER, John William
John b. 1867 at Malsbury, Victoria and came to Kalgoorlie in the late 1800s. He married Marie Eliza CONQUEST, also from Victoria, at Albany in 1898. The couple had five children, sons Jack and Norman, and daughters Jeanne, Roma and Marie. John was mayor of Kalgoorlie from 1899 to 1901. Marie whilst Mayoress was active in the cause of Federation. She devoted considerable time to Social Service work and was Hon. Secretary/Treasurer for the Goldfields Fresh Air League which organized children’s holidays in Bunbury and Albany.
Marie was a volunteer for the Child Welfare Department with a special interest in the foster home scheme making visits in a horse and buggy. She was one of the first JP’s in Western Australia and also sat on the Children’s Court in Kalgoorlie. John came to Wubin in 1927 and died in Dalwallinu Hospital 1.7.1931, aged 64 and Marie died at Geraldton on 16.8.1945 and both are buried at Karrakatta
Marie Fimister with one of her sons >
FIMISTER, Norman Robert
Norman b. 16.8.1909 in Kalgoorlie, he was the son of J.W.Fimister and brother to Jack. Norman left Kalgoorlie in 1923 and attended Narrogin Agricultural College before joining his father in 1927 to farm in Wubin. He married Edith Esme HODGSON of Pithara at St. Mary’s church, Colin St. West Perth on 26.1.1938 and the couple had two daughters: Margaret Elizabeth (KINNANE) b.28.6.1940 and Judith Ann (STEVENTON) b.9.8.1942. The family lived at Fimiston Park, Wubin until 1961 when they moved to Perth. Norman died at the Bethesda Hospital, Claremont on 2.9.1995 and is buried in Karrakatta.
John Fimister with son Norman >
Photo taken prior to 1931
FITZSIMONS, William Thomas (Bill)
Bill b. 1894 in Eire. He enlisted in the British Army and in 1914-18 saw military service in Egypt an&France, where he was wounded. He arrived at Fremantle mid January 1923 on P.O. ship “Ballarat” and with him was R.D.C. Blake. They first went to Kulin to do some clearing.
They then came to Jibberding to work for the Wasley brothers. After two years Blake returned to Perth. Bill continued working for Wasley’s until 1928-29 when he bought a 2,000 acre block for five hundred pounds at East Buntine and went farming on his own. In January 1930 he married Gladys WASLEY who had come to the Jibberding farm to housekeep for her brothers, Bert and Arthur. They had two children Jean (SYME) b.24.11.1932 and Arthur b.4.3.1935. Bill died in Perth on the 16.8.1984 and Gladys on the 8.7.1988. Their ashes are in the Memorial Wall at the Dalwallinu Cemetery.
Bill and Glad Fitzsimons >
Bob worked around the district, possibly on Draffin’s. He was a member of Jibberding Tennis Club in 1932.
Jock was land clearing about 1922-26, working in the East Wubin area. He played cricket for Wubin in the 1929-30 season.
Claude was the son of Rabbi D. Freedman and was an itinerant dentist visiting the Wubin district many times up until 1935.
Jack was a trainee station master under Mr. Yates, the first station master at Wubin.
Harry was a farm worker around Wubin. He played pennant tennis for Wubin 1932/33 and was also a member of the Wubin Football Club 1933.
FURLONG, William Patrick (Paddy)
Paddy worked on the Collins’ farm. He is one of only three people buried in the Wubin Cemetery. He died on the 23.6.1923 age 46 at Mr. Liebe’s farm. According to his death certificate he was bom around 1876 in Fremantle, the son of Richard and Margaret Mary Furlong (LINDEN). His father was said to have been an ex Police Sergeant.
GARDINER, Evanhugh Thomas
Evanhugh b. 7.4.1883 in Busselton and married Emma WRIGHT on 31.5.1920 at the Perth Registry Office. Emma was b. 13.6.1884 in Melbourne, Victoria. They arrived in the Wubin district around 1922-23 after previously living in Broome and Bruce Rock. They had two children: John Evanhugh b.28.8.1923 and Joy Elsie (BOWRA) b.25.6.1925. Evanhugh’s farm was closer to Nugadong than Wubin. It was a soldier settlement property he was granted after serving in the 32nd Battalion A.I.F. and the 10th Light Horse from 9.12.1914 to 23.3.1919. He served in Gallipoli, Egypt and France. He received a full war pension because he was wounded several times and gassed, all of which contributed to his poor health in later life. Evanhugh worked his property with the help of Fred Bullock. In 1933, bad health forced him to retire from the farm, and a later heart attack meant he was only able to do light duties for the rest of his life. The farm was reclaimed by the bank.
Despite all this, he served from October 1939 to September 1944 in the 10th Garrison during WW2. The Gardiner family left the area around 1933 and moved to Perth. Evanhugh died on 22.4.1965 and Emma on 31.3.1967. Both are buried at Karrakatta. Joy wrote of her memories of her home.... “summer time water was always in short supply. We had a rainwater tank for drinking but had to cart water for stock. My mother was a typical farmer’s wife, she made our own soap in a copper over an open fire outside. This is where she boiled the clothes and sheets on wash day.” Joy and her brother attended Miamoon School. Joy remembers..’’The one room schoolhouse had long forms (tables) across the length of the room with long stools to match, to sit on. Each form was for a different grade and one teacher taught us all. There was a fired up pot belly stove in winter and always a big jug of hot cocoa waiting for us at play time.” Joy was living in Perth when this information given.
J.T. Glowery was the owner of the Glowery Estate, which lies west and south west an average distance of seven miles from Wubin. At this time, he was also the owner of the Palace Hotel in St. George’s terrace, Perth and Majestic Hotel in South Perth. He did not farm the area himself, but installed a succession of managers to oversee the property. Later the land was sub-divided and sold off. From Mrs Klein’s diary Mr Liebe showed Mr Glowery and a Mr Crawford land around Wubin. In 1910 a Mr Vickers is mentioned as the manager of Glowery’s farm. The first Wubin Siding school was held in Glowery’s building in 1919-20. Report July 30 1926 North Eastern Courier states - Soldier Settlement purchase of Glowery Estate, a partly improved property in 1922 @ 25 shillings an acre. The property was 18,000 acres, mainly used for sheep raising, with only 300-400 acres cleared. It was subdivided into ten holdings of between 1,500 and 2,000 acres each. In 1923 500 acres were cropped and 1927 expected 5,000 acres to be cropped.
Glowery Estate Map in the early days >
GREEN, C. B. (Bert)
Bert was a storekeeper during World War 1 and signed a letter in December 1917 requesting the establishment of a school. Daughter Mavis O’MEARA states in a letter that Bert’s brother John Green was at Payne’s Find Store and Hotel.
“Bunny “ was a boundary rider along the number 2 rabbit proof fence.
HALLMAN, Carl Gustav (Gus)
Gus b.25.5.1887, the son of Wilhelmina Hedstrom, the second wife of Albert Carlshausen. Family tradition says that his father was a prince in the Royal House of Sweden. It is not known when he arrived in Australia but it is thought it was sometime in the early 1920s. He married Marjorie Ellen OTTAWAY b. 5.7.1906 in Broome, at the Wesley Church, Perth on the 24.12. 1936. The couple had two children: Maria Ellen Augusta b. 6.3.1938 and Maxwell Peter Livingstone b. 7.6.1939. Gus lived on the Carlshausen’s Jibberding property in the 1920s and worked on the mail run between Wubin and Paynes Find. This was later taken over by the partnership of Fred Ayres and Frank Buck. Sometime before 1939, Gus bought two International trucks to cart wool from outlying stations. They were both destroyed by fire somewhere on the run. Ninghan station then had to reintroduce camel trains to cart the wool, which took 14 days to complete the trip to Wubin. In 1939 the Hallman family moved to Paynes Find where Gus worked as a truck driver, miner, and in the Paynes Find butcher, grocery store and hotel. In 1946, they moved back to Wubin where Gus managed the Wubin Hotel. He became ill in 1949 and was in Woorooloo Sanatorium until his death in 1953. His wife and daughters moved to Perth and Marjorie died in 1968 at Perth.
Camel train carting wool into Wubin rail
HAMLING, Edgar Harold
Edgar b. 1904 in Perth was the eldest son of Harold and Jessie. He married Constance BARRETT in 1928. Their son Noel died in Perth aged two in 1931 after swallowing a small piece of wood, which perforated his stomach. Edgar farmed in Wubin and was secretary of Wubin/Buntine Tennis Association and played Pennant Tennis for Wubin in 1932/33. He was an active supporter of the Wubin Football Club from 1929 to 1933. Edgar died 1982 in Perth and Constance in 1993.
HAMLING, Harold Edward (Ted)
Ted married Jessie Isabella SUTHERLAND in Perth in 1903. They had four children, Edgar Harold, Hazel, Eileen and Lancelot (Bill). Misses H and E Hamling played pennant tennis for Wubin 1932/33. Mr L Hamling was a member of the Wubin Football Club in 1932 to 1936. Ted was listed in the Wubin Post Office Directory as a farmer from 1923 to 1937. He died in Perth in 1952 aged 73 years.
Charlie was a cousin of Ralph Harris, and lived with the Alf Harris family, at Dalwallinu, until he bought a farm at Nugadong He married Thelma PEARSON and they had two sons - Ken and Don. Charlie was a member of Wubin Country Week Tennis Team 1935 and 1937. In the 1950’s he sold to Jackson’s and farmed new land at Badgingarra. Charlie lived for many years in Perth before his death and Thelma died in Geraldton.
HARRIS, Ernest Ralph Cooper (Ralph)
Ralph b. 4.5.1903 in Perth and attended Perth Boys School until moving to the Dalwallinu district, Christmas 1910 to be with his parents Alfred and Catherine. He attended the first Dalwallinu primary school and then went on to Narrogin Agricultural College. Ralph’s first property was at Pithara and in 1926 he sold it and bought the property just west of Wubin known as "Iunstun". meaning Iron Stone, and farmed it for 69 years until his death. On 10.10.1934, he married J.A. (Alma) RAYNER, b.25.3.1914 in Perth and when she was two weeks old was taken home by train to Watheroo and then by horse and cart to Dalwallinu. The couple had six children: -Janice (RAYMOND); Arthur, Joan (GOSBELL); twins Pat (ARNOLD) and Pam (KIDD) and Barry. The farm was a typical wheat and sheep farm and in later years Ralph ran a successful Suffolk Sheep Stud. He used horses for many years and his first tractor was a steel wheeled Case, purchased about 1936. He was one of the first farmers to cart his wheat to Nugadong Siding, the second bulk wheat bin to be erected in the district. Ralph and Alma were active supporters of the Congregational Church and in later years helped to establish the Church of Christ at Wubin and Dalwallinu. He played social tennis at the old tennis courts on the comer of Great Northern Highway and Woodhouse Streets Wubin and the current tennis courts in Wubin. The family also had a court at “Iunstun”. Alma was an active gardener, a member of the Wubin C.W.A. and Wubin P & C. Her house always had an open door and her hospitality is well remembered by many. She also worked on the farm, helping Ralph, especially with the sheep work. Ralph died on 4.11.1995 and is buried in Dalwallinu. Alma moved to live in Como in 1996 after 80 years in the Dalwallinu/Wubin area.
Alma and Ralph Harris with daughter Pam >
James married Doris HILL from Bunbury in 1924 in Perth. They had ten children. Jim 1925, Doris (WARD) 1927, AJlan 1930, Mavis (BARNES) 1932, Jean (COMERY, OSBOURNE) 1933, Neville 1934, Ron 1936, Les 1938, Keith 1940, Hazel 1941 (infant death), and John 1943. After their marriage James and his wife worked in the wheatbelt and came to the district in the late 1920’s. They lived in an old tin house on Moran’s opposite Jibberding Hall. In the late 1930’s James carted wheat for several farmers including Reudaveys, in a blue dodge truck. In the early war years James was involved in charcoal burning. This was to supply fuel for the charcoal burning gas vehicles. They went farming at West Wubin around 1945. Doris died 10.6.1946 aged 41. James died 5.1.1975 aged 72.
HAZLETT, William John Dripps
Bill b. 30.5.1869 in Fryerstown, Victoria, and he moved to Walgett NSW. when he was fifteen. It is not known when he arrived in WA, but in 1895 he was at the WA mining camp at Black Flag. In 1905 at Kalgoorlie, he married Hannah HIGGON b 13.5.1883 in Port Augusta SA. In 1907, they were living in Highbury, Perth; 1911 at Wilga near Collie, and lived for a time in Bunbury where he was a member of the Municipal Council. They also spent some time in Narrogin where Bill was on the Progress Association. After first working on Oscar Butcher's farm at Courtlea, south of Dalwallinu they moved to the Wubin area. W J Hazlett was one of the signatures on a letter to the Education Department requesting the establishment of a school at Wubin 31.12. 1917. Bill worked on Dr. Dermer’s farm at West Wubin for a couple of years, possibly as farm manager, and then left around 1922 to take up his own block at Xantippe, when that area was first opened up for selection.
Gertie, James and Doris Harris, 1924 wedding photo >
William and Hannah had three children: Hannah (SAWYER) b.27.4.1906; David John b.29.6.1907; and William Thomas b. 16.5.1909. The children stayed for sometime with their Granny Higgon to go to school in Bunbury and Victoria Park. Bill suffered a lot of ill health due to an internal injury received whilst fighting a fire in the district and died in Dalwallinu on 20.8.1931. Hannah died in Rockingham on 1.5.1952; both are buried in Dalwallinu. Their son William Thomas who carried on working the farm died on 17.7.1965 and is also buried in Dalwallinu.
Hannah and Bill Hazlett with children David, Hannah and William 1917 HEATH William (Bill) >
Bill is listed in the Post Office directories of 1914 to 39, and took up land between Wasley Road and the Rabbit Proof Fence. He married Dorothy (Dolly) ROBERTS. Bill was a member of the Jibberding Farmers Union and his wife a member of Jibberding C.W.A. Both Bill and his wife were small in stature. They sold their farm to Vic Bailey and left the district about 1950.
Harry was a workman on Klein’s farm.
HOCKING, Mary Ann
Mary Ann TREGONNING b. 17.6.1837 in Gwennap, Cornwall, England. She married Richard Hocking 1868 in Ballarat, Victoria.and they had seven children. Their fourth child Lilian Jane (WASLEY) came to Western Australia in 1897. Mary and youngest child Cerceda Grace (REUDAVEY) arrived in Fremantle on ship “Marloo” 7.3.1898. A regular visitor to Jibberding she had a self-contained dwelling close to the Henry Reudavey’s homestead. Her name was included along with Wemer Baumbergen, John and Albert Day, George and Alma Derrick, Cerceda and Henry Reudavey and Mary Jane Richards on an Intelligence Report 1917, of people investigated for allegations of disloyalty by Constable Robertson of Buntine. Mary died 5.8.1925 at Mount Lawley.
Mary Ann Hocking >
Tom b.8.6.1892 at Egton, Yorkshire, England. He was granted a block under the Soldier Settler’s Scheme in 1922 next to Cyril Jenner. Tom married Gwen WRIGHT b.1897 on 8.10.1924. Their children were Phyllis (GIBSON) b. 18.7.1928 and Thomas Edward (Ted) b. 2.7.1931. Thomas died at Dalwallinu on 23.8.1982 and his ashes were scattered on the site of the “36 Well”.
Site of “36 Well” where Thomas Hodgson ashes were scattered >
Harold was a garage proprietor on the highway in Wubin. He had the General Motors Agency (Chevrolet) and later Holden, and sold one of the first Holden cars to Chris Seton. He was keen on cricket and played as the wicket keeper from 1930 to 1938. Harold had a son Dudley and a daughter Shirley. Dudley, who married Evie BIRCH was also a good cricketer. In April 1933 Mr and Mrs Hollard and Shirley, drove the family car to Adelaide in 6 1/2 days without a single puncture. Both Dudley and Shirley played in the Wubin Pennant Tennis Team in 1932/33 and Shirley was a member of the Wubin Country Week Tennis Team 1935.
Richard was a land clearing contractor around Jibberding in the second decade of the 1900’s.
HONNER, Clement Wilfred
Clem was third son of Richard and Eleanor Honnor. He married Rita Amalia (Topsy) KLEIN in 1930. They had five children;- Rita Eleanor (QUARTERMAINE) b.1931, Maureen Elizabeth (COPPENS) b. 1933, Aileen Mary (CROFTS) b. 1935, Carmel Laurentia (DYBALL) b. 1936 and John McMahon b.1938. All were bom in the Dalwallinu Hospital. Clem farmed the Rabbit Proof fence property “Honnerview” from 1934 until 1945, when the family moved to Narrogin, however he lived on the home farm at Nugadong. Clem was a member of the Dalwallinu Road Board. 1937-38. Rita died in Narrogin on 30.12.1993 and was laid to rest at Karrakatta Cemetery.
Clem Honner family >
HONNER, Richard John
Richard b.9.9.1866 in South Australia and came to Esperance Western Australia in the 1890’s. He married Eleanor Iris McMAHON b.24.5.1866 , of County Cavan , Ireland at Fremantle in 1900. The couple had five sons and a daughter, Corentin (Corrie) b. 12.2.1901, Richard (Dick) b.17.4.1903, Ralph b.17.8.1904, Clement (Clem) b.2.10.1905, Forrest (Forrie) b. 12.12.1906 and Mary b.22.6.1909. Richard came to the Dalwallinu district in its very early days as a Police Constable. He purchased land in the Wubin area in 1911 but did not settle there permanently until 1922 when he retired from the Police Force. The property was named “Cheltenham Park” and was near Nugadong, south of Wubin. Richard was a member of the Dalwallinu Road Board 1927-30.
Ralph won a scholarship to school in Perth and had a distinguished military career. Corrie and Dick both won scholarships to Narrogin farm school but neither went farming on their own. Richard’s son Clem took over the property in 1934 and Richard left the district in 1938. He died in Narrogin on the 19.6.1960 and Eleanor died in Subiaco on the 13.5.1965. Both are buried in Karrakatta Cemetery.
HONNER, Forrest (Forrie)
Forrie was the youngest son of Richard and Eleanor Honner. He married Kathleen BARRETT in 1927. They had a daughter Lynette b.1927. Clem’s daughter, Rita Quartemaine, wrote ..’’In 1928, Forrie’s wife Kathy was expecting their first child. At this time, they lived out on the rabbit proof fence, Honnerview, 20 miles from Dalwallinu. When Kathy went into labour, Forrie drove to his parents house and asked them to send Dr. Anderson from Dalwallinu, he then went on to Buntine to fetch Kathy’s mother. By the time the doctor reached the property, Kathy’s baby was bom. One can only imagine the fear that Kathy must have felt, being all alone in such an isolated place, as she gave birth”. He played cricket for Wubin in the mid twenties. Forrie died on 21.5.1963.
William came from Victoria seeking work, resulting in him building sheds around the district, including Reudavey’s at Jibberding and Dinnie’s at Buntine. He was at a picnic at Jibberding Tennis court when he was knocked over by some children and broke his hip. He never fully recovered and died in Dalwallinu hospital on 9.10.1928. Although reportedly a bachelor it was later found he had a wife and ten children in the Eastern States!
Shed built by Bill Howdon on the original Reudavey farm >
Andy, b. 26.2.1902 in Muchart, Scotland, was the eldest son of Robert and Mary Howie. He owned a farm in West Wubin before he returned to his parents Jibberding property to work with his brother Bob and the Ayrshire Cattle Stud. He served in the armed forces during WW2. In the late 1970’s Andy moved to Sullivan Lodge Dalwallinu. Andy died on the 7.4.1988 and is buried in Dalwallinu. Andy’s photo was on the front page of the West Australian on 26.9.1963 distributing milk to the children from the early morning milking at the Royal Perth Show.
Andy and Bob Howie with part of their Ayrshire Herd >
Annie b. 21.10.1902 in Scotland was the fourth daughter of Robert and Mary Howie. She became a schoolteacher and worked in Buntine 1923-25. Her salary was 180 pounds to 222 pounds per annum. She died on the 15.1.1926 aged 23 years and is buried in Dalwallinu.
Duncan b. 19.4.1904 in Scotland was the second son of Robert and Mary Howie. He received his primary education in a local country school and went on to secondary education, first in Northam High School and then in Bunbury High School. From there he went to teachers college in Perth and then onto the University of Western Australia where he received a BA and an MA. He taught in West Australian schools from 1923 - 1933 and then moved to London for research in Psychology for the degree of Doctor of Philosophy. Duncan began his University teaching career in 1938 at the University of New England, Armidale, NSW. and remained there for the rest of his working life. He became Foundation Professor of Psychology 1964 and Deputy Vice-Chancellor and also an Emeritus Professor, retiring in 1969. Despite living so far away, he loved to spend time with his family in Jibberding whenever he could. Duncan died on the 28.9.1975 and is buried in Armidale, NSW.
HOWIE, Janet. (Jenny)
Jenny b.27.10.1897 in Scotland the third daughter of Robert and Mary Howie. She worked briefly in Perth before returning to the farm where she worked very hard, especially during the war when her brothers were in the army. Jenny cared for her parents until their deaths and then kept house for her brothers Andy and Bob. Jenny died 1.1.1971 and is buried in Dalwallinu.
HOWIE, Maggie Mclntye
Maggie b. 11.5.1896 in Dollar, Scotland was the eldest child of Robert and Mary Howie. She left the farm to work in Perth. Maggie died 31.7.1987 at Swan Cottage Homes and is buried in Dalwallinu.
Mary b. 25.5.1897 in Scotland was the second child of Robert and Mary Howie. She married Jim ARTHUR of Wubin. Mary died on the 2.6. 1979 and is buried in Dalwallinu.
Robert b. c. 1866 in Scotland, and married Mary JOHNSTON in Dumbarton, Scotland on 19.4.1895. The couple had seven children, all bom in Scotland. Maggie, Mary, Janet, Andrew (Andy), Annie, Duncan, and Robert (Bob), The whole family came out from Scotland on the S.S. Orontes, which left from London, arriving 14.1.1910. The family lived in Beverley, Brunswick Junction and on the Peel Estate before moving to West Wubin, where Robert managed a farm owned by Mr. H.H. Parker. They later moved to their own property “Middleton Farm” at Jibberding near the Rabbit proof fence around 1923, where Robert and Mary worked and lived until their deaths. Robert died on the 26.10.1943 aged 75 and Mary on the 22.5.1945 aged 79.Both are buried in Dalwallinu.
Howie family 1925 >
Back row: Robert, Andrew, Duncan, Robert Snr
Front row: Maggie, Mary, Annie, Jenny, Mary Snr
HOWIE, Robert Jnr (Bob)
Bob, b. 6.6.1908 in Scotland, was the third son and youngest child of Robert and Mary.
He farmed on his parents' Jibberding property, “Middleton Farm” and after their deaths ran an Ayrshire Cattle Stud with his brother Andrew, achieving considerable success at many Perth Royal Shows. He also served in the army during WW2. Bob died on the 3.1.1974 in Wongan Hills hospital, after suffering a heart attack while on the tractor harvesting and is buried in Dalwallinu.
HUGHAN, Jean B.
Jean was a teacher at West Wubin/Miamoon School from October 1929 to 1931. She started on a salary of 180 pounds per year and was earning 220 pounds per year by the time she left. Jean boarded with Gladys Sanders. Jean’s married name was CAIRNS.
JAESCHKE, Paul Edwin Herbert (Bert)
Bert b. 1897 in Perth and arrived in Dalwallinu in 1928 with his wife Hilda Margaret b.3.12.1894. They had three sons - twins Colin Frederick and Raymond b. 19.8.1920 and George. He bought a farm 22 miles west of Wubin in 1930 and although still working in Dalwallinu for a telephone company he traveled out to the farm every weekend until 1934. Bert and his wife returned to Perth in 1950 and his son Colin continued to run the property until 1973. Bert died in Perth on 14.2.1965 and Hilda died on the 5.4.1981.
Tom arrived in the district in 1926 with his sister Rita and mother Mrs. Kathleen James (nee QUILL) a widow, who married Jim Ellison. He remembers that Wubin Siding consisted of only a goods shed and a waiting room. Tom used the surname Ellison while at Wubin school and his teacher there was Sheila Travers. On joining the army, Tom reverted to the surname of James. In 2004 he was living in Tarcoola Geraldton.
Rita James >
Mr Jarrett had the garage on the south end of the Great Northern Highway in the late 1920’s. The garage was at one stage a hall at Field’s Find near Paynes Find and then later moved to Wubin. Part of the hall became the living quarters. Hollard’s took over the garage from Mr Jarrett.
William was thought to have been a German Remittance man, who gave little away about his early life. Locals thought he may have had a military background. He was in charge of the pigs at the Wubin slaughter yards, and lived in a tent down by the railway line and later in a hut. He was usually referred to as “Old Jelly”. He was burnt to death in 1937 after falling into his own campfire.
JENNER, Arthur Cyril
Cyril b. 1889 in Birmingham, England and arrived in Fremantle 8.5.1911 on the Australind, his occupation being given as “agriculture”. He first took up a block of land inNarrogin, clearing it with an axe. After serving with the Army in World War 1, he went to Bolgart and in 1922 along with his wartime friend Thomas Hodgson, he was granted a block on the old Glowery estate.
They lived in a bag humpy at the 36 well while they cleared and developed their land. The well of course became their water supply. Cyril’s property was known as “Shirley”. Cyril married Hilda Rose HUGHES, an English girl, in Perth in 1934. The couple had two children, Margaret Rose (Peggy) (HODGSON) b. 9.3.1935 and Loma Elsie (LEEMING) 23.9.1936. Both children attended school in Dalwallinu, going to boarding school in Perth at a young age. Hilda died in 1938 and is buried in Perth. Cyril moved to Southern Brook, Northam and then to Perth. He died in 1981 and is buried in Perth.
Jack was a well sinker in the district with Joe White.
JONES, Arthur E.
Arthur had once been a drummer boy in the Indian Army and came out to Australia to work on the East-West railway line, in 1912. He met his Welsh wife Cathy at Marvel Loch where she was a waitress. Cathy became the railway line camp cook. They had one child, Arthur Reginald Cattin Jones. When he was very small, Cathy would tie him to the clothesline with a dog chain so he couldn’t wander off into the bush. The family went to Canada in 1917 where Arthur again worked on the railways before returning to Wubin around 1925, taking up Victoria locations 8665, 9482 and 8618 at West Wubin. The property is owned by Graham Pearse in 2004. Cathy was always a friendly and hospitable person and often prepared a meal for Dave Mottolini, a local worker, which she would take over to his tent. Cathy drowned whilst the family were away on a holiday. Arthur died a few years later, from appendicitis.
Cyril Jenner and Tom Hodgson at Blackboy Camp in 1914 >
Harold had a wife Dot and a son Brian. A local shearer, Harold was a member of the Wubin Football Club in 1933-34. They lived at the back of Birch’s store in the late 1940’s. After his wife and son left the district Harold moved to a small house in Woodhouse Street until his death. He kept shearing to an advanced age.
JONES, H.W. (Nugget)
Nugget lived in Wubin around the 1920’s and worked locally, boarding at the “Ritz” on the Highway. North Eastern Courier of September 1934 stated Mr H.W. (Nugget) Jones was involved in an accident and was an inmate of Dalwallinu Hospital.
JONES, William (Bill)
William b.8.8.1888 in Victoria. In 1903 he came to Western Australia and worked as a wharfie at Fremantle for a year and then became a miner at Kalgoorlie. He was also at one time a professional boxer, fighting under the name of Bill Smith to keep his identity a secret from his mother. In 1911 whilst working underground Bill was in the cage going down the mine shaft, when the engine driver got an emergency call to lower the cage to the bottom and bring up some injured miners. He apparently forgot Bill was in the cage and let it fall to the bottom unchecked. Bill suffered very serious injuries to his legs and ankles and spent 18 months in hospital. After his recovery he was a tram driver between Kalgoorlie and Boulder. In 1917 he became a policeman, but resigned after an altercation with a police inspector and in 1918 went farming at West Wubin taking up 1840 acres of virgin bush Nugadong AA locations 4900 and 4901. Bill loved horses and he used Clydesdales on the farm where they proved their worth over the ensuing years. The local paper of the 7.3.1931 gives a report of W. Jones playing cricked for Miamoon against Dalwallinu.
Evelyn Olive Becke at the time of her engagement - 1913 >
Whilst in hospital in Kalgoorlie Bill met his future wife, a nurse Evelyn Olive BECKE b. 1888 NSW, and they married on 12.3.1914 in Kalgoorlie. They had three children, Thelma Christine (see BOCQUET) b 19.9.1915 at Boulder, Hazel b 3.12.1920, d 1976 at Albany (had two children Eveline COLEMAN and Garry GAWNED) and Rictor William b 13.8.1926. After the farm was sold Rictor became a policeman for several years and then a shearer. He married Valerie NELSON in 1950 and they had four children. Evelyn died on the 28.3.1942 and Bill on 10.1.1947 and both are buried in Karrakatta. As Bill did not leave a will the farm was sold after his death.
William Jones 1912 >
Jock came Scotland and worked for Toeslands at Jibberding. He was at the meeting to reform Jibberding Tennis Club in May 1931. He played the violin and taught Alan Reudavey to play, having sold him an old violin..
Albert, born 4 June 1891 in Victoria, was the younger son of Josef and Augusta. He came to the Wubin district in 1908 with his brother Wilhelm and worked on the properties owned by Wilhelm and Gus Liebe. In 1925 Albert left Wubin to live in Perth. He died on 18.8.1951 and is buried in Dalwallinu. His grave is one of those referred to in the book Five Graves at Dalwallinu.
Watch presented to Albert Klein on his departure from Wubin >
KLEIN, Edna Leichen
Edna born 25 June 1907 was the eldest child of Wilhelm and Emily Elizabeth Klein. She moved to Wubin in 1908 with her family and was said to be the first white child in the district. The nearest playmates were the Reudavey children 10 miles away and Edna and her sister loved to visit them, travelling by horse and sulky. Edna was sent to St. Gertrude's boarding school at New Norcia in 1916 at the age of nine. Edna remembers the picnics and parties which took place with friends from Dalwallinu. Around 1911 surveyors were in the district surveying the railway line.
The surveyors, a Mr. Anketell, Mr. Matheson and Mr. Cornish were staying the Glowery Estate, with their team of camels, having travelled overland from Geraldton. They learned that there was to be a picnic on the Klein’s property, with people coming out from Dalwallinu, so surveyors, camels and all joined in. The picnic lasted for three days, the highlight being camel rides.
Edna also remembers the terrible drought of 1914, only 4.5 inches of rain falling during the year. Grass and hay were scarce, and as horses were used on all the properties, this was serious indeed. Trips to Perth were made by travelling the 45 miles to Gunyidi and catching the train. If anyone wanted to catch the night train, a small fire was laid in the middle of the tracks, to signify to the driver to stop. In 1915, the new government railway went through Wubin. At first, it only carried goods, later passengers were taken on. Edna remembers dingoes attacking the sheep on the property and being sent out to trap and shoot them. After working on the home property as a farm hand Edna moved to Perth in 1931 and later to Victoria where she met and married her husband, Thomas Raymond CHAPMAN in 1944. A widow, Edna was living in Nedlands 2002.
Edna Klein driving tractor and sister Rita alongside, 1924 >
KLEIN, Rita Amalia
Rita born 28 November 1909 was the second child of Wilhelm and Elizabeth Klein. Born in Perth and introduced to the harshness of life in Wubin when three weeks old. In 1917 at just 8 years of age, she was sent to St. Gertrude's boarding school, New Norcia, with her sister.
Rita became engaged to a local man, Clement Wilfred HONNER of Nugadong, on her 18th birthday. The party was catered for by Boans of Perth, the food being sent up by train. Boans again did the catering when Clem and Rita were married on the 5.2.1930 at the Klein's home.
Apparently the wedding cake was left off the train and Boans sent two men in a car to Wubin to deliver it. The two men then stayed the night joining in the festivities. Rita and Clem had five children: - Rita Eleanor (QUARTERMAINE) b. 1931; Maureen Elizabeth (COPPENS) b. 1933; Aileen Mary (CROFTS) b. 1935; Carmel Laurentia (DYBALL) b. 1936 and John McMahon in 1938. All were born at Dalwallinu hospital. The family lived in Nugadong until 1945, when they moved to Narrogin. Rita died in Narrogin on 30.12.1993, and was laid to rest at Karrakatta Cemetery.
KLEIN, Wilhelm Nicol
Wilhelm was born 26 March 1885 to Josef and Augusta Klein in Sofia, Bulgaria. His parents were German and were in Sofia where Josef was undertaking important building contracts, but the threat of tuberculosis meant that he was advised to live in a warmer and drier climate. The family originally arrived in Port Adelaide on the ship Salier when Wilhelm was only three months old, moving to Melbourne nine months later and living in St. Kilda for a time. Six years later they moved again, this time to WA. The climate improved Josef's health so much, the family took a holiday in Germany, but his health declined suddenly on the return journey and he died on board ship. Augusta's health too was declining and after her death the children became wards of a close friend, Wilhelm Friederich Gustav Liebe, another well-known builder with whom Josef had been in partnership in both Bulgaria and Australia. The two younger children, Albert and Hedwig were boarded in Fremantle with Mrs Carlshausen whilst Wilhelm stayed with Liebe, and began to train as a wood carver. Some of his work can be seen in the Peninsula Hotel, Maylands.
Wilhelm married Emily Elizabeth SHERLOCK (b. 10.4.1886 Ringwood, Victoria) 14.1.1907 in Perth. Elizabeth (Emily) was the fourth of eight children and at the age of 3 until school age she was brought up by her grandmother Mrs Emela Parker. She moved to Western Australia with her family aboard the S.S. Sydney in 1903. The Sherlock family lived in Zebina Street, East Perth. The following year Elizabeth started work at the New Zealand Wool Co. in Hay St. Perth where she worked as a tailoress until her marriage.
Wilhelm and Elizabeth lived at 652 Hay Street Perth and had two children. Edna Leichen Chapman, b. 25.6.1907 and Rita Amalia Honner, b. 28.11.1909.
In 1907, Liebe became interested in farming and after purchasing land in the Wubin district the partnership of Liebe and Klein was formed, with Wilhelm and Albert Klein to establish the property. However shortly before Elizabeth and Edna were due to move to Wubin, Wilhelm wrote to his wife and Mr Liebe to say that he and Albert did not think they would like life out in the bush - because of the heat, flies and isolation. However, Mr Liebe and Elizabeth Klein both persuaded the Klein brothers to change their minds. When Elizabeth and Edna moved to live in the Wubin district in February 1909, they stayed with Mrs Arthur for a few weeks. Edna was carried to Wubin in a basket on the side of the horse. They first lived in a tent but later in 1909 they moved into a house built by a carpenter named Rupert Behrenbeck. It was 42 feet long with two large rooms covered by a canvas roof with a smaller room in the centre which had a very high iron roof. There was also a kitchen, washroom, sleepout and verandah. The window frames had previously been used in the Perth Town Hall. Mr Liebe had been overseeing the re-construction of that building and had removed some of the surplus old convict made windows which were then sent to Wubin. When Wilhelm and Elizabeth’s second child was due, Elizabeth travelled 44 miles to Gunyidi to catch a train to Perth for the birth of Rita in a Mount Lawley nursing home. The baby was three weeks old when Elizabeth returned to Wubin to continue her duties as mother to cook for six men and her husband and any others who happened to pass by on their way to Paynes Find. Her kitchen had an earth floor and a No. 1 Metters stove and all the washing was done in the open in a copper, over a fire. On windy days the copper could not be lit, in case the surrounding bush caught fire. In 1908 Wilhelm organized the sinking of the first well in Wubin district hiring a well sinker by the name of Shortland. This was only good enough for stock water. A Mr Butcher carted the timber for the well and also fenced block 48. The Kleins' own home had no water, instead it was carted from an old aboriginal soak about two miles away. The government requested Wilhelm to clean it out, so it could be used by travellers, and this he did. Later still, water tanks were fixed to the house roof to enable rainwater to be saved. Anti-German hostility at the beginning of 1914 saw Wilhelm interned, first on the Glowery estate near Wubin, and then on Rottnest Island, then released on bond 16 October 1915 with F.W. Liebe’s help. In May 1917, it was suggested that Wilhelm was a German sympathizer and he was charged at Northam under the War Precaution Act with having made statements likely to cause disaffection to His Majesty, or public alarm. Gustav Liebe's connections with important members of the Perth community soon proved the suggestions to be unfounded, after it was discovered that a policeman at Northam who had long disliked Wilhelm had deliberately made false reports about him. The same officer had also tried to blackmail both Klein and Liebe. The police officer was discharged in disgrace and Wilhelm released. In 1922 the property was flourishing so at a cost of twelve thousand pounds, Gustav Leibe built them a magnificent Mt Lawley style house. Wilhelm's application for naturalization was accepted 19 June 1923 after a few problems when the wartime accusations were reinvestigated. Wilhem's partnership with Liebe ceased around 1925 for reasons unknown, although they remained friends, and he continued to farm the land in his own right. Despite the closeness between the two men, Wilhelm was left out of Gustav Liebe's will although his brother and sister were beneficiaries. Wilhelm farmed his land until 1950 when he sold out to Albert Rayner. The couple moved to Perth where Wilhelm died 16 October 1963 and Elizabeth 9 May 1983, just one day short of her 97th birthday. Both are buried in Karrakatta.
Wilhelm and Elizabeth Klein in 1921 >
Chas was listed in the Post Office Directory Wubin 1917-20 as a farm manager. Proposed school pupil list of February 1918 show Ethel Kuhn aged nine and Caroline Kuhn aged four and a half years. Karrakatta records Charles Theodore Kuhn died 23.9.1961 aged 79 years, and Mrs Ethel Maud Kuhn died 30.2.1973 aged 82 years.
T. Lane was a baker at Wubin around 1933/34. His wife was Ruth and they had three children, Ruth, Tom and Peggy.
Dick lived at the Smith’s hostel in Wubin. Little is known of him, other than he owned a “Bean” car, which had a rounded front and was green!. He is thought to have been a painter by trade. He is listed in the Wubin footballers for 1935.
John lived near West Wubin in a small house built out of granite rock and mud. He is listed in the Post Office Directory for Miamoon from 1917-28.
H. Leaver started work on Ellison’s farm on the 7.5.1923. He played for the Wubin Football Club and was cleared to Quairading Football Club in 1929.
George farmed a property approximately 7 miles west of Wubin, NAA 4919 with his wife Adelaide. Daughter Addie (see ROBINSON) was a pupil at the Glowery Estate school in 1918 aged twelve years. Adelaide died 27.9.1964 and George died 26.7.1970 aged 90.
Mr and Mrs George Lee >
Lester was a teamster/carter on Draffen’s working for Jack Carter. He played cricket for Jibberding 1936-39.
Septimus worked on Jibberding Station.
LIEBE, Friederich Wilhelm Gustav (Gus)
Gus was born 18.1.1862 in Wittenberg, Prussia, the son of Edward Liebe and his wife Louisa (nee MATTHES). He worked as a carpenter’s apprentice after leaving school. On a Statutory Declaration he made in 1917 he stated that he left Germany in 1878 to escape the military laws and had never been back since. He first went to Switzerland and then to Vienna where he studied building at a technical school. He proved to be very good at his work, being responsible for the construction of the Budapest Opera House at the age of 21 and later the Bulgarian Parliament House in Sofia. For the latter project he worked with Joseph Klein as he did for the Hungarian military barracks, bridge and various colleges Joseph Klein decided to move to Australia for his health and Liebe joined him, even though his reputation as a first class builder was well established in the Balkans. They arrived in Adelaide on the ship Salier in 1885 but moved to Melbourne a year later, where Liebe worked on the construction of houses and the Newmarket Market. After moving to Perth in 1892 he finished his partnership with Klein and set up on his own. On the death of Joseph Klein, he undertook to look after the three Klein children. He was responsible for the building of houses in West Perth, the Old Art Gallery, Queens Hall, the Peninsula Hotel in Maylands, Brighton Hotel Cottesloe, various banks along St Georges Terrace and the Moora and Dowerin Hotels. He is most well known for the building of His Majesty’s Theatre, Hay St in 1904 for the cost of £46,000. In 1908, despite living all his life in cities he selected about 5,000 acres of land at Wubin, after having decided to become a wheat farmer. In the following years he purchased many more acres. His first priority was to find a good supply of water. He brought in an experienced well sinker, who, helped by Wilhelm Klein, sank an 86 foot well on the block of land known as 48. The water was good for stock but too salty for human consumption. He brought to farming the same dedication he had to building. He was very enthusiastic about the new mechanical aids to farming and once bought ten tractors at one time.
When anti-German hysteria hit the area in 1914, Liebe was the target of a blackmailer. He overcame this, and when other local German families were interned on the Glowery estate, he worked for their release. Gus had taken out Australian citizenship in 1901 and was very proud of being an Australian. In 1925, he purchased more land, this time at Waddi Forest. With crops planted at both Wubin and Waddi he achieved a world record of 106,00 bags of wheat harvested in one season. As well as farming, he was responsible for the construction of houses for himself and two of the now grown up Klein children. He lost a great deal of money in the Wall St crash and sold many of his houses and hotels to recoup. Even so, he then went on to invest in sheep farming, and by 1944 he had 23,000 sheep. The story of Gus Liebe’s life is told in the book Five Graves In Dalwallinu by Stan Gervas. Gus died 3.3.1950 and is buried in Dalwallinu Cemetery, the first of the Five Graves.
Friederich Wilhelm Gustav Liebe >
Was a book keeper for Birch’s Store; a member of the Wubin Football Club 1928 - 30 and Secretary in 1929. After he left Wubin he ran a store in Ballidu. North Eastern Courier of June 1930 recorded W. Lilley as the secretary of Wubin Progress Association. He played cricket for Wubin 1928-31
LITTLE, William (Bill)
Bill was an Aboriginal, and grew up on Yallalong Station. He shore in the Murchison, with a reputation as the cleanest shearer in the district. Later when shearing and farm labouring in the Wubin - Jibberding area he had a truck set up as living quarters. While at Reudavey’s, Bill taught Rod to shear. He worked for a period for Frank Treasure, and also for Winnie Vincent. He was noted for his very good carving of emu eggs. Bill died after being burnt in an accident on the Vincent farm in 1968.
LOCK, Edith Dorothea
Dorothea b. 5.5.1905 lived in Westonia as a child where her parents owned a business. She won a scholarship to Northam High School and then graduated from Claremont Teacher’s College in 1925 after a one-year training course. She then taught at Marybrook, Witchcliffe, Group 69 Kukerin and Damboring for a year each. She went onto Cherry Tree Pool for two years and Dwarda for two and a half years. All these were one-teacher schools. She became the teacher at Miamoon school from 1935-1937 when she exchanged jobs with Gertrude Thompson from the Latham school. She lodged at various times with the Bailey, Brown and Osborne families.
In a letter to the education department, she once threatened to leave her job if the school wasn’t moved from West Wubin to Miamoon. It was too far for her to walk and she confessed to being frightened of horses, so was not willing to ride or drive a cart. Once at Witchcliffe Dorothea had walked to the school through a forest. She got lost and didn’t arrive at the school until 1pm. As a result, she asked a forest worker to mark trees with an axe along the path to school, so she would not get lost again. She had to ride to school at Group 69, which was where she became afraid of horses. At Damboring she traveled by bicycle, but at Miamoon Dorothea purchased a car and drove herself to the school. Even when the school was moved it was not in good condition and Dorothea wrote the following letter to the education department. “3.7.1936. Miamoon School. I have to inform you that on wet days the above school is a cheerless and most uncomfortable place. On June 2nd, 18th and 25th when heavy rains occurred, rain streamed through holes in the porch roof and everything in the porch including children’s coats and sulky rugs became wet. At the same time on the days mentioned, rain on the western wall came through cracks in the weatherboard, spoiling charts and making pools on the floor. After stormy weather on the 18th inst. the stove became full of water, so that on the 19th inst. it was impossible to light a fire, although the day was unbearably cold the children and I were compelled to endure it. Other repairs needing immediate attention are a leaking tank, a badly fitted guttering pipe and a broken window catch. The door can neither be closed on the inside, nor securely fastened on the outside when opened”. Conditions did not improve much over the years. In 1944 the then teacher Miss Phyllis Farrell complained that a new water tank took over a year to arrive, that the boys toilet had no back wall or roof and that the stove was in such a dangerous condition she refused to be responsible for anything that might happen as a result of lighting it. In December 1937 she resigned from teaching and married Pithara farmer Stanley John Roach in 1938. The couple had three sons:- John, James and Noel (Frank). Stan died in 1990 and Dorothea in February 2000 at the age of 94. Both are buried in Dalwallinu Cemetery.
Dorothea Locke >
LOGAN, Leslie Arthur
Les b. 28.1.1908 married Rina, stepdaughter of the Wubin Station Master, Bill Yates. Les worked for the Schultz family. After leaving the district he became a member of the Legislative Council from 1947 to 1974 for the electorates of Central Province and Upper West. He was a Cabinet Minister from 1965 to 1971. Les died 15.12.2000.
Fin worked locally for Frank Treasure a local farmer.
LOWDEN, William (Bill)
Bill, a single man was the manager on Gus Liebe’s farm, and listed in Post Office Directory for Wubin 1932-37.
James came to WA in 1922 on a British R.S.L. scheme. He arrived in Jibberding with Ben Chisholm, Chris Seton and two or three others to do clearing work. The first clearing he did was south of Moran’s block, cutting trees down with an axe. In 1926 he settled on his own block at Buntine, on the rabbit proof fence. In 1930 Jim married Alice HARBURN, b.29.12.1899 in East Fremantle. She was a champion swimmer and won the swim through Perth when she was thirteen. They had three sons Ian, Neil and Graham. In the 1960’s when the remains of a cyclone past through and dumped 8 inches of rain, Jim and Alice were returning home from Dalwallinu on Wasley Road Jibberding, when they were swept off the road. They had to scramble out of the car window and sat on the car roof. It was four and a half hours before help arrived and Jack Reudavey waded out through the water with a rope tied around his chest to rescue them. Jim died in 1977 aged 78 and Alice continued to live on the farm with her son Graham for many years. Alice died in 1993 aged 93. Both are buried in Dalwallinu.
James and Alice MacPherson >
McCULLAGH, Terry (Tim)
It is not certain when Tim first came to Wubin but it is known that he had previously worked at Momington Mills. During the 1920’s, Tim worked as a contract mail driver in the Wubin district, traveling out to outlying stations in the Paynes Find area, such as Thunderlarra. He was a founder member of the Wubin-Dalwallinu Cricket Association, representing the first Wubin-Buntine Cricket Team in 1928 at Country Week Cricket, and a member of the Wubin Football Team in the late 1920’s. Tim moved to Ballidu in 1932, becoming the postmaster and a very active member of various sporting organizations.
Jim was a relative of Bill Draffin’s and Jack Carter’s, and worked on the Draffin farm at Jibberding from 1930 to 1946. His work consisted of fencing, working with sheep and other odd jobs, including the building of hay stacks, taking great pride in getting a neat finish to the stacks. After Jack Carter moved onto his own farm in 1945 Jim used to walk the mile from Draffin’s to Carter’s fairly often as he kept a bottle of whisky at Jack’s and would come for a few nips - he was inclined to drink all night if it was kept at his residence. Jim was night blind and wherever he went after sunset he carried a hurricane lantern. He spent his last days at The Home of Peace, Perth.
Jim owned land south-east of Wubin which was later purchased by Frank Treasure.
McGEE, Pat (Paddy)
Paddy was in the Wubin district working on Dr. Dermer’s property at the same time as Arthur Counsel. An Irishman, and according to the Post Office directory (1923-27) he was a poultry farmer. Some of the older present day Wubin residents remember him also keeping pigs. He had a reputation as being a good amateur vet, and would also do any odd jobs around the district. He took up Victoria Location 8877. Paddy used to make his own Poteen using water from his own hand dug dam, hiding his still near the dam. He may have been a remittance man, as he was said to receive money sent regularly from Ireland. The North Eastern Courier of 13.1.1935 mentions him as having a major operation at the Dalwallinu Hospital.
James owned land from Jibberding Dam down towards Jibberding Hall Road, at one time in partnership with Wasley’s and Reudavey’s, each having 1,160 acres. He was an occasional visitor to the farm as he had a painting and decorating business in Perth. The partnership stopped before WW1. James served in WW1 and afterwards came back to Jibberding to live. In 1921 he married Mrs Maud Mary WASLEY (nee RENFREE), who had two sons, Ernie and Albert. The boys attended Jibberding school using the surname Mclldowie, however upon leaving the district reverted to the surname Wasley. Ernie worked at Bairds in Perth. James and Maud had two sons, John and Robert, (who died in 1948 aged 23.) Both James and Maud died in 1948, James at 67 and Maud Mary at 64. They are buried in Karrakatta.
McKENZIE, Dave (Jock)
Jock arrived in the district about 1932 from Scotland and worked for Jack Day as a teamster on Toeslands farm. In 1937 he married a local girl, Marjorie REUDAVEY at Jibberding. Their children were Margaret Grace (BOULDEN) 1938, Heather June (SCOTT) 1940, Ross David 1942, James Eric 1944 and Colin Robert 1947.
Marj drove a light International truck, to take her younger siblings to school in Wubin and brought them home after school in the years 1927 to 1929. This was unable to continue in 1930s, as the purchase of fuel could not be made due to the depression. Jock was a member of the Jibberding tennis club in 1932/33 and a very good musician who played the accordian and drums. He played for dances at Jibberding with Dolly and Henry Cail. Jock later worked for the Dalwallinu Road Board and afterwards went to Capel. Dave died 3.4.1977 and Marjorie 22.11.1993 in Bunbury.
Jock and Majorie on their wedding day at the Jibberding Church >
Flower girl is Betty Chisolm
McLAREN, J.C. (Scotty)
Scotty purchased a farm south west of Wubin. Mrs McLaren died giving birth to twins. This was at a time when there was no midwife in the district and before the Dalwallinu hospital was built. Scotty left after his wife’s death and the farm was purchased by the Wegner family in 1933.
McLEOD, Mr. and Mrs.
Mr McLeod was manager of the Glowery Estate in 1910. He was taken ill out there and died. There was no medical help available at all, otherwise his wife felt that his life might have been saved.
Mrs McQueen came from England to work for the Governor’s Private Secretary, Major B.A.T. Kerr Pearce, with her children Don and Jean (LAKEMAN). She became the housekeeper for Liebe at Wubin and remained working for him for over twenty years until her death. Liebe built a house for her on his Wubin property and it was here that he entertained his visitors. The house is still being used today and the front room is in its original state with beautiful wood paneling walls. Don was a pupil at Wubin School in early 1930s. Daughter Jean took over as Liebe’s housekeeper at Waddi Forest until her marriage.
House built by Gus Liebe for Mrs McQueen is on the right >
Liebe’s cottage on the left.
MALONE, William Thomas.
William and his wife purchased a farm from Mr. A. B. Carlshausen, in the Wubin district, sometime in the 1920’s. The North Eastern Courier of May 1927 states “Mr Farrell wanted a drain to take water off Jibberding Road near Mr Malone’s property.”
Mr J Mellen is mentioned in Mrs Klein’s diary as the butcher in 1927 and is listed the same occupation in the P.O. Directory Wubin in 1927.
Charlie worked for Charlie Russell on Jibberding Station for four or five years and was a teamster. He attended a meeting to reform the Jibberding Tennis Club in May 1931, and was also a member of the club in 1932/33.
MITCHELL, Ernest Reynolds.
Ernest was b. 10.9.1894 in Adelaide S.A. and arrived in Western Australia with his family, who lived in Perth prior to taking up land in Collie in 1900. On 18.5.1923 he married Florence May DENNIS b 9.6.1901 (known as Maisie) of Bendigo Victoria, in Subiaco. The couple had three children: - Raymond William b. 4.3. 1924; Athol Dennis b. 14.1.1930 and Ernest Graham b. 31.3.1934. Arriving in the Wubin district around 1927 Ernest commenced farming at "Mitchellden". Maisie was foundation President of Jibberding C.W.A., and as a noted cake decorator, she iced many cakes for special occasions in the district. Ray after leaving school worked on his father’s farm until 1942 when aged 18 he left to join the Airforce. After the war he didn’t return to Wubin, but became an electrician. Ray died in Perth on 6.4.2003 aged 79. Athol married Aileen YORK and their farm was adjacent to the home property. In March 1969 the family moved to Lathlain, Perth. In 2004 they live in Mandurah. Ernie married Beverly SIMONSEN and they farmed the home property until March 1973 when the family moved to Dianella, Perth. Ernest Snr. and his wife moved to Floreat Park, Perth in 1959. Ernest died on 9.10.1967 and Florence on 26.3.1980. Both were buried in Karrakatta.
Em and Maisie Mitchell and cake decorated by Maisie for son Athol’s wedding >
MITCHELL, Henry Dundonald (Harry)
Harry was a brother of Ernest Reynolds Mitchell and b.5.3.1900 in Adelaide S.A. After arriving in W.A., he lived first in Collie, arriving in the Wubin district around 1929. Initially he took up farming east of the Rabbit Proof Fence, next to Seton’s. After some years he became a contract carrier and had the contract for the Paynes Find mail run for several years prior to the Second World War. Living in Wubin he later did town carting. Harry never married and died in Moora hospital on 10.2.1985. He was buried in Dalwallinu Cemetery.
Harry Mitchell on left and brother Ern - about 1930 >
MOORE, Mrs. Alice Blanche
Alice was the housekeeper at Jibberding Station for 18 years. She died on the 28.12.1938 and was survived by two children.
MORAN, Edward and William (Ted and Bill)
Ted and Bill took up a block at Jibberding, location number 4452 near the Reudavey’s property, Bill only stayed for a short time but Ted continued farming. Jibberding Hall now stands opposite the farm. Ted had a reputation for being a “character”. One story about him says that shortly before 1927 he dug a large hole on his property, poured oil into it and tried to claim a £1000 reward for finding oil. He did not get the reward! He left the district and Bill Farrell took over the farm. Edward’s (Ted) name appeared in the Post Office Directory for Wubin and Jibberding from 1923 up to 1932, however William’s (Bill) only appears in the Jibberding Post Office Directory for 1925.
Arthur took over the bakery in Wubin in 1938. He was married with one son - Harry. His wife ran a small teashop on the premises.
MOTTOLINI, David (Dave)
Dave b. 6.1891 Poggiridenti, Italy arrived in Fremantle in 1914 and in Wubin from Kalgoorlie around 1934. He had previously worked on one of the major railway tunnels connecting Italy and Switzerland, mucking out the debris caused by the blasting. On arrival in Australia, he worked in mines, but his health deteriorated due to his constant exposure to dust. His health improved after he came to Wubin. He had no permanent home for many years but camped out in tents on the various properties on which he worked.
Dave was employed at “Lake View” by Harry Woodhouse and Peter Nankivell as a general labourer, carrying out well sinking, boring and fencing and the castrating of calves. He later purchased a small block of land just west of Wubin townsite. Dave once bought a 1 ton Morris truck worth twenty-five pounds for just fifteen pounds. Two Saturday’s in a row he went to Reid & Inglis in Dalwallinu, showed them the money and said it was all he had. It worked they gave in and he bought the truck. Dave died at Geraldton in July 1966 and is buried in the Dalwallinu Cemetry.
Clifford moved to the West Dalwallinu area in 1929 and his wife Rose joined him in 1932. They purchased a local property at Miamoon in 1933 and their two daughters, Rosemary and Barbara, went to Miamoon school. The war years were spent in the area and in 1946, after sixteen years the family left the district, selling the property to Messrs. RDC Black and J Harris.
MURRAY, John M (Jock)
Jock came from Dalwallinu in 1935/6 taking over the blacksmith shop in Wubin, from Amos Bradshaw. He had premises opposite the Wubin Trading store and was listed for a mortgagee sale on 14.1.1937. In 1937 he married Mrs Flo Smith (widow of Harold E Smith). Jock left the district cir. 1940.
MYERS, Ernest Charles
Ernest was the eldest son of Fred Myers Snr. He joined up to serve in the First World War but was discovered to be under age and was transferred from the front lines to the Ambulance Corp. Arriving in Wubin in the early 1920s he married Janet Robertson SYME in 1928 and by this time was farming at Buntine. Janet was the daughter of Robert and Catherine SYME of Wubin, and the wedding was a double ceremony with Janet’s brother Jock. The wedding was held in the old Wubin Hall. Ernest and Janet had two children, Frederick b. 1932 and Janice b. 1941. Ernest served in the Second World War and after the war did not return to the farm but went to Perth. Ernest died on the 14.2.1946 after a fall while cleaning windows at Bateman’s Store in Fremantle. Janet died in 1992 aged 86 from an accident on a bus when it stopped suddenly.
MYERS, Frederick, Snr
Federick was born 12.8.1874 in Burrowa NSW, a descendent of a First Fleet female convict from Yorkshire. He lived in Tumut NSW where he worked at various jobs as barman, groom, general labourer and was Captain of the Tumut Volunteer Fire Brigade in 1908. Federick married Harriett Ann ALLATT on 6.4.1898 at Tumut NSW. Their children were - Ernest Charles b.13.8.1898, Albert Henry b.14.5.1900 d.19.7.1900, Harry b.29.8.1901, Federick George b. 19.8.1903, and Nellie b. 11.10.1905. In 1908 they moved to Western Australia with their family where they lived at Wongan Hills and then Dalwallinu where with one of Fred’s brothers he shared 4000 acres of prime land. His brothers stayed in Dalwallinu to clear and develop their properties but Fred and his family moved to Fremantle, managing hotels in order to pay their costs. In 1909, the family lived in Dalwallinu for a short time, but in 1910, the properties were forfeited through lack of development. Fred and his family moved to Wongan Hills to a brother’s property.
After the First World War, in which Fred was in the 44th Battalion 1st A.I.F., he took up land adjoining the Wubin town site, his sons Ernest and Harry working with him. In 1922, his other son Frederick George joined him on the property then named Myeralla. In 1935 the adjoining farm of Bidgerrodin was purchased and then run by Harry. This was 5 miles west of Wubin on the Gunyidi road. Frederick's numerous grandchildren attended Wubin Primary School, Dalwallinu Convent and Buntine Primary. Frederick became a J.P. in 1924, and was the first President of the Wubin-Buntine R.S.L., a member of the Agricultural Society, the Local Masonic Lodge and represented the North Ward of the Dalwallinu Road Board 1930-32. Frederick and Harriet retired to Watermans Bay in 1946, where they lived until Fred's death on 18.7.1964. Harriet died a month later on 28.8.1964. Both were cremated and their ashes scattered in the Rose Garden at Karrakatta. They were survived by three children and sixteen grandchildren. Myeralla was run by Frederick Jnr. until 1970. Bidgerrodin was sold in 1980.
MYERS, Frederick George
Fred Jnr was the fourth son of Fred Myers Snr, was apprenticed as a blacksmith in Perth (possibly Whittakers in Subiaco) and about 1922 he left his job and moved to Wubin. He married Gladys McCALLUM and had two children. Robyn b. 1943 and Joyce b. 1946. Fred was a member of the Masonic Lodge and a member of the Dalwallinu Road Board from 1943 - 73. He left the district in the 1970’s and died on the 15.9.1989 aged 85.
Harry was the third son of Fred Myers Snr. Between 1910-1914 Harry’s family were living at Lake Hind and Mt Rupert which was a station (near Wongan Hills). Harry from the age nine, together with his brother Ernest, used to spend a lot of time with one of the aboriginal tribes from the area. Harry often traveled with the tribe and learnt their language. He married Nancy PRICE on the 2.4.1944 and had five children. Geoffrey b. 1945, Toni b. 1948, Kerry b. 1950, Sandra b. 1953, and Gaye b. 1955. In 1973 Harry and Nancy retired to Horricks Beach. Harry died in Victoria in 1977 aged 76.
MYERS, Nellie Marion
Nellie was the only daughter of Fred Myers Snr. She lived on the Wubin farm with her parents until she married John Russell FLYNN (son of Maurice FLYNN of North Dalwallinu) at the Myers house on the 9.10.1924. They then went farming at Buntine. The had seven children, Maurice b. 1925, John b. 1926, Molly b. 1929, Robert b. 1931, Collin b. 1933, Terence b. 1935 and Betty b. 1938. Maurice Jnr. stayed with his grandparents and commenced school in the old Wubin Hall under Miss Travers in 1931. (Contempary of Tommy James and Don McQueen). Nellie died on 6.3.1995 aged 89 and John 1983 aged 81.
NANKIVELL, Prosser Gideon (Peter)
Peter b. 14.9.1901 in Minchinhampton, Gloucestershire, the son of the choirmaster and organist. Within a few years the family moved to Secombe in Cheshire whilst his father attended theological college at Liverpool University. A few years later they moved to Egremont where Peter saw Halleys Comet when he was nine years old, moving again to Stoak near Chester when his father became Vicar.
Peter passed the entrance examinations for the prestigious Christ’s Hospital School in Horsham, Sussex. During school holidays Peter worked in the family garden, assisted the local vet on his rounds and worked on farms as a general labourer. After leaving school, at his father’s wish he studied theology for eighteen months with the Brotherhood of Saint Paul at Bardfield, Essex with a view to also become a vicar. Farming was his real wish and in 1918 he left to take up a job on a dairy farm in Cheshire. After three years on the farm, followed by time in the Cheshire Yeomanry, Peter set sail for Australia, traveling third class on the “Themistocles", arriving in Albany on 5.3. 1923. He had several introductions to people, amongst them James Mitchell (later to become Lieutenant Governor of Western Australia). He worked for some time at "Coongin Downs", Kungin and it was here that he had his first experience of repairing and building houses and shearing sheds. Various jobs followed in the south of the state and in Perth, but after a few years, Peter decided to return to the country and took a job with Westfarmers, Wubin, his brother Arthur, having just moved to Nugadong. He canvassed all the farmers in the shire for building shearing sheds, but within a year, the Depression had set in and the orders were cancelled. Peter learned to shear during the depression years and met his future wife Phyllis WOODHOUSE when shearing at Lake View in 1930. They married on 25.5.1935 in St. Luke’s church, Dalwallinu, and had two children, John b. 1936 and Gordon b. 1939. John in 2004 remains on the original farm and Gordon moved to Brunswick in 1967. Peter remembered the worst dust storm in years, which raged for three days and nights with virtually nil visibility, in the late 1930’s. The dust found it’s way through cracks in the houses, food was covered in it and the couple’s six month old baby was a prisoner in his cot, which was shrouded in damp cloths to keep out the red dirt. They retired to Perth in 1989. Phyllis died 26.1.1994 aged 87 and Peter 30.12.1995 aged 94 and both are buried in Fremantle cemetery.
Phyllis Nankivell and Peter Nankivell >
NAIRN, A. (Snowy)
Snowy worked as a contractor around the district from the 1920’s, and played cricket for Wubin 1924-33.
George was a carrier and appears in the records of the Wubin Football Club in 1929-30. A letter to the Education Department from the Head Teacher at Wubin School 6.11.1930 states that Albury Naylor aged 13 and Frank Naylor aged 12 had been removed from the school as they were leaving the district within three weeks. A letter written a couple of weeks later, from the mother Mrs A.M. Naylor to the Department, mentions a girl aged 7.
Percy was employed on Dr Dermar’s property at Miamoon around the mid 1920s. Four of the Neil children attended the Wubin West school from when it opened in 1925 until the end of 1928. They were Stan, Vem, Hannah and Richard.
Tommy was the picture show man, who brought the talkies to town every 2nd Thursday. The films were shown in the old hall in the winter and outside in summer, while patrons sat in deck chairs. His assistants were Briggy Masters and Andy McCracken.
Ernest, with his brother Bill worked a property west of Wubin. Previously Ernie, his mother and sister Gloria used to be the picture show team, in Kalgoorlie, during the showing of silent films. Mrs Nelson played the piano, Ernie worked the projector and Gloria sold the tickets and acted as usherette. P O directory 1930 Miamoon listed Nelson Bros, farmers. 1929-30 R Nelson played cricket for Miamoon.
NELSON, William (Bill)
Bill farmed with his brother Ernest, and was also contract carting in the district.
Bill married Ada HAZE from Bindoon and they had one daughter. P O directory 1937, 1939 Wubin Nelson W H farmer.
Dan was a partner with Bill Cook, in the Wubin Garage for a few years. He married Sheila TRAVERS, the first Wubin schoolteacher, in 1933. He played cricket for Wubin 1928-31 and Tennis for Wubin in 1932. Dan later became the Labour Member of Parliament for Gascoyne from 14.2.1953 to 30.7.1974. He died on 10.1.1992.
Dan was known as “Truthful Jack”, with blazing red hair and a red beard. He worked as a labourer in the Miamoon district and had a reputation as an accurate water diviner.
Dan was the elder brother of Pat, with whom he started Wubin Trading Co. He was in the district from 1929 to 1942.1eaving the business to manage the Perth store of Bethell & Thurston.
O’DRISCOLL, Patrick Alexander
Pat b. 14.5. 1899, arrived in the Wubin district in 1929 with his elder brother Daniel to establish and run the Wubin Trading Company, formerly Smith and Parrott store. The building on the comer of Arthur and Glowery Streets, is still standing today.(2004) Patrick married Gertrude O’BRIEN (b. 15.4.1904 Donnybrook) at Pithara Catholic Church on 4.7.1933. The couple had three daughters:- Patricia Gertrude (VALENTINE) b. 5.2.1936; Hilary Agnes b. 7.2.1939 and Bernice Mary b. 12.6.1942. The Wubin Trading Co. provided a regular weekly transport service to the outlying stations including Mt. Gibson and also out to the mining community of Paynes Find. Patrick was a keen and successful local footballer and cricketer during his time in Wubin. He and his family sold the store in 1948 and moved to Queens Park, Perth. Gertrude died in Perth on the 9.10.1959, and Patrick on the 19.7.1975 and both are buried in Karrakatta cemetery.
OSBORNE, Frederick Heller
Federick b. 1898 in Bendigo, Victoria second son of James and Jane Osborne. He married Elise CULLINANE in Perth on the 11.11.1918. The couple had six children:- Dorothy, b 1919, (d. 1928, buried Dalwallinu), Florence (KILBY), Frederick, b 1921, Noel b. 1924, Michael b.1925 (d. 1925 buried Dalwallinu), James bom 1927 and Leila (LANGLEY) bom 1933. The three youngest children were bom in Dalwallinu. Before taking up farming in the Wubin district, Frederick senior had lived in Fremantle and Lawlers. Frederick moved to Perth around 1948 where he died in 1976 and is buried in Karrakatta. Frederick Jnr. stayed in the area working for Nobby Clarke and others, fixing farm machinery.
OSBORNE, James Herbert
James b. 1870 in Bendigo, farmed in the Miamoon district. He married Jane WALLS in Bendigo in 1890 and they had had six children, five of them bom in Bendigo:- Linda Myrtle (O’BRIEN) b. 1891, Matthew Henry b. 1893, Frederick Heller b.1898, James Herbert b.1905, Charles Halbert b.1908 and Mavis Jean (McCOMBIE) b. 1912. It is not known when they arrived in WA but he was in the Wubin district around 1908-09, farming with his son Matthew. James died in 1936 and is buried in Dalwallinu cemetery.
OSBORNE, Matthew Henry
Matthew b. 1893 in Bendigo, Victoria, eldest son of James and Jane He first began farming in North Dalwallinu and did road contract work. Matthew also worked with the sandalwood cutters up until World War 1. He married Caroline Agnes SCRAMBLER, a cockney, in a bough shed at Courtlea Siding, south of Dalwallinu in 1912. The shed was normally used for storing goods for the railways. It is thought that they may have been the first couple to marry in the Dalwallinu district. After the war, the farm was sold to the late Ted Rayner, and Matthew went back to contract road making and cutting sandalwood until he bought the farm at West Nugadong. circa 1922.
The couple had four children: - Joyce Noreen b. 1914 (married Dan O’NEIL in 1938); Ivy May (DEWAR) b. 1915; Oliver Ralph Oscar b.20.1.1920 and Ronald Matthew b.1932. Their son Oliver remained on the farm. He married Lola CLARKE b.8.2.1913 d. 1.4.2005 in 1943 and they had two children Nola (CAIL) b. 1944 and Eric b.1945. In 1999 Oliver’s grandson Wayne Cail then joined his grandfather on the farm and in 2004 Oliver moved to Dalwallinu. Matthew died in 1960 at Hollywood Hospital and is buried at Karrakatta. Caroline died on the 20.11.1980 age 93.
Konrad was a German by birth and worked on bulk handling in Wubin.
PALFREY, William G and Albert
William and Albert had a farm just west of Wubin. Records show Primrose Palfrey was taught by Grace Pearson at the East Wubin school around 1922.
PARKER, Horace Hill
Horrie was the town clerk for East Fremantle and a friend of Harry Woodhouse and Samuel Thompson. He is thought to have purchased land in the district around 1908. This was Nugadong AA Locations 12, 15, 21 and 67, at West Wubin. He had managers on the farm including Robert Howie Snr., Brown’s and Sid Treasure. Mr H Parker is listed as playing pennant tennis for Wubin in 1932/33. Home’s daughter Dr. Dorothy McCANN remembered the trip to Gunyidi by train and then travelling slowly out to the property by horse and cart. It took two days and they camped overnight on the Wubin - Gunyidi road, sleeping in swags. It was so cold that the hair on Dorothy’s doll froze.
PARROTT, John Ardley
John b.24.6.1901 in Perth came to Wubin around 1923. He joined his brother-in-law at Smith's General Store as a storekeeper, thus the store's name changed to Smith and Parrott. On 27.4.1927, John married Christina Ruth AYERS in Wubin and they made their home in Arthur St. Wubin. They had a daughter Lorraine Margaret (WOODHOUSE) b.24.8.1928. At 8.00 pm on the 13.8.1928 the store burnt down when someone took a lighted hurricane lamp out to a petrol bowser. Although the store was rebuilt, John and his family moved to Narembeen in 1929. John died in Perth on 19.12.1943, and was buried in Karrakatta Cemetery.
Morning after fire burnt down the store >
Joe was from northern Italy. He was a strong man who could easily pick up bags of wheat. Joe, his half brother and several cousins did clearing for Bill Farrell, and then for Cailbro’s in the late 1920’s. Joe stayed and worked for Cailbro until the mid 1930’s. From here he went to the Morawa district. His half brother worked for Jack Carter on Draffin’s for several years.
Joe at rear of bike being ridden by Doris Pettit >
Don b. 1910 was the third son of Helen Pearse came to farm in West Wubin in 1929 with his brother Jeff and mother Helen. He stayed for about three years, then left for England but returned to W A. In 1944 he bought a farm adjacent to brother Jeffrey and farmed until 1965, when he left for Perth.
Helen (WILLIAMS) was the wife of Alfred and mother of Jeffrey and Don. Alfred died in 1928 and Helen came to West Wubin with her sons in 1929. She stayed for two or three years. She died about 1964 and is buried in Perth.
PEARSE, Jeffrey Vincent.
Jeffrey b.27.11.1902 in Kalgoorlie and married Florence Vera HANSON b. 5.11.1902, at Maddington, Perth, on the 6.6.1925. After living in Kenwick for a few years the family took up land in West Wubin in March 1929, with his mother Helen and brother Don. The property became known as “Kooringa". Jeffrey and Vera had a family of three boys:-Raymond Jeffrey b.30.5.1926; Kenneth Vincent b. 13.7.1928 and Noel Hedley b. 28.12.1932. His wife and family came to the farm about 1931. Their first house was made of bush timber and hessian. Later they had a brick house built cir 1939 by builders, Curruthers from Geraldton, who also built the Wubin Hotel. Jeffrey played pennant tennis for Miamoon in 1932/33 and represented Wubin at Country Week Tennis in 1937. Vera spent most of her time in Perth from 1949 onwards and Jeffrey retired to be with her, around 1955. Vera died on the 14.4.1974 and Jeffrey died in Dalwallinu Hospital on the 15.11.1993 and both are buried at Karrakatta. Ray farmed at West Wubin is now retired, but still lives on his farm “Wendouree”. Kenneth went farming at Wyalkatchem is now retired and living in Perth. Noel continues to farm at West Wubin. (Information as at 2004.)
Back - Dan O’Neill Front - left to right: Cartwright, Jeffrey Pearse, Ray Pearse, Vera Pearse and in front Ken Pearse >
David was the brother of Grace Pearson. He had his own truck and carted wheat for farmers in the district. He lived mostly at the Day’s farm when he was in the area.
From the North Eastern Courier of December 1924, “Motor transport commenced in Wubin with Mr Taylor and Mr Pearson and their Commerce truck.”
David Pearson on right in front of truck loaded with bags of wheat >
PEARSON, Grace Mary
Grace was b,9.10.1898 in Karridale, WA. She began her teaching career at Middle Swan school as a monitor for the necessary two years. As a fully-fledged teacher, she taught in Coolgardie, Kalgoorlie, North Kalgoorlie, Chidlow and then in 1921 she was sent to Wubin to teach at the Jibberding school. The school was eleven miles out on the Paynes Find Road on a property owned by the Mclldowie’s. Grace boarded for the first few months with Mrs. Richards, going to school in the horse and cart with the three Richards children. Later she boarded with Mrs. Derrick.
Grace Day (PEARSON) in her latter years >
Grace ran the first Christmas tree party ever experienced by the local children, followed by a concert held in a bough shed at the picnic grounds on Jibberding Reserve. This area was to later become the Jibberding cricket grounds and tennis courts. In 1923 Grace was transferred to Mukinbudin and resigned at the end of the following year to marry John Day on the 10.4.1924. Their farm was situated 8 miles east of Wubin on the Paynes Find Road. They had five children - Grace, Fred, Dorothy, Harold and Beryl. Grace was an accomplished pianist and violinist, as well as being an excellent artist who especially enjoyed painting local wildflowers using oils. During WW2 their was an acute shortage of teachers and Grace returned to teaching in the early 1940’s at the Jibberding Hall School. Grace died on the 23.3.1967 and is buried in Dalwallinu.
PERFECT, George >
George was the eldest son of William, and was a shearer. George often emceed at parties and was an acclaimed dancer. He was a member of the Wubin Football club in 1932/33.
Norm was the fourth child of William, and farmed at east Wubin. Like his brother, he was known as a very good dancer. Norm was elected President of Jibberding Tennis club when it reformed in 1931, but in 1932 he transferred to Miamoon and played pennant tennis for Miamoon 1932/33. He was a member of the Wubin football club from 1928 until at least 1938. In 1948 Norm won first prize in the State WA Charities draw 439. About 1950 he sold his farm but stayed in the district and on the 18.3.1952 was murdered between Wubin and Dalwallinu. Karol Tapic, a 22 year old Czech migrant was convicted of the murder and hung in Fremantle jail on 23.6.1952. Karol came to West Australia in 1950 and was working as a yardman at the Wubin Hotel. The story is told in the book ‘Legal Executions in Western Australia’ by Brian Purdue.
PERFECT, William Henry.
William was born 27.8.1873, in Carlton, Victoria. On 29.20.1899 in Melbourne, he married Mary CHAMBERS b.22.12.1869 of Indigo Creek, Bamawartha, Victoria, eldest of the 10 children of George Chambers and Bridget Anthony, who were Irish Catholic migrants. Mary had suffered from asthma for most of her life and on the advice of her doctor they decided to move to Western Australia to live in a warmer, drier climate. William arrived at Fremantle on the SS Orontes on the 3.4.1905. No other member of his family is mentioned on the passenger lists. Mary is thought to have traveled over later, with her sister. The couple had six children:- Mona Beatrice (CARLSHAUSEN) b. 13.6.1900; George William b.27.3.1902 - d. 8.12.1950 (both bom in Surrey Hills, Victoria); Leslie Anthony b. 11.4.1904 - d.6.3.1905 (bom in Victoria); Norman Alfred b.22.11.1905 - 18.3.1952; Isobel Mary b.8.8.1908 (both bom Wagin) and Myrtle Elizabeth (COOK) b.8.7.1911 in Woodanilling. William and Mary settled at Beaufort River near Woodanilling where they appear to have done well. A column in the Southern Argus and Wagin-Arthur Express for 24.1.1908, states that he is growing tobacco and a bumper crop was expected. The Wagin Argus for 17.1.1914 has a long column about a picnic-day being held on their property; and William’s skills as a cricketer are also mentioned. As a farmer, he would have been exempt from joining up during WW1 but nevertheless his spirit of adventure led him to trying to enlist at Woodanilling. Knowing his occupation and his age, the local military turned him down. Undeterred he took the first train to Katanning and enlisted there on the 12.4.1915 in the 15th Light Horse.
His attestation papers give a good physical description - Age 42 1/2, height 5 feet 4 inches, fresh complexion, light brown hair and blue eyes. He had three scars on his right hand, a tattoo of WP on his right arm and a compass on his left arm. He embarked for overseas 30.6.1917 sailing on the Port Lincoln. On arriving in Abbassia in the Middle East he was transferred into the Camel Corps. It didn’t take him long to discover the local delights, as he was often fined for being drunk in the town, or being absent without leave. A great deal of time was spent marching from Abassia to Tatoo, and onto Ismailia. He managed to get drunk in all of those towns and got to know the inside of the punishment compounds at camp quite well! He was repatriated to Australia on the 10.12.1919. After the war, the Soldier resettlement scheme meant that he was entitled to purchase further land at a special price. So, without telling his wife he went to look at land near Wubin. The block that he purchased was intended for sons, Norman and George but he moved his whole family there in 1923. William was a popular man and very gifted musically, his speciality being the piano accordion and violin. He was responsible for building the East Wubin School and his own homestead as well as the home of his daughter. A hard worker all his life he still liked the bright lights of Perth occasionally. William was said by his niece to be always on the go, having new ideas and rushing around and liking his independence. He was not an easy man to live with; he frequently disappeared for weeks or months at a time, generally to Perth and often not telling his wife, leaving her to cope with the children and the property. Mary’s life in Wubin would have been an isolated one and her granddaughter Isobel remembers her as a tall woman, probably six feet tall and also big framed as well. This was a vast contrast to her smaller husband! Mary was never known to go to church but would not allow anyone to say anything bad about Catholics. In later life she suffered with heart problems and died at the age of 65 in 1934. William died on the 1.8.1953 in Royal Perth Hospital and is buried at Dalwallinu.
Victor was b. 1863, and was said to be both Swedish and English! He arrived in WA around 1911 and moved to the Wubin district in 1912. He farmed a property south of Wandanna Hill but also did contract clearing using horse teams, dam sinking with a horse drawn scoop and carted wheat for Gus Liebe, - fourteen bags a time in a one horse dray. The North Eastern Courier of July 1923 Road Board Report says they paid V Peters 10 pounds to sink the White Well on the Pames Find Road (Great Northern Highway now) 10 feet deeper. In 1933 he was attacked by a 6 foot boomer kangaroo and one of his employees came to his aid and between the two of them they managed to kill it. Victor was not seriously hurt. At his 75th birthday celebrations at the Wubin Hotel in 1938, he attributed his good health and long life to the fact he had never drunk alcohol or smoked a cigarette.
PETTIT, Edward James
Edward b. 1861 in South Australia, married Rachel Anna WHEELER in Adelaide on 7.1.1884. Rachel was b 24.9.1863 in S.A. They arrived in WA. around 1896 moving to the Wubin area from York in 1919 to manage his son-in-law John Anderton’s farm. They farmed on Victoria Location 5539 almost ten miles east of Wubin. Mr and Mrs Pettit family lived in the area for four years before retiring to Redcliffe, Perth in 1923.
The couple had six children:- Edward James bom 31.12.1885; Mary Jane (ANDERTON) bom 21.4.1884 (both bom in SA); Hilda Eliza bom 1889; Stanley Edward bom 1890; Ruby Kiza bom 1894 and Milton James bom 1895 (all bom in Victoria). Ruby and Milton both died in Western Australia in 1897. Edward died on 2.10.1941 and is buried in the Wesleyan portion of Karrakatta Cemetery. Rachel died on the 21.5.1955 age 91.
1922 - E J Pettit in front of family home built of hessian bags. Quite common in those early days >
POPE, Edward James
Edward b 3.8.1894 in Bristol, England married Elsie Florence GILES in Bristol on 21.12.1918. Their first child Vera (WEBSE) was bom in Bristol on 26.10.1920. Edward then sailed for Australia, arriving in Fremantle in December 1921. For three weeks, he worked in Pithara for Edgar Waterman, clearing and burning land. He then walked to Wubin to select his own block of land. Elsie and Vera finally joined him in January 1928 on Redfield Farm. Two more children were bom to the couple:- Desmond b. 14.2.1931 in Dalwallinu and Colin b. 30.6.1938 also in Dalwallinu. Edward played cricket for Jibberding from 1934 to 1939. When Elsie died in 1940 at the age of 45 Vera looked after the younger children. She also acted as a supervisor at the East Wubin School when no government teacher was available to three correspondence pupils, Isobel Carlshausen, Des Pope and Jim Treasure. At the same time she taught three infants grade students - Stan Treasure, John Carlshausen and Colin Pope. Des is still living on the home farm in 2004. Edward died on 29.1.1960 and both are buried Perth.
Left - Elsie Pope Centre - Fred Carlshausen Far right - Ted Pope Elsie and Ted’s daughter Vera nursing her brother Des. Others unknown >
A Plummer is listed as having played cricket for Wubin in 1925. P O Directory for Miamoon 1930 states W Plummer farmer.
Harry lived out on the road to Paynes Find. He had one son David who would cycle 10 miles each day to the Wubin school and then 10 miles back.
Fred was licensee Wubin Hotel 1938. It is thought that he had two daughters of school age whilst residing in Wubin.
Tom was a brother of Eugenie (Jean) Syme and uncle of Gladys McCullam (Mrs Fred Myers) and was an itinerant worker in the district.
Percival was at the meeting of 31.5.1931 to reform the Jibberding Tennis Club. Mr P Prince was a member of Wubin pennant tennis team in 1932/33. The North Eastern Courier of November 1932 state P Prince was presented with trophies at the Wubin Tennis Club Ball on the 5.1.1932 for winning the men’s singles and doubles. He worked around the district for a couple of years. In 1934 P Prince, after playing the season of 1932/33, was cleared from the Wubin Football Club to Railways Football Club at Northam.
Joe worked locally for the Ellison family.
Fred farmed in the Nugadong area Location 9853 on the West Wubin Road.
He was short in stature and was a active local sportsman, a member of Wubin football club 1936, and also played cricket for Wubin as a slow bowler from 1935/38. Fred died in 1949 in Perth aged 56.
REUDAVEY, Alan Charles >
Alan was the fifth child of Henry and Cerceda. He worked on the home farm, then for the Road Board and Fred Peterson. He went to World War II and on his return worked with his brother Frank (at Jibberding), until he got a War service block at Rocky Gully. Alan was married 3.12.1938 at Dalwallinu, to Judy SIMMONS bl5.2.1918 who was working for Amy Carter. Miss J, Simmons was a registered member of the Jibberding tennis club in 1937. Alan was a member of the Wubin football club in 1934 - 35 and played cricket for Jibberding both prior to going to the war and after returning on the club’s reformation. Their children were Lynton, b. 24.8.1939 d. 15.4.1992, Geoff b. 23.3.1944, Bethwyn b. 8.7.1948 and Anthony b. 11.3.1954. Allan and Judy had many years of retirement in Perth. Judy died on 31.1.2000 aged 82 and Alan died in 2001 aged 85 at Perth.
REUDAVEY, Eric Wilfred
Eric and Janet Reudavey Wedding Day 24.9.1947 >
Eric, the fourth child of Henry and Cerceda worked on the home farm. In the 1930s he was a member of the Jibberding Tennis Club and in 1935 he played Country Week tennis for Wubin. In 1938 he went to Mount Magnet to look for work which proved very hard to find as there were 300 men looking for work at that time. He was 18 months truck driving, carting ore for Hill 50 Mine. In November 1939 he enlisted in WW 11 from Mount Magnet. While serving overseas Eric was wounded on Crete and taken prisoner of war.. From Crete he was moved to Athens and spent Christmas 1941 in Germany - the coldest winter for 21 years with the temperature being 25 degrees below zero and Eric states he did not want to see ice and snow ever again. He was later taken to Poland. After the war he worked for a mining firm at Wiluna until the end of 1947 when he obtained a war service block south of Moora. He married Janet KENNEDY (b. 6.12.1923) on 24.9.1947 in Mosman Park.and had three children, Kerry Isobel b. 16.7.1948, Denise Janet b.26.3.1950 and Gregory Eric b.25.11.1952. The family moved to Perth in 1972. Janet died on 1.3.1998 and her ashes are in the Rose Garden at Karrakatta. Eric had his 91st birthday in October 2004 while living in Floreat Park, Perth.
REUDAVEY, Francis (Frank) Edward.
Frank, b. 16.10.1904 in Perth the eldest child of Henry and Grace Reudavey, was just four years old when the family moved to Jibberding. As there were no schools there he was sent to Perth to stay with his mother’s sister and attended Highgate Primary school. He also had two terms at Guildford Grammar school, and was there when the chapel was under construction, his name being in the cement under the foundation stone. After leaving school he returned to Jibberding, and by this time there was a school in the area which his sisters attended and for a few weeks Frank found himself going there. It was a seven-mile trip by horse and cart and the family were breaking in a new horse which was a bit frisky and Franks sisters’ couldn't manage it, so he drove them. As he had to wait to take them back Frank decided he might as well attend the school for the few weeks till the horse settled down. His first job was in 1919 when he went to work for Albert Carlshausen stooking hay and also carting chaff for six pence a bag. He worked for Saywer’s (the blacksmith) at Dalwallinu, riding home to spend Sunday’s with his family. Later on, like his father before him, he became a farmer, owning the property known as "Limberlost". It was virgin land to start with and he cleared it himself using a tractor and scrub roller. While clearing he lived in a little bag house on the property, cooking and looking after himself. He also did contracting work, which was how he made enough for a small deposit on his own tractor and scrub roller.
Adie and Frank Reudavey >
In the mid 1930s Frank introduced stock onto his land, starting with 101 ewes and three rams. He paid five shillings a head for the ewes and thirty shillings for the rams. Frank’s bag house was replaced by a wooden one and later still by a mud brick house. The mud bricks were made on the farm. There was a lot of trouble with snakes, one getting on the bed once, and they used to keep a big stick in the kitchen because of the goannas. The flies were so bad they kept a swat in every room, even the bedroom. Frank married Adie Christina ROBERTSON (b. 10.9.1907) in Perth on the 22.9.1934. Adie was bom in Ballarat, Victoria and prior to her marriage lived in Maylands. The couple had three children:- Phillis (DOLLING) b. 17.11.1935; Roderick b.26.9.1938 and Cynthia(WRIGHT) b. 14.7.1944. Phillis and Rod attended Jibberding school after first doing correspondence courses. During the Second World War, Frank joined the local Voluntary Defence, made up of men from Wubin and Buntine. They drilled every Sunday, which was costly, as they had to supply their own fuel to get into Wubin. They did everything on the one day fully equipped with uniforms, rifles (no ammunition) and tin ration. Adie was the foundation treasurer of Jibberding CWA and in 1984 was awarded an honour badge for her services to GWA, especially her contribution in handcrafts. Frank and Adie retired to Pioneer House in Dalwallinu, where Frank died on 10.11 1995 aged 91 and Adie on 29.6.1999 also 91, both are buried in Dalwallinu.
REUDAVEY, Henry Richard
Henry b. 8.1.1870 in Sussex, UK, as Henry Davey. His mother’s maiden name was Rewell and Henry attached part of this to his own name to make Rew-Davey, later progressing to become Reudavey. Henry arrived in Australia in 1898, living first on the Goldfields. For several years he lived in North Perth and Osborne Park. A professional gardener he was responsible for laying out Queen's Gardens in Perth. On the 1.7.1902 he married Cerceda Grace HOCKING (b. 1.7.1881), at Wesley Church in Perth. For the first few years of their marriage, they lived in a converted shed in the garden’s grounds, and in 1906 a small cottage was built for them in the Queen’s gardens The contract for the building of the cottage was 298. Pounds. In 1908, Henry took up virgin land in Jibberding, near the rabbit proof fence - Victoria Loc. 4450 of 1,000 acres and Loc.3868 the homestead block. Grace and their two children joined him in 1909. Their first home was of plaited bush with a hessian lining. All stores had to be tinned or dehydrated as the nearest railway siding was at Gunyidi, a three and a half-day trip by horse and cart.
H. R. Reudavey third from left >
Others are - back Frank and Adie Reudavey, J. N. Robertson holding Phillis, front Cerceda Reudavey and Christina Robertson. 1936 photo.
Mail arrived once a month by camel, later by horse. She was a very hospitable woman and was said to have been like a second mother to lonely British migrants brought out to clear the bush, having as many as twenty to Sunday tea followed by music and hymn singing. Grace was Postmistress, first appearing in the 1915 Post Office Directory, and ran the Jibberding telephone exchange for 32 years. She was a founder member of the local CWA and also acted as midwife to two other mothers in the area. They named the property "Bouganville", a feature being plantings of bouganvilla covering a high wire fence. At one time Henry took on seven migrants (Scots, Irish and English) to help with the clearing of the land; most of the clearing was done using axes. There was no water on the property, it all had to be carted from the government dam on the Jibberding reserve. The first year Henry took it out of the boundary rider’s tank and got into trouble. Later he sank a dam by hand, using a pick and shovel. Unfortunately the dam stored only milky water caused by the high clay content in the soil and the water had to be cleared by adding alum to the wooden barrels in which the drinking water was stored. In 1914 they built a new home and such was the couple's friendliness to other settlers and itinerant bush clearers that they set aside a room for monthly church services, weddings and dances. It once also served as a polling booth presided over by Henry.
Cerceda Grace Reudavey (seated) with her nine children >
Left to right - Alan, Eunice, Joyce, Dorrie, Nancy, Marj, Frank, Jack and Eric
The couple had nine children: Francis Edward b. 16.10.1904; Dorothy (CHISHOLM) b.6.5.1907; Marjory Lillian (McKENZIE) b. 18.1.1910; Eric Wilfred b.20.10.1912; Alan Charles b.28.1.1916; Nancy Isobel (BARKER) b. 12.4.1918; twins Joyce (NOLAN) and Eunice (ROBERTSON) b.4.8.1920 and John Henry (Jack) b.24.6.1924. Nancy married in Adelaide and has lived in Port Pirie ever since. Joyce, a nurse, married Michael Joseph (Danny) Nolan 1948 at Jibberding and has lived in Perth since then. Eunice married John Stanley (Jack) Robertson in Jibberding in 1941. Jack was a shearer and farmed a property on Wasley road east Buntine leaving the farm to retire to Northam in 1970s. Jack Reudavey continued to farm the home property, retiring to Safety Bay, leaving his son Trevor as third generation owner. Henry died in Dalwallinu hospital on the 25.7.1946 and is buried in Dalwallinu cemetery. Grace continued to live on the Jibberding property until 1952 when she moved to Perth and then later to Capel to live with daughter Marj. In 1972 Grace was awarded the British Empire Medal for services to the community. Grace died on the 25.5.1979 at the Rowethorpe homes, Bentley and her ashes are interred with Henry.
Reudavey Occupation Certificate >
RICHARDS, Arthur James (Shorty)
Arthur was the eldest son of Charles and Mary, who with his brother Harry ran the home farm until leaving in the 1960’s. A member of the Wubin Football Club 1924-38, Secretary 1934-37, and a member of the Wubin Cricket Club for the same length of time. He died in Perth in 1982 aged 80
RICHARDS. Charles Federick
Charles and the family came to Wubin in 1911 and farmed four miles N.E. of Wubin. He married Mary Jane BLACK in 1900 at Perth. They had six children, Arthur James, b. 1902, Rosa Lillian b. 1904 d. 1959, Charles b. 1906, Alice (DAVIES) 1908, George 1910 and Harry 1912. The Richard’s house was used as a part time school in conjunction with North Dalwallinu school from September 1918 and frill time for the first nine months of 1919, when the school closed. Later in 1919 the school was re-opened in Wubin town. Mary boarded school teachers employed at the Jibberding school and also had a small shop supplying meals to travellers. Charles was a member of the Wubin Football club in 1929. Rosa and Alice were in the Wubin Tennis Pennant Team for 1932-33. One of the girls won the Lotteries. Charles died in 1955 aged 84 and is buried in Perth. Mary Jane died 15.7.1962 aged 81 and are buried in Perth.
Mary Richards with her children >
Bottom left, clockwise - Harry, Alice, Rosa, Arthur, Charles and George
RICHARDS, Charles W.(Pom)
Charles was the second son of Charles and Mary and farmed at east Buntine. He was a member of the Wubin Football Club from 1929 - 37 and cricket for Wubin 1925-35.
RICHARDS, George E.
George was the third son of Charles and Mary and worked on the home farm leaving the district just before the beginning of WW11. He manufactured gas producers - one known customer in the district was the Schultze family. George attended Jibberding school in 1921 and was a member of the Wubin Football Club in 1938.
RICHARDS, Harry E.
Harry was the youngest son of Charles and Mary and farmed the home farm with his brother Arthur until the 1960’s. He was a member of the Wubin Football Club 1932 to 38 and the Wubin Cricket Club 1928-38.
Don became the baker in Wubin in the late 1920’s. Post Office directory Wubin 1930. Ridgewell D. baker
Wubin Bakery, built c. 1928 >
Worked for Wilhelm Klein from 1936 to 1938.
James was a miner who died on the 23.9.1920 age 51 at Jibberding. According to his death certificate he was bom in Queensland and had lived in Western Australia for 30 years. The cause of his death was given as Miners Disease.
George married Addie LEE and they had five children - George Jnr, Joyce, Arthur, Bobby and Sein. Addie ran a drapery shop in Arthur Street next door to a green grocer, between the bakery and the butcher shop. George (jnr) Robinson lived with his grandparents (Lee) on the farm at west Wubin and was a pupil at Miamoon school in August 1934.
Rex worked around the district. P O Directory Jibberding 1925. Farmer ROTHKEHL Herman
H. J. Rothkehl is listed in records as owner of Location Number 4859 and H. J. Rothkehl is in the P O Directory for Wubin in 1916.
Robert was another of the many people who traveled out to outlying stations delivering mail on horseback, from 1914 to the early 1920’s. He later moved to Kalgoorlie where he delivered mail. P O Directory Jibberding lists him from 1913-16.
ROWLANDS, H and Mrs. V.A.
Mr Rowlands was originally a traveller for Rawleigh Products, but when the Field family gave up the boarding house he and his wife took it over as a cafe, and named it ‘The Wubin Fish Cafe.’
RUDD, Bertie Wybum Lillington
Bertie was an Englishman, and was always known as Dad Rudd. He had the first mail run west of Wubin before the 1920s. He later became the caretaker of East Wubin Dam. “Dad Rudd” lived alone and was found dead at the dam on 26.7.1933. He was buried in the Dalwallinu Cemetery and was thought to be around 69 years old.
RUSSELL, Charles A.W. (Charlie)
Charlie was the manager of Jibberding station for some years and later became the owner. He had been an Army captain in the First World War and was head of the local Volunteer Defence Corps from 1939 to 1945. Charlie was an excellent cricket player having played for the Australian Armed Forces team, later playing for Wubin 1926/28 and the Jibberding team 1934/36. He was a member of the Dalwallinu Road Board from 1917-22 and 1942-46. Charlie left the district in the late 1940’s and returned to South Australia.
Arthur was a teamster working for Jack Carter on Draffin’s property. He played cricket for Jibberding in 1937/38 and 1938/39.
Bill was a local shearing contractor and married Alice STANSFIELD, sister of Bill Stansfield. The couple lived with her brother Bill at the south end of Arthur St. until they took over J. Parrott’s house at the north end of Arthur St. Bill and Alice had a daughter, Melva.
Oliver married Elizabeth SILVERWOOD and they had a daughter Ethel. Oliver and Elizabeth came to Wubin in 1920 to work on the farm of Bill Schulze their son-in-law. Oliver died on 3.9.1927 and is buried at Dalwallinu. Elizabeth married again to J Fontana about 1935 and she died in Perth in 1951.
Back row - Oliver Sampson, Elizabeth Sampson, George Schulze, Elizabeth Klein, Wilhelm Klein, Ethel Schulze
Front row - Unknown man with Roy Schulze, two children unknown and Bill Schulze Snr nursing Bill Schulze Jnr
Henry b. around 1890, a member of the Badimia tribe. His people came from around the Paynes Find area, their tribal meeting place being at Goodingnow. Henry was brought up in the Moora district but spent much of his working life around the Jibberding area and worked for the Reudavey family with another Aboriginal man, Billy Lawson. The two men would cart water from Jibberding well to fill the cattle and sheep troughs. It was strenuous work. The tank would only hold two hundred gallons and as it was a 5 to 10 mile trip to reach the stock, it entailed many trips back and forth. For this the two men earnt approximately 10 shillings a week. Henry was also a shearer and had a reputation as a water diviner and taught Adie Reudavey to divine. Henry was held in very high regard by the Wubin community. He died in Geraldton on the 27.10.1980 aged 90.
SANDERS, Amural Mafeking (Maff)
Mafeking b. 12.1.1902 in Adelaide, SA. and arrived in the Wubin area in the mid 1920’s, and worked on “Lake View” for Harry Woodhouse. He later farmed his own land at Miamoon. Maff married Gladys BUDGE and the couple had two children: Charles and Dallas. Tragically, both children died young, one from measles and the other from falling onto a boot hook. Charles Budge Sanders died at Moora Hospital on the 1.1.1927 aged two and a half year and Dallas Budge Sanders on the 21.11.1931 aged four years. Maff was a member of the Wubin Football Club 1928-30. Gladys was a talented piano player. Gladys and Maff boarded many of the teachers who taught at Miamoon school. Mafeking died on the 24.12.1965 and is buried in Dalwallinu.
D. J. Sasse had a farm just out of Wubin and was determined to grow peanuts. Unfortunately, the idea was not a success as the kangaroos and rabbits destroyed the first crop. It proved to be the first and last peanut farm in Wubin. PO Directory indicates he was in the area 1923-28.
SCHULZE, Christian Ferdinand
Christian b. around 1867 in Saxony, Germany and is thought to have arrived with his family in Melbourne that same year. He married Elizabeth Ann BILLINGHAM in Victoria in 1895. The couple had eight children:- Eli John Christian b. 1897, William (Bill) Alexander b. 1900; George Ferdinand b. 1901; Leslie Hermann b. 1904 d. 1905; Olga L. b. 1907; Myrtle V. b. 1909; Hurbert died 1911 and buried in Moora; and Mona b. 1915. The Schulze family arrived in Western Australia in 1904 and were living in May lands in 1905, Moora by 1907 and arrived in Dalwallinu in 1909. Elizabeth ran a boarding house at the Old Well in Dalwallinu after they arrived. The building consisted of iron roof with bush sides, and accommodation was in tents. From here they went to north east Dalwallinu. Christian first worked as a sandlewood puller and farmhand. Christian divorced and moved to Wubin in 1920 where he worked for his son Bill at “Greystones”. He also worked on other farms but “Greystones’ was used as his base. Christian died on the 21.3.1941 and is buried in Karrakatta.
SCHULZE, Eli John (Tom)
Tom was the eldest son of Christian and Elizabeth Schulze. He went to WW1 and afterwards worked with his brother Bill on ‘Greystones’. He wasn’t keen on farming so after several years moved to Perth. Married with a large family he worked as a bus driver in Perth for the North Beach Bus Co. for many years. Tom died 1.2.1968 aged 70.
SCHULZE, William Alexander (Bill)
Bill was the second son of Christian and Elizabeth. Bill worked on the construction of the Wongan Hills-Mullewa railway line before going to WW1. He was only 15 when he joined up and used his brother’s name Eli, so there were two Eli Schulze who enlisted in WW1. Bill served in France and was gassed. He returned from the war and in 1920 he took over “Greystones”, the farm being a few miles east of Wubin and previously owned by Baumberger. Bill married Ethel SAMPSON in Perth in 1920 and they had three children. Roy b. 1922 at Dalwallinu, William b. 1924 on the way to Dalwallinu in the horse sulky and Oliver b. 1927 in Perth.
All the children went to the Wubin school. Bill played football for Wubin for several years and rode a horse to Ballidu to play games there. During WW11 he was Quarter Master Sergeant in V.D.C. Records show that five men drew wages in 1922 including 0 Sampson his father-in-law. In the late 1940’s Bill traveled to Dalwallinu for Lodge meetings with Gus Liebe and Jack Day. Bill and Ethel retired to Perth in 1958. Bill died 8.8.1971 aged 71, and Ethel 26.11. 1982 aged 85.
Bill and Ethel Schulze >
SCULLION, Tom and Jack.
Tom and Jack lived on a property on Bailey Road West Wubin and had a little hut near the small salt lakes. There was a fresh water soak a little way up their fence line. Jack had three children - Lucy, Susan and Maurice who all attended Miamoon school. They were all badly injured in a traffic accident in the Miamoon reserve in 1949. Afterwards the family moved to Albany. P O Directory Miamoon 1930.-39 and Wubin 1935-39 Scullion Bros.
Harry was a lumper on the wheat stacks in the days before bulk handling and he lived at the Smith boarding house.
Photo of two young men lumping wheat onto a wheat stack at one of the local railway sidings 1928
Chris was born around 1894 in Scotland, and came to WA on the same boat as Ben Chisholm, the Borda, arriving in Fremantle 13.7.1922. Chris was 26 years old and listed as a "smith". They had previously been friends at a Glasgow shipyard. When they first arrived in the district they did clearing work and about 1925 together farmed a property on the rabbit proof fence. Chris married Annie FERGUS in 1935 in Perth. Annie b. around 1898 was also from Scotland. She was the foundation secretary of Jibberding CWA. Chris and Annie did not have any family and in 1961 sold the farm to the Carter family and retired to Perth. Annie died on the 25.1.1979 in Perth and Chris on 17.6.1980.
SHALLCROSS, V. F.
V. F. Shallcross farmed at east Wubin and worked at Lake Station (Goodlands - situated on the east side of Lake Goorly). A distinctive feature of his was a toothbrush moustache. PO Directory lists him at Wubin 1928-32.
Con was an itinerant traveller selling mainly clothes and haberdashery, and he was a frequent visitor to Wubin, staying at the boarding house run by Mrs. Smith. He would also buy sheepskins and large drums of dripping from the local butcher to sell elsewhere.
SIBBALD, Gerald R.
Gerald was the manager of Jibberding Station from about 1909 (owned by Thomas & Co.) until about 1914 when Walter Toesland became manager. He and his family were said to have been American. Records show him as having taken up blocks in the Jibberding district in 1910. In January 1913 he wrote letters to the Education Department requesting a school be established at east Wubin. He had three children Violet, Robert and Betty, ages in 1913 were 11,9 and 7 years old.
Vivian (Viv.) b. 16.11.1901 in Kogarah NSW, he was the son of a Danish father and Welsh mother, and registered with the unusual name of Silver Vivian. Vivian (as he preferred to be known) arrived in the district in 1928 after previously living in Perth and Dowerin. He took up a block of land about 22 miles east of Wubin, in the area known as Jibberding. The property was known as Biemfels, and was 22 miles east of Wubin and 24 miles north of Kalannie. When Viv first arrived, the block was covered with bush so dense that it took him three weeks to discover all the pegs which marked the boundaries. His wool classing skills were in demand throughout the district.. Viv married Dorothy Merle PENGEL b.5.7.1906 (known as Merle) in Maylands on 9.4.1932. Two daughters were bom to the Simonsens -Ellen Merle (BURROWS) b. 19.7.1933 and Beverley Ruth (MITCHELL) b. 14.10.1937.Merle Jnr. wrote..”Our first home was made of wheat bags sewn together and lined with hessian, which was then whitewashed. The outside walls needed whitewashing annually. There were wooden floors in the dining room and kitchen and a tin chimney. After twelve years we made own mud bricks on the property and built a comfortable house with a verandah all around. The road from Wubin stopped at the rabbit proof fence and in tme neighbourly spirit, a friend Ted Pope ploughed a road to the Biemfels gate a distance of seven miles. Viv then chained a railway sleeper to his truck; Merle stood on the sleeper; Viv driving off carefully and in this way they smoothed the road!
Viv and Merle Simonsen >
Merle was active in the Jibberding Congregational church, being superintendent of the Sunday School from its commencement in 1936 and for some years President of the Jibberding Branch of the CWA, also a Divisional President and in 1961 was made State President. She was also made a Life Member of the CWA and was awarded the Queens Silver Jubilee Medal in 1977 for her services to the community. As a result of her association with CWA Merle was the first woman appointed to a Statutory Marketing Board (Potato Board) from 1964-73 Merle Jnr. attended Cailbro school whilst Beverley undertook correspondence lessons and later traveled into Dalwallinu. Merle Jnr. especially has memories of a very happy childhood in Jibberding. Vivian and Merle retired to Perth in 1964, Vivian dying on the 12.12.1979 and Merle 27.7.2001 and were cremated at Karrakatta.
The Simsonsens' original house, built 1929 >
SMITH, Claude R.
Claude was the butcher in Wubin in the 1930s before W Toesland. His wife Joan is remembered as a slim, dark haired lady. Claude attended a football meeting in 1929 and was a listed member in 1933.
SMITH, Harold Eaton
Harold b. 15.5.1894 in Fakenham, Norfolk, England, and travelled out to Australia arriving in Fremantle in 1910. He resided for some time in North Perth. On the 23.8.1919 he married Flora Margaret PARROTT in West Perth. Harold and his family arrived in the district in 1922 to operate the local store, which was known as Smith's Store and later as Smith and Parrott when his brother-in-law John joined the business in 1923. Harold and Flora had three daughters: - Elsie Frances (DAVIES) b. 29.6.1920; Yvonne Evelyn (Von) b. 22.7.1922 and Shirley Margaret (MOORE)(Peggy) b. 12.7.1927. After several years in the Wubin business Harold took a job as representative for a large machinery firm and moved his family to Trayning, where Elsie started school. He traveled extensively in the wheat belt area between 1925-26, before moving his family to a new house in Nedlands where Peggy was bom. From there he continued to travel. Early in 1928, Harold returned to Wubin to take up a virgin block of land west of the town. After clearing some of the bush, he built a new cottage so that his family could join him. He planned to work with his brother-in-law who was still managing the Wubin general store. Tragically Harold was murdered at Miamoon on the 22.6.1928 and was buried in Dalwallinu. A public fund sponsored by the R.S.L. was set up to help Flo and the girls who were more or less destitute.
Harold Eaton Smith on a motorbike outside the Ayres home in Wubin >
The result was the building of a Guest House on the comer of Arthur and Glowery Sts., which opened on the 12.7.1929. Flo ran a successful business there for 11 years and was known for her generosity and hospitality during the Depression years. Flo also taught sewing at the Wubin school after Cissie Bames left. Elsie and Von attended Wubin school in the old hall from 1929, under teacher Sheila Travers. Peggy started there in 1932 with Eric Field and Abe Clarke as teachers. Flo left Wubin at the end of 1940 to work in country hospitals; she then lived mainly in Perth until her death on the 24.9.1966, age 73. She is buried in Karrakatta. Information given in 2002 states, Elsie now lives in Manning and Peggy lives in East Victoria Park. Yvonne never married and worked at Royal Perth Hospital for 20 years.
Mrs Flo Smith with daughters Elsie and Von >
George worked as a farm hand on Mr. George Stewart’s farm. He was killed in an accident in 1931, while operating a 22 run combine drill and cultivator. George was 34 years old at the time of his death and said to have relatives in England and New Zealand.
George b. around 1900 in Scotland. The son of a miner he worked as a farm labourer for two years on Chris Seton’s property and afterwards for the Cail brothers on Cailbro farm. He also had his own farm between Carter Road and East Wubin Road. Whilst in Wubin he married Audrey. He moved to Perth around the time of the second world war and joined the Military Police.
Bill worked as a lumper on the wheatstacks and lived in a house at the south end of Arthur St. Wubin. He played pennant tennis for Wubin in 1922/23 and cricket 1933-36.
Terry worked for Schulze’s from 1932-36, and also had a younger brother Les who worked in the district.
Jock was a clearer and dam sinker in the area.
George and his wife May, a tall, thin woman, and their two daughters Jean and May lived in a house on the comer of Flynn and Anderson Road, West Wubin. May Jnr. achieved great success in the local school sports. The family delivered milk to the Wubin town. P O Directory Wubin 1923-39 Farmer
SULLIVAN, Reverend Richard Alfred Trevelyn
Reverend Sullivan was bom in South Australia around 1887 and came to Western Australia as a young man. He originally became a Methodist Minister but was later ordained into the Congregational Church. He married Agnes Hadden PRICE in 1910. They had three children: Blanche, Lincoln and Tevelyn. From the 14.4.1921 to 1954 he lived in Dalwallinu ministering to his flock in what was a huge area. His territory stretched from Kokardine-Cadoux in the south, to Latham in the north. It embraced 15 centres in which he regularly conducted services. A party was held in Wubin in 1946 to celebrate his 25 years of service to the district. He features in the photo of 1925 congregation of a church service held at Reudaveys' home. In the very early days he travelled by horse and sulky. Although not living in the Wubin district itself, he (Sully) ministered to his parishioners there for many years and was well known and loved, becoming an important part of the district’s life. Agnes died on the 13.12.1972 age 94 and the Reverend on 30.4.1976 at the age of 89.
Anzac Day 1936 in front of Smith’s Boarding house >
Rev. and Mrs Sullivan, Mrs Smith with her daughter in front
George b. 10.6.1898 in Sunderland, England, and arrived in Fremantle on the ship 'Hobsons Bay' in 23..4.1923. He worked for several farmers in Buntine, including chopping suckers (small regrowth trees) for Counsels for about six weeks. George then went to work for the Reudavey family at Jibberding, later still to Jibberding station before finally obtaining his own block on the Rabbit Proof fence. He remained a close friend of the Reudavey family. George played cricket for Jibberding 1936-39. On the 21.1.1941, George married Marjorie Nooma Inglis KNIGHT in Nedlands, Perth. Marjorie was bom in Albany on the 5.4.1908. The couple had two children: - Phillip b.13.11.1942 and Adele b.5.5.1947, both were bom at Dalwallinu Hospital. The Surtees family left Jibberding on the 1st March 1948, after purchasing a much larger property at Gabbin. George retired into Koorda in 1964 and died on the 11.11.1988 and was buried in Koorda cemetery. Marjorie died at Wylkatchem on the 17.5.1999. The Gabbin property was sold in 2001.
George and Marjorie Surtees >
SYKES, George Frederick
George came from North Perth to manage the Wubin Hotel about 1936-38, together with his wife Leaf, who was responsible for the accommodation and meals side of the business. They had a son Des who attended Wubin school. After leaving Wubin they managed hotels at Miling, Tammin and Manjimup. They purchased the hotel at Mt. Magnet, however this was leased and they moved to Mandurah. George died on the 24.1.1958 aged 62.
SYME, David Christie
David b.23.6.1902 at “Lynmill”, Clackmannanshire, Scotland, was the third child of Robert and Catherine, and arrived in Australia with his family in July 1913, on the S.S. Belgic. After living in Victoria Park, the family moved to the Wubin district in September 1918, David initially working as a farm hand. He shared a camp with his brother John, but after it burnt down one day they moved into a little weatherboard cottage, specially built for them by their father and his friend Jimmy Davidson. They lost everything in the fire but the local community were generous in donating mgs, cooking utensils etc. On 28.6.1930 David married Helen Allan CHALMERS b. 17.5.1908, Edinburgh, Scotland, at St. Andrews Church, Perth. The couple had four children: - Robert David Syme b. 26.8.1931; Barbara Mary b. 25.8.1935; Catherine Helen b. 19.8.1944 and John Allan b. 2.12.1947. The Syme family lived at Hillside, four miles north of Wubin, the property still belongs to members of the Syme family. (2004). Helen died on the 23.6.1982 in Perth and David died in Perth on 15.4.1988 and is buried in Dalwallinu.
SYME, John (Jock)
Jock was born 25.7.1898 in Clackmannan, Scotland, the eldest child of Robert and Catherine, and arrived in Australia in 1913. Jock was on the first passenger train to Mullewa (on the Wongan line) traveling as far as Bowgada. He moved to Wubin, working for a farmer Mr R A Gamble, eventually purchasing the farm block 5410 Victoria Location, from him. In 1921, he purchased a Model T Ford 1 ton truck. In the early 1920's when the first Wubin Hall was built, he was made one of the five trustees of the hall. In 1926 he was elected to the Dalwallinu Road Board and served until 1943 when he became the Secretary until 1945. During that time he was President from 1932 to 1939. In 1926 Eugenie Catherine PRIEST (b. 10.8.1906 York, WA.) arrived in Dalwallinu to work at the new Dalwallinu hotel. On the train journey, she met a Mrs. Perfect, who was also traveling to Dalwallinu, as she was to attend her daughter Mona’s wedding to Mr. "Fred” Carlshausen. On 28.3.1928, Eugenie and Jock were married in the old Wubin Hall. It was a double wedding as Jock's sister Janet married Ernest MYERS of Wubin at the same time. Jock and his wife had four children: - Robert b.3.11.1929; John Victor b. 19.1.1932; Eugenie Catherine (COLLINS) b. 1.2.1934 and Alexander John b. 11.5.1946. The three eldest children attended the Wubin school moving onto boarding school at high school age. The youngest son attended Buntine school and then went away to board. Robert farmed at Wubin until 1973 when he moved to Camamah and later retired to Perth. John Jnr moved to Dongara after farming his own property at Wubin. Eugenie jnr to Karratha and Alexander to Denmark WA. Jock died at the Dalwallinu hospital on 8.8.1983 and Eugenie on 2.7.1976, both are buried in Dalwallinu cemetery.
Jock and Eugenie Syme on their Wedding Day 28.3.1928 >
Robert b. 1874, and brought his family out to Australia on the S.S. Belgic, arriving on 3.7.1913. Robert and wife Catherine had six children:- John; Margaret; David Christie, Robert; Janet (MYERS) and James. Settling first in Victoria Park where he bought a block of land, he began to build his own house. By 1916 he had established himself as a stonemason in Perth and was sub-contracting on new building foundations. He used a pony and cart to travel to work, carrying his wheelbarrow and tools. One of the Perth buildings he worked on was the Ross Memorial church in Hay St. West Perth.
The family moved to Wubin in 1918 and Robert is credited with having built the original Dalwallinu Hospital, the Wubin butchers shop and numerous farmhouses in the district including that of his son Jock. In 1924 he also purchased land at Wubin. He died on the 23.9.1930; his wife Catherine died on the 13.10.1947 age 72 years. Both are buried in Dalwallinu.
Bernie was the brother of Jerry, the baker. He worked in the district and at Paynes Find from 1935-37. A member of the Wubin football club 1935-36 and part of Wubin countryweek tennis team 1935.
Jerry owned the Wubin bakery and was married to Loma DAVIES (sister-in-law to Alice Richards). He was a member of the Wubin football club 1935-38 and President 1937/8. He also played cricket 1934/38 and went to Countryweek tennis in both 1936 and 1937.
THOMAS, Rhys Ivan (Snow or Snowy)
Snowy b. 4.1905 lived in the district during the 1920s onwards and worked for Bradshaw’s Blacksmith, and was a tank maker “extraordinaire” building locally. He served as a blacksmith during the 2nd World War, and Mr Frank Reudavey remembered him working as an apprentice at Sawyers’ Blacksmith shop, in Dalwallinu, around 1920. Snowy was a very well known identity in the Wubin district and resided in the town for many years with his family. He died 20..6.1995 aged 90 and is buried at Dalwallinu cemetery.
Gertrude was a teacher who transferred in September 1937 from Latham to Miamoon School. She taught there until 1940 and boarded with Gladys Sanders. Her married name was Gertrude SKIPWORTH. At the Wubin Golf Club Ball 1938, Gertrude was presented with a trophy won during the year.
Samuel married Elizabeth Jessie ABERCROMBIE in Fremantle in 1894 where four children were bom. Harold b. 1894, Wilkie James b. 1899, Alsa Elspeth (PRINCE) b. 1904 and Roy. Samuel was a former Mayor of East Fremantle and after his term had ended, he and his son Harold moved to Nugadong in 1909. Second son Wilkie joined them in 1911. Elizabeth, son Roy and daughter Alsa moved up when a house was completed for them in 1912. Their first house had a gimlet frame, roof of iron, hessian walls and a linoleum floor. They entertained quite often and two of their visitors were H Parker who had been Town Clerk and Engineer of East Fremantle and Dr Dermer who was the Health Officer there. Dr Dermer performed some operations under their verandah and Sam made him an elevator to allow him to perform a dental operation on Elsie Cullinane. Samuel worked as a tinsmith in the district. He died on 16.7.1944 and Elizabeth on the 23.7.1954 and both are buried at Fremantle.
Three brothers came into district around 1928 and only stayed about two to three years They had a farm at east Wubin near Mitchells. The brothers were tall men and rodemotorbikes. The eldest brother had a job in Perth. George Cail harvested their only crop (circa 1929) which was full of tee tree suckers, so weight of bags was very light.
THORPE, Watkin Thomas
Watkin b. 1899 and farmed a property at West Wubin. On the 2.4.1938 he was found dea< in one of his paddocks, with a bullet wound to his head. A verdict of suicide was returned He was 38 years old and was buried at Dalwalllinu. He was reported to have had daughter Vera. Watkin was totally deaf and communicated in sign language.
TOESLAND, Leslie Rowland
Leslie was the eldest son of Walter and Elizabeth and took over his father’s farm in the late 1930s. He was married to Eileen LYONS from Kalamunda and they had a daughter Pauline Lesley b.6.2.1941 d.22.12.1955. Leslie was a member of the Wubin football club 1936/37 with his brother Russell. He later had a business at Cadoux. Leslie died 17.12.1976 and Eileen 22.5.1981 and both are buried at Karrakatta.
TOESLAND, Walter Russell
Walter b. 10.6.1879 on Kangaroo Island, South Australia. He married Elizabeth WATSO> in Morgan, SA. They came to the Wubin district around 1914, when Walter became manager of Jibberding Station. The couple had four children: - Leslie Rowland b. 1911; Amy Constance b. 29.11.1913; Phyllis Jean b.24.4.1915 and Russell Malcolm b. 16.5.1918 Elizabeth was noted for her fine cooking. Walter was a supporter of the Wubin football club in 1928. He later farmed his own property, named “Misery” in the 1930s. He also opened the first butcher’s shop in Dalwallinu. In 1935 he took over the butcher’s shop in Wubin to enable him to use the Wubin slaughter yards. He also delivered meat to Buntine (on Tuesdays) and was reported to have sent meat as far as Morawa by rail. Walter died on 2.8.1941 aged 62 and Elizabeth on 24.8.1966 aged 90 and both are buried in Dalwallinu.
Sheila was a teacher at Wubin School when it was held in the hall, 1929-1932. It was known to the education department as Wubin Siding School. She started on a salary of 222 pound: per year, rising to 236 pounds in 1931. When the school’s category classification was changed her salary went down to 221 pounds 17 shillings. She married Dan Norton in 1933. Reportedly a strong-minded lady who was ahead of her time with her educational methods. She boarded at Smith’s guest house.
TREASURE, Francis Henry (Frank)
Frank b. 8.3.1899 in Northam was the second child of James and Jane Treasure of the Cunderdin district. His childhood was a hard one, which saw him handling a team of horses at the age of six years. He was big for his age, very capable, reliable boy. Because of this his father put his schooling off until he was eleven years of age, as he was too valuable at home on the land. He attended school for five months advancing four grades in that time. Frank was a good scholar and his mother helped him at night. He was very disappointed when the five months were over and he was needed back on the farm. Throughout his life, he worked very hard at whatever he did and always did it well. Frank continued to work on the farm until World War I when he put his age up to 18 years (he was 16) and went to fight for his country, enlisting in the 44th Battalion on 26.5.1916. Frank was shot from behind through the right shoulder whilst serving in France. His shoulder was shattered, a lung punctured and the major blood vessels severed and losing so much blood it was thought he would die. However being a strong young person (19 years of age) he pulled through and was eventually taken to hospital in England where he underwent a series of operations. A blood transfusion was required, in which the person donating the blood sat beside the recipient and the blood went directly from donor to recipient. Eventually he was shipped back to WA. Arriving on the 19.4.1919 where he entered Fremantle hospital and had further surgery to remove fragments of bone and bullet. The joint was wired internally and as a consequence, he had only limited movement of his arm. Frank was awarded three medals - one being the Military Medal for taking prisoners. He was congratulated for gallantry and devotion to duty. Frank returned to Australia on 19.4.1919. He had a love for farming and a wonderful way with animals but authorities felt that with such major injuries, farming would not be possible and they would not grant him a soldier settlement block. With great determination and finance from the sale of the land he owned at Cunderdin, he acquired 1325 acres at Wubin in 1925 and in 1950 a further 2000 acres of virgin land which he developed contrary to all expectations. Frank met his future wife Jessie Elizabeth (YAXLEY) b.29.7.1904 in Bexleyheath England. Jessie had migrated to Australia from England and Frank met her in Wubin. She was employed as a domestic with a family in the area. Frank and Jessie were married at Dalwallinu on the 14.4.1934. Frank took his new wife home to a lovely stone house, which he had built himself. Here they had six children, one of which died as an infant. Three sons and two daughters still survive: James b.23.2.1935; Stanley b.18.7.1937; Valerie (TAGGART) b.16.6.1942; Glenis (FERGUSON) b. 13.2.1945 and John b.27.6.1950. All the children attended local schools -Jibberding, East Wubin, North Dalwallinu and the Dalwallinu convent. During World War II Frank acted as a voluntary instructor with the V.D.C. Later he taught woodwork at Jibberding school purely on a voluntary basis. He loved wildflowers and it was this love that led him to donate 100 acres of land for the preservation of native plants and wildflowers. His farm at Wubin known as West Kent farm was sold in 1973 and Frank and Jessie retired to Perth. He died there on 17.9.1984 and is buried in Cunderdin and Jessie died on 29.7.1990 and is buried at Karrakatta.
Frank and Jessie Treasure were married in the Congregational Church at Dalwallinu 14.4.1934. Rev. Trevelyn Sullivan, who officiated, is kneeling in front. >
TREASURE, H.E. (Ted)
Ted was the son of Syd who worked locally and had three children. Florence, Edward and William who went to the West Wubin school from 1925 (its commencement) until 1928. He played cricket for Wubin regularly from 1928-1933.
Syd was a farm manager for Parker’s at West Wubin and the father of Ted. He played criket for Wubin from 1925-1928.
Alf and his family lived on the north side of Addie Robinson’s drapery shop in the late 1930’s. They had a son Alfie. Alf was an odd job man. and his wife later worked for Winnie Vincent and Alfie went to Cailbro school about 1950 for a short while.
WALKER, Norm H
Norm was a mail contractor who worked for the Barratt’s Store. In 1925 he married their only daughter Dorothy. P O Directory Wubin 1927 shows N Walker Bookkeeper.
WASLEY, Arthur Henry
Arthur was born 26.6.1875 in Ballarat, and married Lilian Jane HOCKING at the Ballarat Town Mission on the 23.7.1895. Lilian b. 12.2.1875 at Clunes, Victoria. At the time of his marriage Arthur’s occupation was given as painter and Lillian’s as dressmaker. The couple had ten children: Iolene Lilian (PEARCE) b. 1.7.1896 at Ballarat, Floris Reta (SAUNDERS) b.23.9.1898; Gladys Harding (FITZSIMONS) b.1901; Herbert Charles b. 1903 and Arthur Tregonning b.4.3.1906, Clifford Walcott b.30.1.1908; Cecil Laurence b.22.11.1909; Eunice (who died in infancy), Ronald George b.28.6.1914 and Norman William b. 18.9.1918, all bom in Perth. The family moved from Victoria to Perth in 1896. Arthur was the mayor of North Perth at one time. In 1910, he took up land in Jibberding. Lilian’s sister Cerceda Grace (Reudavey) was living nearby with her family.
Arthur’s property was share cropped until the couple's son Herbert Charles was old enough to take over. Arthur meanwhile worked as a painting contractor in the city making only occasional visits to the farm. He was a member of the Dalwallinu Road Board from 1922 to 1928. He died at Mt. Lawley 4.5.1952 aged 76 and Lilian died 19.4. 1955 aged 80. Both were cremated at Karrakatta.
Arthur and Lilian Wasley >
WASLEY, Arthur Tregonning
Arthur, who was born 4.3.1906, lived on the Wasley farm at Jibberding from April 1918. He married Ruby Kate WARNER 29.8.1936 at Perth Congregational Chapel. The couple had three children: Wilfred bl938; Lorraine (JURKOV) b 1941 and Derrick b 1944. He was a member of the Dalwallinu Road Board 1944/45 and prominent in many local organizations including the Jibberding Tennis Club. Ruby was a foundation member of Jibberding CWA and well known for her cooking skills. Arthur died in Jibberding on the 16.8.1965 and is buried in Dalwallinu Cemetery. Ruby continued to live on the farm for many years before moving to the city. She died at the age of 89 on the 30.3.1997.
Arthur and Ruby Wasley >
WASLEY, Gladys Harding
Gladys b. 18.11.1900 in Perth and went to Highgate Primary School then gained a scholarship to Perth Modem School. After finishing school she stayed home and helped her Mother until coming to Jibberding to housekeep for her brothers. (Bert and Arthur). She married Bill FITZSIMONS in 1930 and moved to East Buntine. Gladys was a good singer and sang in the choir of the North Perth Congregational Church.
Gladys and husband Bill Fitzsimons
WASLEY, Herbert Charles
Herbert (Bert) b. 19.12.1903 in Perth was the eldest son of Arthur and Lilian Wasley. He lived at Jibberding from around 1915, to work his father’s property, and stayed with his Aunt and Uncle Cerceda and Henry Reudavey. When his brother Arthur had completed his schooling, they built a small house on their father’s property and their sister Gladys came to keep house for them. Bert and Arthur ran the family farm and in 1927 Bert bought a Model T Ford to replace the light jinker cart he had previously used to travel to Perth on the 14.3.1931 Bert married Edna Agnes FINGLAND at the Perth Congregational Church. Prior to the marriage Bert had bought a house from the Day Dawn Mine and had it transported to Jibberding. The couple adopted two children, Pam b 1940 and Jenny (HARRIS) b 1940. Edna took over the Jibberding telephone exchange from Mrs. Reudavey only giving up when the exchange was automated. Edna was a foundation member of the Jibberding CWA and teacher, later superintendent of the Jibberding Sunday School. Bert was treasurer of the local Congregational Church for many years and served on the Dalwallinu Hospital Board. Bert was renowned for his tea making ability at public functions, where the water was boiled in an outside copper. Edna died on the 6.9.1977 at the age of 74 and Bert then retired from the farm, moving to Dalwallinu, then to Gingin, where he died on the 18.4.1988. Both are buried in Dalwallinu Cemetery.
Left: Bert and Edna Wasley at their wedding in 1930 and
Right: at their daughter Jenny’s wedding >
WASLEY, Ronald George
Ronald b. 28.6.1914 came to Jibberding in 1929 to help around the house and farm after his sister Gladys married. In 1934 he went to Perth to study and then in 1937 traveled to South Australia to train as a minister in the Congregational Church. He met and married Pearl Irene JOHNSON b 25.7.1910 in South Australia. The couple had three children; Grahame b. 1946; Doug b. 1950 and Lynn (MCLACHLAN) b. 1953. Ron later returned to WA and became the minister of the Dalwallinu Parish from 1959 to 1966. Ron died 17.10.2001 in Perth aged 87.
Ron Wasley officiating at the wedding of Dorris Harvey (nee Cail) >
In the local paper (Jibberding Jingles) of 15.8.1925, it was reported that Mr Waters from Bencubbin opened a bakery in Wubin. P O directory Wubin 1927 Waters R. baker.
WEGNER, Johann Wilhelm (Jack)
Jack b. 27.11.1893 to Heinrich and Maria Wegner (nee BRUHN) in Caltowie, SA. His grandparents Joachim and Maria Wegner came to South Australia from Germany in 1856. Jack only had five years of schooling as the family moved to Pinnaroo S.A. in 1905 where there was no school. He learnt the trade of blacksmith as well as working on the family farm. After his father sold the farm he worked on the railway construction in S.A. In 1914 he joined the army and served overseas in World War I. On returning from the war Jack and his brother Walter moved to Western Australia and went farming at Salmon Gums.
Jack and Hilda Wegner on the day of their marriage in 1925 >
In 1925 Jack returned to South Australia for a short time and on the 26.9.1925 at Prospect he married Hilda May LARSEN b. 1901 in Adelaide. S.A. They returned to Salmon Gums, and on 13.10.1933 moved to commence farming in the Wubin district. Jack and Hilda had three children: -Valdemar Kenneth b.2.12.1928; John b. 15.12.1930 and Marie Dorothy (REDFORD) b. 19.6.1932. Jack died on the 23.7.1986 at the age of 92 and Hilda on 12.3.1988 aged 86 and they are both buried in Karrakatta.
Thomas was a farm labourer on Norman Perfect’s Nugadong property, He later moved to Northam.
Joe was a well sinker and worked with Jack Johnson. They sunk a well on the Wubin East Road by Schulze’s farm, which was used into the 1990s.
Percy b. around 1877 in Driffield, Yorkshire, arriving in Australia shortly before WW1. He joined the AIF and when the war was over sailed to Fremantle on the “Kaiser I Hind”. He began farming a property five miles west of Wubin, known as “Mervyn Farm”, Nugadong AA Locations 16 and 5762. Percy married Beatrice May BRADY, a Sydney girl, in Perth, and the couple had two children:- George b. 30.12.1921 and John Sydney b. 27.10.1924. Both attended Mia Moon school.
Percy was active in the local R.S.L., being Secretary for many years whilst Jim Day was President. Beatrice was a member of Wubin C.W.A. John and George became navigators in the RAF, and after the war George became a watchmaker and jeweller, running his own business. John worked for the Commonwealth Government in Perth and in Canberra, and from 1970 - 1972 was Administrator of Christmas Island in the Indian Ocean. He retired to live in Canberra. Percy died on the 9.1.1957 aged 80 and Beatrice on the 8.10.1969 and both are buried in Karrakatta Cemetery.
Ernie b. 17.12.1904 in Oxford, UK. and arrived in WA. on the 3.7.1913 on the ship "Belgic". He was one of the many child migrants brought up on Fairbridge Farm, Pinjarra. His first job was on a dairy farm owned by a future premier of W.A. Ross Mclarty. From there he went to another farm job near Bunbury. Ernie arrived in the Wubin district in 1922 to work at Farrells property. He was referred to as the ‘Colonel’ as when he arrived he was decked out in ex army gear, and the nickname stuck for most of his life.
Ernie Willis grading wheat
Later Ernie worked for Mr. Draffin who owned a property at Jibberding. He milked the cows and looked after pigs etc, and also worked at Cailbro for a while. After the war he moved to Dalwallinu and worked for the Road Board and then on the telephone lines for PMG. He was very good at finding survey pegs. In 1947/48 when the road past Cailbro school was bulldozed and graded, Ernie walked the road picking up the many sticks, left by machinery. On the 22.12.1949 Ernie married Janet Frost b. 15.9.1902 (nee MEERES) at Dalwallinu. Janet died on the 18.9.1984 aged 82. Ernie died on 5.4.1994 and both are buried in Dalwallinu Cemetery.
Ernie and Janet Willis on their wedding day 18.9.1984
Benjamin b. 1893 in Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire England, served with the British Army in France 1914-1918, and came out to Australia on the 'Euripides' traveling third class. He arrived in Fremantle on 2.5.1923 and worked in the Wubin - Buntine district for Mr. West then Mr. Jas. Day. His final employment was with Mr. Bill Arthur for next 21 years. Benjamin became a founder member of the Wubin sub - branch of the R.S.L. He died on the 3.9.1948 and was buried in Dalwallinu.
WILSON, Clancy (Chook)
Chook, a shearer, came from Victoria and worked as a general labourer in the Wubin district, and taught Fred Day to shear. When not affected by drink he was a very good shearer. He was also very good with horses and dogs. It was known that he had a wife in Victoria who was looking for him.
WITHELL, Frederick Stewart
Federick b. 13.5.1888 in Meetung, Victoria and arrived in WA. prior to 1914. He married Eva b.29.11.1893 in Hungerford, Queensland on the 14.8.1914 in Kalgoorlie. They lived for a time in North Dalwallinu before moving closer to Wubin in 1926, where they were farming. They had two children: - Raye b. 12.4.1916 and Edward b. 1.12.1917. Both children attended West Wubin school before it was transported to Mia Moon and in 1931 they won scholarships to High School. In 1934 E Withell was granted a clearance from Wubin Football Club. Edward writes: "... my parents were very well known in the district especially in Dalwallinu where they were prominent members of the Golf Club. My father played the piano for a lot of the dances held in the Wubin Hall in the 1920s and 30s. After WWII their farm was share cropped, then leased and eventually sold around 1974." Frederick died in Wembley, Perth on 3.8.1962 and Eva on 26.10.1976. Both are buried in Karrakatta.
WOODHOUSE, Henry (Harry)
Harry b. 5.6.1869 in Dudley, Staffordshire, where his family had extensive land holdings and a brewery. He came to Australia around the age of 19, after two sisters had died from consumption in England. He landed in Melbourne and took the first job he could find -hacking bracken for five shillings a week. After trying tree felling he came out to the Kalgoorlie goldfields and made sufficient money by prospecting and gold assaying to enable him to return to Melbourne in 1897, to marry Margaret Lloyd, whom he had met when working for her father. The couple returned to W.A. and ran a grocery business in East Fremantle, during which time their four children were bom: - Alice Lillian b. 1898 d. 1899; William John (Jack) b.1902; Phyllis (NANKIVELL) b. 1907 and Frances (FEWINGS) b. 1915. Harry took up land known as Lake View in 1908 on the advice of a friend named Buntine who had surveyed the area around Miamoon and up to and beyond Buntine township. Lake View comprised location Nos. 2,3,4,5,6,7 and 8. Later locations 6839 and 8550 were added. Harry did not farm the land himself in the early days. GeorgeYoung Senior and Mafeking Sanders were two of the men who worked on Lake View for him in the early years. Harry was very successful as a business man and became Mayor of East Fremantle in 1919, managing to travel out to his property five or six times a year and living in a "humpy" which had four rooms and two verandahs. Three men were employed on the property, two as teamsters and one a rouseabout. Extra men were employed as shepherds or bag sowers when needed. Sadly Margaret Woodhouse died from cancer on 7.9.1921 and after Harry’s term as Mayor ended in 1924 he stayed for longer periods at Lake View. Harry was on the board of the Fremantle Hospital and was presented with a Gold medallion when he completed his term. Woodhouse Street in Fremantle is named after him, as is Woodhouse Street in Wubin. Harry employed Arthur Nankivell and P.E. Nankivell, who owned the first mechanical shearing plant in the district. Hand shearing had taken six weeks, however with the shearing plant this was reduced to two weeks. Phyllis married Prosser Nankivell of Wubin; Frances married John Fewings, a ships officer and went to live in South Australia.
Harry and Margaret Woodhouse on their Wedding Day in 1897 >
Jack never married and died in the 1960s. Harry died of pneumonia in 1934 at the age of 65. Harry, his wife Margaret, Margaret’s mother Lillian, Jack and Phyllis are all buried in East Fremantle.
George farmed a property called Moquet named after the battlefield in France where George fought in WW1 as part of the AIF. The farm was situated ten miles east of Wubin on the Great Northern Highway. George married Victoria (Tory) O’BRIEN in 1925 and they had two children: - Fay (BARTLETT) and Georgie. Tory played pennant tennis for Jibberding in 1932/33. George played cricket for Jibberding 1934-39. Woolf road from Great Northern Highway to Carter road is named after the family. George died 10.10.1960 aged 71 and Victoria in 1978 aged 74 both at Perth.
Fay Woolf and mother Tory Woolf Photo taken at an R.S.L. picnic >
WRIGHT, Harry and Ben
The two brothers originally came from England. Harry came to Western Australia first, Ben came later and when he arrived he thought his brother was out towards Kalgoorlie and took the train to Merredin. He asked everyone he saw did they know Harry Wright. At Merredin Ben met a fellow who said the only Harry Wright he had heard of was at Paynes Find. He was going to Paynes find via Mt. Magnet so Ben went with him and found his brother near there. When the block joining onto Reudavey’s homestead became available at Jibberding they took it up. Ben returned to England before the second World War having had a clearing sale on the property on the 13.3.1936 and served in the British army. Harry went on to active service with the 2/16th battalion on the Kokoda Trail during World War Two.
< Harry Wright
Ben Wright >
YATES, William (Bill)
Bill was the first station master at Wubin. He and his wife came to Wubin in 1932 from Walkaway, with four of their six children - Jack, Jean, Harry and Ned. Two daughters, Rina (LOGAN) and Isabel (HOWLETT) were living in Northampton. The four younger children all attended the Wubin school which had just been built. Bill was the stationmaster at Wubin for 10 years and was then transferred to Queens Park in Perth. By this time his children had all left home. After his retirement in July 1951 Bill and his lived in Carlisle, Perth. Jack worked on the Cail’s farm, Wubin wheatbins, the mines around Northampton, returning to Wubin to work for CBH. He married Rene WALKER. Jean worked at Mrs. Smith’s boarding house after leaving school and later taught sewing at the school. Harry joined the Navy and Ned the army Bill Yates died in 1962, his wife in 1971. Jack died in 1981, Rina in 1996, Harry in 1994, Ned in 1997 and Isabel in 1999.
Jean Yates and Elsie Smith September 1937 >
YOUNG, George Edmund
George b. 14.4.1886 in York married Susannah HEMPSALL a Lincolnshire bom girl also living in York, W.A. They had six children: - Olive May b. 1911; Raymond Ashworth b. 1913; James Thomas b. 1916; Doreen Agnas (HASAN) b. 1917, George Hempsall b. 1918 and Irwin Edward b. 1922. The family lived in York and Fremantle and arrived in the Wubin district in 1921 to take up share farming at the Woodhouse property. In 1925, the Young family took up 450 acres on the comer of West Wubin and Nugadong roads. George and his son Ray cleared the property using axes and built their first home of hessian. The children attended school at West Wubin and once a week a shopping trip was made by horse and cart to Wubin eight and a half miles away. George and Susannah returned to York in later years. George died on the 25.11.1955 and Susannah on the 31.12.1973 age 88. They were buried in York cemetery.
Young Family >
Back - Jim, Olive, Ray Front - Susanah, George Jnr, George Snr, Ted and Doreen
YOUNG, George Hempsall
George was the third son of George and Susannah Young. George joined the army on the 26.4.1940. He married Audrey POLLARD in Victoria in 1943 and had four daughters. The family returned to Perth and went to live in York, then share farmed at Buntine for three years before returning to the home farm at West Wubin. They then moved to live in Wubin town while George worked on the farm and also as a barman at the local hotel. He died on 1.4.1977.
Morrie Ashworth, Ted Young, Ray Young and George Young
YOUNG, James (Jim)
Jim was the second son of George and Susannah Young. He went to WW2 and became a prisoner of war in Germany. After the war he was farm manager for Fred Withell. He married Margaret, who was English, and they had one son Rodney. Margaret died in 1982 and Jim circa 1994.
YOUNG, Raymond Ashworth.
Ray b. 20.3.1913 in York, the eldest son of George and Susannah Young. At an early age Ray helped his father in clearing the home property and later cleared part of a crown grant called 'Outback', with a horse and log roller. Later still, he acquired the adjoining land,, which was to be known as 'Rockdale'. Ray married Phyllis Eileen BARR b. 24.9.1918 at Wagga Wagga NSW. Her parents Robert and Catherine Barr were share-farming next to the Young's property. Ray and Phyllis were married on 24.9.1942 and had five children - Kaye Lorraine b. 1943, Shirley Maxine b. 1946, Linley Joy b.1948, Kevin Raymond b. 1950 and Robert George b. 1954. In 2004 son Robert was living on the home farm, and the others had moved from the district. Phyllis died in a road accident on the 8.5.1982 and Ray died 3.9.2001 and both are buried in Dalwallinu.
Phyllis and Ray Young on the occasion of their wedding in 1942
William worked for Jack Carter and at Schulzes in 1938. He was a member of the Wubin Football Club 1936/38 and played cricket for Jibberding 1934-38.
A certain gentleman of the district was known as ‘Hydraulic Jack’ after the disappearance of items found to be missing following his departure from the job.
A piece of architectural masterpiece was the chook pen. It was designed to allow the hens to deposit their eggs in the nest, and they then rolled down a long wooden trough to the outside of the pen, ready to be collected without having to dodge the waste chook deposits. (Wright brothers)
A local character of the district would always entertain at the dances by performing his own special “jig” in the comer of the hall.
The tale is told of one local shearing identity who, having consumed a few drinks of red wine with the farmer one evening, retired to bed. The farmer had left a full bottle of raspberry cordial on the table but next morning the bottle was empty. No doubt our shearer friend became thirsty during the night but was not in a fit enough state to recognize it was cordial.
Our Scotsman who was used to driving noisy trucks, became the proud owner of a Chevrolet Utility. Whenever he started the ute, it was heard to roar loudly with the motor flat out. It is reported that repairs to the clutch were a common necessity. He was also well known for the size of his bung lips - due to the prevalence of the bush fly.
Sportsman of the day, an avid cricketer in the Jibberding team of the 1930’s, never used his hands to stop the ball, but instead used his shins. Ouch! (George Woolf)
Two well sinkers - one short and one tall - always started with the taller one descending the well first, until it became impossible for his smaller partner to pull the debris and the partner to the top. It was then time to swap over - your turn mate!. (Johnson & White)
The story is told of Frank Reudavey who always rode his horse to tennis at Jibberding. Frank was carrying his axe - always razor sharp - when the horse stumbled from underneath Frank. Much to the astonishment of the onlookers neither horse or rider sustained any injury.
Jack Carter went over to see Bill Farrell. Bill was hay cutting. There were always many workers on Bill’s farm and this time was no exception. As there was much noise Jack and Bill decided to go round to the back of the haystack to talk to each other. As they did so, they found three of Bill\s workers playing cards and as they arrived one was heard to say “I’m going alone”. “Oh, no you’re not” was Bill quick retort “you’re all going”.
Wilkie Thompson recalls the cricket matches of 1914 - the year of a devasting drought in the district as a great moral booster to the community. Wilkie’s father, Samuel who bowled slow leg breaks was top of the bowling average for W.A. in 1899. Samuel, Wilkie and brother Harold all played cricket for local teams.
It was in 1916 that Harold Thompson ploughed up a plant with strange orange flowers, which were packed into a small box and sent off to the city with his father. Samuel, the father, having once been the mayor of East Fremantle, showed to flowers to the head gardener of Fremantle who said it was a fungus of some kind. Several years later it was found to be a rare underground orchid named Rhizanthella.
Learning to Drive - In the very early 1930’s when motor cars were being purchased by some of the farmers in the district, the story is told of one such person who became the proud owner of his first car. However, having only driven horses he was not conversant with the intricacies of a motor powered vehicle. The car was kindly driven from Perth by a lady friend of the family whose duty it was to then show the daughter of the farmer the “ins and outs” of taming this machine, and the daughter would then become the driving instructor to dad. Alas the daughter’s lessons did not go well and she was found wanting in her teaching capacity. Dad then took the car for a drive, past the sheds, straight through the fence - not once but seven times, then mounted a tree in the paddock and eventually came to rest in the loose sand! The red light came on and dad’s drive came to an end with little damage to the front of the nice new car!! (Ellison story)
This is the car in the story - a 1932 four door Chevrolet Tourer
The story is told by E. R. C. (Ralph) Harris of how each of the wells originally established by the New Norcia Monks when shepherding flocks through the country had its own distinct water flavour.
From the different wells, the billy tea had its own taste - no need for the selections we have on our grocery shelves today!
It was at one of the wells the most durable damper ever baked came to light. On waking a perfect looking damper was visible. There must have been a settler nearby because soon an old white hen appeared and viewed the damper expectantly. However, after scratching diligently for some time without securing even a crumb it went disconsolately on its way. Next our old cart horse from a pastry cooks stable in Perth, which would eat anything containing flour, from fancy cakes to meat pasties, advanced upon the damper with delight. However he was unable to secure a morsel and walked disappointedly away. A return to the site several years later failed to reveal the damper so presumably wind and weather had achieved what the stock could not.
Some excerpts from Mrs Elizabeth Klein’s diary.
1909 “So we settled in and made the best of it. I had to start and make bread for all on the farm. We all worked hard, there was clearing to be done, make our own yeast and make the best of all tin food”
“Mr Liebe always came up for the holidays at Christmas time. He would bring toys for the children and presents for all on the farm. He enjoyed being Father Christmas”.
1911 “A picnic at our place lasted three days. The early settlers came from Dalwallinu, also three gentlemen came with their camels. They had just finished surveying the railway and got as far as Wubin and stayed at Mr Glowerys farm, next to us. They heard of the picnic and came with the camels and some cakes. They gave us all a ride on the camels and made the picnic very enjoyable.
More people came the next day and on the Sunday a Church Service was held at the picnic.”
Some of those who attended the picnic on the Klein’s.
Mrs Klein (right hand side of photo) is nursing her younger daughter Rita and elder daughter Edna is on her right.
As published in the North Eastern Courier 17.5.1929
Tim McCullagh as all may see A real dinkum Aussie is he;
Built in athletic mould Tim’11 never grow old.
You can’ brush the smile from his face -So I’m told Whatever the matter may be.
Down at Wubin, Tim hath his abode,
Should you happen to stray from your road Call and see Tim And I’ll bet half a “Jim”
You’ll soon go rejoicing because you met him -Helping other is part of his code.
In all kinds of sport he delights,
Cricket, or rough football fights.
On tennis he’s keen,
(He loves playing Buntine)
Where young folks forgather he can always be seen
And he’ll dance till there’s no need for lights.
EARLIEST FOUND POST OFFICES DIRECTORIES FOR THE WUBIN DISTRICT
1913 Jibberding - 202 miles North by rail to Woobing, then 14 miles
Carlshausen Albt. frmr Chamlerlin Stanley, frmr Gribble Chas. H. farmr.
Gully Robt. frmr Hallman Guston, frmr Mclldowie Jas. Frmr Peters Victor, frmr Reudavey Hy.R. frmr Richards Chas. frmr Richards Geo. frmr Rothkehl Robt. frmr Sibbald Gerald R. mgr. stn.
Thomas & Wigmore, Jibberding stn.
1916 Wubin - 177 miles North from Perth by rail
Baumberger, Wltr. frmr.
Bergenhagen, Louis, contr.
Black, Jas, mail contr.
Calder, Jno F. frmr Ellison, Frank S. contr.
Ellison, Fred J. contr.
Ellison, Jas, frmr.
Glowery, Tracey, mgr Glowery Est.
Klein, Albt. frmr.
Klein, Wm. frmr Lee, Geo. farm mgr.
Loughnan, Hugh, farm mgr.
Palfrey, Wm. frmr.
Peters, Victor, contr.
Richards Bros (Geo. & Chas.), frmrs.
Rothkehl, Herman, frmr.
Thompson, Harold, frmr.
Miamoon - 188 miles north by rail from Perth
Arthur, Matthew C. frmr. Arthur, Wm. farmer Cullinane, Michl. frmr. Ellison, Albt. C. frmr. Glowery, Jno, farmer Leadbeater, Jno, frmr.
Lee, Geo. frmr.
Loughnan, Hugh. frmr. Palfrey, W.G. frmr.
Parker, Horace, farmer Stiles, -
Thomson, Sami, farmer Woodhouse, Harry, farmer
The earliest Community Hall built in Wubin was owned by the Wubin Progress Association and built circa 1921.
This was not of substantial construction as the side braces of the thirteen foot high walls were not tied together in any way.
In December 1928 the school commenced in the hall.
In 1929 when the school was being held in the hall, on very windy days the teacher took the children outside as the hall swayed too much.
The hall was condemned in December 1931 and the school was to be closed if repairs were carried out.
Progress Associaton didn’t have the money to undertake repairs and so the Education Department spent five pounds repairing the building.
From the end of November 1932 the hall was no longer used for schooling as a new school was constructed.
First Wubin Hall 1927
WUBIN HALL (NEW)
This brick hall was built in 1936 and officially opened on Easter Monday at 3.00 pm 1936. It was built adjacent to the old hall which was demolished to make way for the Supper Room in the early 1950s. This is still in use at 2005.
Wubin Hall is it is in 2005
THE JIBBERDING MISSION HALL
The Jibberding Mission Hall, an old Church building from Carlisle, a suburb in Perth, was dismantled and railed to Wubin in 1933. Mr. Findlay, a carpenter had supervised these proceedings and traveled to Jibberding, his skill and patience assisting the local farmers to cart the building from Wubin and re-erect it on land donated by Mr. Draffin. Preparation of the site and having the hall ready for use took only about four weeks. The first function on August 26th 1933 was a thank you to all involved both from Perth and locally.
The special opening Church Service attended by 130 people was on Sunday September 3rd, 1933 at 3.30 pm. Reverend Sullivan conducted the musical service assisted by the Dalwallinu Congregational Church Choir. Mr Henry Reudavey declared the building open. Regular church services had been held at the Reudavey homestead since 1922.
Cost of the building was fifty pounds, freight twenty four pounds, eighteen shillings and tenpence and extra timber, paint etc. was fifty two pounds and threepence, all being paid by the Congregational Chapel Building Fund. The loan was at 3% interest and payable sometime in the future. In June 1950 forty pounds was still owing and Mrs. Grace Reudavey donated ten pounds and requested the remainder be paid from funds in hand. The debt was cleared!
From 1934 Church Services were held twice monthly and social evenings fomightly to aid funds. A Sunday School commenced in September 1936 with Mrs Simonsen the Superintendent. Jibberding Countrywomen’s Association used the back room for meetings, commencing in July 1938 and in 1939 the branch took over the running of the annual Christmas Tree. Other activities at the Hall were a Government school from 1942 to 1949, a branch of the Dalwallinu Library in 1949 and Farmers’ Union Meetings and meetings of the Lone Guides. It was also used for weddings, parties and as a Polling Booth for Elections.
Opening of Jibberding Hall 1933
A new hall was built in 1957, opened by Mrs Grace Reudavey who donated a 12 volt lighting plant. The building was paid off in 1959. The old hall was demolished in the 1984 due the infestation of white ant damage, and the new hall officially closed in August 2004, although it still remains.
Demolition of the old hall 13 July 1984
1918: School held at C. Richard’s home and shared on ‘week-about’ basis with North Dalwallinu School,
Teacher : Mrs Mabel Gregor
1919: School now full time at C. Richard’s home.
Closed 21.7.1919 “on account of accommodation - might re-open”.
Teacher : Mrs Mabel Gregor
Wubin Siding School
1919: School in Glowery’s building - opened 29.8.1919
Teacher: David Davies
1921: Closed 24.4.1921
1922-27: No school in Wubin
1928-32: School re-opened in the Wubin Hall 3.12.1928
Teacher: Sheila Travers 1932-35
New school opened 23.11.1932
(Officially opened 1933)
Teacher: Aloysius (Abie) Clarke
Sewing mistress : Flora Smith 1936-38
Teacher : Eric Field
Sewing mistress: Iris Field 1939-42
Teacher: Ted Marling
New Wubin School
Back Row (l-r) Les Bradshaw, Roy Schulze, Tom Lane, Bill Schulze, Abie Clarke (Teacher), Tom James, Les Clinch, Harry Yates, Don MacQueen, Ned Yates.
Front Row (l-r) Tom Birch, Peg Smith, Hilda Birch, Ruth Lane, Fay Woolf, Beryl Birch, Betty Ellison, Bill Buck.
Wubin School Concert 1936 - photo taken at side of Wubin Hall
Back row (l-r) Beryl Birch, Bill Schulze, Betty Ellison, Peg Smith, Fay Woolf, Oliver Schulze, Geoff Fields
Middle row (1-r) Jim Ellison, Arthur Robinson, Ned Yates, May Stewart, Des Sykes, Tom Birch, George Robinson
Front row (1-r) including Shirley Ellison, Kath Ellison, Joyce Robinson, Rachael Copley
Situated on Mclldowie’s farm approx. 8 miles east of Wubin on Paynes Find Road.
1921 April 1921
Teacher: Ursula Showell
1922-23 Teacher : Grace Pearson
School closed re-opened during WWII in Jibberding Hall
Jibberding School 1921/22
Back row (1-r) Majorie Reudavey, Teacher, ? Mcilldowie, ? Mcilldowie, ? Council Middle row (1-r) Eric Reudavey, Winifred Farrell, (with bow) Dorothy Reudavey, ?Counci Front row (1-r) Charlie (Pom) Richards, Alan Reudavey, Stan Anderton.
School days at Jibberding School
Wubin West School (1925-29) and Miamoon School (1930-50)
1925-29 Teacher: Florence Bell
1930-31 Teacher: Jean Hughan
1932-34 Teacher: Eileen Chambers
1935-37 August Teacher: Dorothea Lock
1937-40 Teacher : Gertrude Thompson
School closed in 1950
“Miamoon Bush School”
A copy of a painting by Marjorie Counsel and owned by former Miamoon Pupil Bill East who donated it to the Wubin Community
Wubin East School
1937: An assisted school by the community
Teacher: Clifford Hall
1938-41: Teacher: Eric Brown
In 1940 became a Govt. School
1942-43: Teacher: Elsie Slade
East Wubin School
Left - Teacher Clifford Hall
Anne Arthur, Jean Arthur
Isobel Arthur in front
Situated on Carter Road 20 miles east of Wubin
1939: An assisted school by the community
Teacher: Mrs M Lewis until Easter 1939
1939-40: Teacher: Miss E Hannaby
1941 Teacher: Miss I Falls
1942-3 Teacher: Mrs E Davies
1944-56 Government School
Cailbro School 1939
First Pupils -
Les Cail, Athol Mitchell, Thelma Cail, Bob Cail and Ernie Mitchell.
The school at Jibberding, West Wubin and Miamoon was the original school first erected at Dalwallinu. Opened on 1.6.1912. Situated on the Dalwallinu West Road and now marked by a memorial stone.
The school was moved to Jibberding, Victoria Location 3867 in March 1921. Later it was moved to West Wubin on one acre of H H Parker’s Ninghan location 15 in 1925.
In 1930 the name was changed to Miamoon and on 5.6.1935 the building was moved to Nugadong location 1 (approximately 8 kms further west). In 1952 the building was moved to Latham.
Cailbro school was a mud brick building. The school was built by working bees in 1938. The mud bricks were made on site.
1925 Waters, R (local paper August 1925, P O Directory 1927)
1928 Ridgewell, Don (P O Directory 1930)
1933-34 Lane, T.
1935-38 Thomas, Jerry (P O Directory 1937, 1939)
1939- Morris, Arthur
Don Ridgewell on right hand side of photo, 1928
Mid 1920s: Barratt, Mrs Annie (building later became Dalwallinu Farmer’s Co-op)
1924- Ayres, F (P O Directory 1927,1930)
1927- Carney, Vic, Assistant Blacksmith (P O Directory 1927)
1927- Bradshaw, Amos (P O Directory 1930, 1937)
1938-39 Murray, Jock (P O Directory 1939)
After dinner siesta at Bradshaw’s.
Man lying on floor at front is Amos Bradshaw. 1927
1920s-late 1930s: Cullinane, Mrs A (P O Directory 1923-27)
1929-1940: Smith, Mrs Flo
1930- Bradshaw, Mrs May (wife of the blacksmith)
1936- Fields, Mrs Elsie (wife of school teacher)
1927: Medlin, J (Mrs Klein's diary 1927, P O Directory 1927)
1929: Smith, J (Mrs Klein’s diary 1929)
1934- Smith, C.R. (Ellison’s records - a/c paid 1934-5. P O Directory 1937)
1938- Toesland, W R (Russell)
1938-9 Davies, Jack Assistant Butcher
One of Wubin’s earliest Butcher’s shops
Garages & Fuel Supplies
Cook, Bill, Shell Garage, Arthur Street
Norton, Dan, Partner of Cook in early years of the garage
late 1920s: Jarrett, G., South end of Great Northern Highway
1930s Hollard, Harold: Took over from Jarrett
1920s- Buck, Frank, Fuel supplier - north end of Highway
1914-18 Green, C.B (Bert)
1920-24 Davey, F.
1922-24 Smith, Harold Smith’s Store
1922-28 Barratt, Frank, New store built May 1925 on Highway
1923-29 Parrott, John, Smith & Parrott Store
Burnt down in 1928 and rebuilt.
1928- Birch, Sam, Birch & King (formerly Barratt’s)
1928: Buck, F.L. - Ran a store whilst Smith & Parrott rebuilt
1929-42 O’Driscoll, Dan, Wubin Trading Co. (formerly Smith & Parrott)
1929-48 O’Driscoll, Pat, Wubin Trading Co.
1936-60: Dalwallinu Farmers’ Co-op Limited
Photos taken of Smith & Parrott Store 1924
Photo taken inside store of Elsie and Von Smith
Aftermath of fire at Smith & Parrott’s Store at 8.00pm on 13.8.1928.
Trying to open the safe after the fire
Store which was run at F L Buck’s after the fire.
Second from left, Mr Smith, second from right Harry Treasure
and right hand side Frank Buck
In front of new Smith & Parrott Store 1928
Name changed to Wubin Trading Co from Smith & Parrott
when taken over by O'Driscoll Bros, in 1929.
Tray reads -
“With compliments From F.A.BARRATT
General Storekeeper, Forwarding, Commission & Newsagent
Full stocks of Drapery & Clothing
At Perth Prices”
Birch & King’s store
1914 Rothkeh, Robert: Delivered mail as far as Jibberding Station
1915 Black, James: Contractor Wubin to Jibberding P 0 Directory 1918
1918 Rudd B W L: Contractor to West Wubin
1925 Walker, Norman
1927 McCullagh, Terry Hallman, Gus Mitchell, Harry
Post Masters & Mistresses
1923 Davey, E Mrs Klein’s diary
1927 Barratt, F A Situated in comer of store
1928 Birch, Sam and Mrs New separate Post Office built
1936-56 Birch, Stan and Ethel
Railway line was extended from Wongan Hills through Wubin in 1915.
Wubin Railway yard January 1930. Town is on right of Photo.
1915: Black, Mrs James
1924 Ayres, Mrs and daughters
Ruby and Chrissie Served meals to the public
Richards, Mrs Served meals to wayside travellers
1938 Mrs Morris Ran a Tea Shop at the Bakery
Mrs J Arthur Mrs Bailey Mrs Biffen Mrs Birch Mrs Carlshausen Mrs Carter Mrs S Collins Mrs H Collins Mrs Cook Mrs Dowie Mrs Ellison Mrs Fields Mrs Gabel Mrs Hallman Mrs Howie Miss J Howie Miss M Howie Mrs Masling Mrs McDonald Mrs Morris Mrs Myers Mrs O'Driscoll Mrs Perfect Mrs Porter Mrs Richards Mrs Robinson Mrs Rowlands Mrs Schulze Mrs Sykes Mrs Syme Mrs Thomas Mrs Wegner Mrs Withall Mrs Yates
Wubin C W A 25th Anniversary
Mrs Jack Day, Mrs John Syme, Mrs Buck, Mrs Dan O’Driscoll, Mrs Ellison, Mrs Fred Carlshausen, Mrs Alec Wilson, Mrs Burgess
(First meeting was held 24th July 1938.)
Mrs J Arthur Mrs Mitchell
Mrs G Cail Mrs F Reudavey
Mrs R Cail Mrs H R Reudavey
Mrs T Cail Mrs Seton
Mrs D Chisholm Mrs Simenson
Mrs F Carlshausen Mrs Spence
Mrs J Day Mrs Treasure
Mrs MacPherson Mrs A Wasley Mrs B Wasley
Not known when badminton commenced however notes in the North Eastern Courier 1934 refers to badminton being played.
1.10.1937 - North Eastern Districts Badminton Championships (comprising Wubin, Pithara and Dalwallinu) Winners of ladies doubles - Misses E & D Birch - Wubin
Not known when Cricket was first played however information from North Eastern Courier states:
9.1.1925 Dalwallinu Cricket Association comprised of Wubin, Ballidu, Dalwallianu, East Pithara, Buntine, North Dalwallinu and Pithara.
1927-8 Wubin is listed as being part of the Wubin-Buntine Asso.
1928 First Wubin-Buntine Cricket Asso. Country Week Team.
Two notables results from games -
January 1935 - Wubin 12 runs lost to Pithara 7 for 29.
February 1936 - H Mitchell (Wubin) took 9 wickets for 36 runs.
Grounds - First ground was behind the hall and moved to the west side of the railway line in the 1930’s. Cricket went into recess after the 1938-9 season until after WW 11.
Wubin cricket club closed after the 1985-6 season, players joining with Dalwallinu and Pithara to form a team which was part of the Central Midlands Cricket Association.
Early (1930s) Wubin Cricket Team Back row (l-r) Norm Perfect, Hal Hollard, Pom Richards, George Richards, Snowy Richards (at back Dan O’Driscoll, George Perfect, Harry Mitchell
Front row (l-r) George Woolf, Dan Norton, Jack Fimister Tim McCullagh, Arthur Richards.
Social cricket was played by members of the Jibberding Cricket Club in 1934-45.
Jibberding joined the Wubin-Buntine Cricket Asso. 1935-6.
Played their first game in October 1935 defeating Dalwallinu 139 runs to 134 runs.
1938-9 in a game against Pithara - at Pithara, Jibberding were dismissed for 8 runs. Jibberding went into recess after 1938-9 season and did not reform until 1949.
Jibberding Cricket Club closed after 1965-6 season and players joined Wubin.
Grounds - Pre war games were played on a crushed anthill pitch situated on the comer of Paynes Find Road and Jibberding Hall Road, near Reudavey’s house.
When club resumed after the war, games were played on a concrete pitch at Jibberding Reserve near the Tennis Courts.
Information from the North Eastern Courier states that Miamoon Cricket Club played three social games in each season - 1929-30, 1930-1 and 1937-8.
Miamoon joined the Wubin-Buntine Cricket Asso. after the war.
Grounds - were on the Miamoon reserve on the comer of Sanders Road and Wubin-Gunyidi Road. Later a concrete pitch was laid.
From Stan Anderton’s memoirs we read:
“It was about 1918/19 when I was about 9 we started playing football and cricket. The first game I saw played was in a paddock on the side of the road on Liebe’s farm. I think Pithara came up by train and the Wubin people took them out in the sulkies or carts and some walked. I think by the time they got started it was pretty late and they only played about 15 minute quarters. The first ground they played on apart from that was on Glowery estate somewhere near where the golf course is now. Then they cleared the permanent ground behind the hall in Wubin.” The ground behind the hall was reputed to be sandy one end and gravelly the other end. It then moved to the west side of the railway line (today’s sportsground) in the early 1930s.
Written records are not known of matches prior to 1923.
From the North Eastern District Courier 1923 we read:
August 1923 - Wubin played Ballidu in the Final Results were a draw of 4 goals and 6 points each.
On the replay Ballidu were winners 32 points to 26 points.
September 1925 - Wubin played Dalwallinu at Pithara in the Final.
Dalwallinu won 11 goals 8 points to Wubin 3 goals 3 points.
August 1926 - Wubin defeated Dalwallinu in the final by 1 point.
From 1928 some Club records have survived.
1935 - J Anderton - won Wubin Fairest & Best.
Wubin Football Club 1928
Back row (1-r) Dan Norton, P O’Driscoll, M Sanders, N Perfect, J Carter, B Lilley, G Cail (with cap), R Cail, T Cail, G Naylor.
Front row (1-r) F Myers, P Richards, T Hamling, S Patchet, A Richards, T McCullagh, H Myers, G Martin, J Parrott
Information from North Eastern District Courier:
2.7.1937 Reports a meeting to be held in the Wubin Hall to form a golf club on 4.7.1937. Business to arrange for clearing of links, election of officers and general busirn
6.5.1938 Wubin Golf Club opens. President Mr Hal Hollard.
20.5.1938 Wubin Golf Club members keen to complete cards for handicap purpo Handicappers were W Yates, G Stewart and S Birch.
Committee will meet in the near future to draw up by-laws.
One read - to prohibit dogs accompanying members whilst members are playing.
A Wubin Associates Golf Club was formed with President Miss E Birch, Secretary Mr Pether and Captain Mrs Buck.
1938 Championship Mens - R D C Blake defeated D Hollard.
1938 Championship Associates - Mrs Buck defeated Miss H Birch.
A nine hole course was built west of the railway line in 1937-8, with No. 1 tee and the C House (which was a bush shed) situated west of the Station Masters house. Later No. 1 was moved nearer the sports oval. A par three meant hitting over a road.
In 1968 the course was changed to an 18 hole course.
As recalled by Stan Anderton soccer was strong in the area from 1921 till about 1930. A lot of people coming out from England and Scotland to clear the land resulted in the game being played.
Football was played on Saturdays and Soccer on Sundays.
From the North Eastern Courier June 1926:
Wubin was part of the local Soccer League.
North Eastern District Courier:
October 1923 Tennis courts laid in Wubin (near school but ran north/south so sun became a problem)
Later courts were moved to the comer of Woodhouse Street and Payne’s Find Road. Courts were again relocated after WW11 to the current Sportsground.
November 1932 :
Ladies Singles Championship Winner - Miss May Bradshaw Mens Singles Championship Winner - P Prince
Ladies Double Championship Winners - Mrs Buck and Miss A Richards.
Mens Doubles Championship Winners - P Prince and E Hamling.
Mixed Doubles Championship Winners - Miss Bradshaw and Mr Dunstan.
Wubin Men’s Country Week Tennis Team of 1935
George Cail, Eric Reudavey, Charlie Harris, Bemie Thomas
Wubin Women’s Country Week Tennis Team of 1935
Shirley Hollard, Ruby Buck, Mary Bradshaw, Evie Birch
Played Pennant Tennis in 1932-3
Courts were at Miamoon
North Eastern District Courier:
October 1925. Tennis court laid at Jibberding Reserve
The court was near a dance floor which was in a bush shed built around a tree. The second court was built some time later and by 1937 two new courts were built south of the original courts. A third court was built adjacent to these and the original courts were no longer used. It would appear Jibberding was in recess for a short while as a meeting was held to reform the club in 1931.
1931/2 Jibberding won the pennant for the Wubin-Buntine Tennis Association.
In 1937 Jibberding was part of the Maya/Wubin Tennis Association.
1910 On the Klein farm
1910 First haystack in the Wubin district on Klein’s property
L to R: Albert Klein, Wilhelm Klein, Elizabeth Klein,
Rita on knee with Edna sitting beside her.
Church Service 1925 at H.R. Reudavey’s house
Left to right - Mr Howie, Jim Arthur, Bob Howie, Arthur Wasley, Ben Wright, Arthur Osborne, Harold Chefferis, Mr Derrick, Bert Wasley, Rev Sullivan, Harry Wright, Dave Chisolm, (back) Frank Reudavey, Andy Howie, Dorrie Reudavey, Dave Cain, Mr Lloyd, Mr Reudavey holding Jack.
Boys in front - Alan & Eric Reudavey, Marjorie Reudavey, Mrs Lloyd,
Sitting - Mary Arthur, Mrs Howie, Jenny Howie, Mrs Derrick, Maggie Howie, Mrs Reudavey, children in front, Nancy, Eunice and Joy Reudavey.
Garry Gillard | New: 28 January, 2021 | Now: 18 February, 2023